We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,950)
Filter reviews
1,950 results
Traveller rating
1,221
478
165
50
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
478
165
50
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french quarter within walking distance oysters business district beautiful hotel mardi gras canal street hotel restaurant few blocks wwii museum the entire staff valet parking upon check balcony room warehouse district an easy walk rooftop pool
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,950 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2018

The Intercontinental Hotel is perfectly located in downtown New Orleans for business or pleasure travelers. Nearby offices, businesses, and courts abound, as do top-notch restaurants and entertainment opportunities. It is a 5-10 minute walk or the world’s shortest cab ride to the French Quarter, if you want to go there.

We had a wonderful stay here last week. The full king suite with balcony was well worth any upcharge over a standard room; we could not have been more comfortable or wished for anything nicer. The bed was dreamy, the sitting area outside the bathroom was perfect for dressing and luggage, the safe was big enough to fit Godzilla, and the lighting in the closet was automatic. Between the furniture in the huge living room and the spacious bedroom, there were more drawers and shelves than one could ever need, even for an extended stay. The chore of switching each of the 8 – 10 individual lamps in each room on and off was tedious but allowed for perfect mood lighting. Two TV’s, two desks, leather footstool across the sofa area, top-shelf toiletries, and extremely clean, beautiful plush carpet throughout all added to our comfort and convenience. Seating on our covered “balcony” – actually more of a patio than a private balcony – faced a serene setting punctuated with landscape and sculpture.

Numerous seating areas, restaurants, and amenities in the lobby are discretely segmented by curtains and architectural dividers. The available choices at the breakfast buffet made us both say “wow” and excitedly fueled us for another great day. Another in-house restaurant, Trenasse, is an award winner for lunch and dinner. From the front desk to the valet, waiters, and housekeepers, service could not be improved.

In short, this is a very well-managed and perfectly-maintained hotel, in a perfect location, with great amenities. Nothing could be finer than a suite in this hotel.

Room tip: the suites are sumptuous
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N5659IBjohnr, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Dear StCharlesLA,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. We hope that all is well at your home. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.

John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our last visit to New Orleans. Great location, and the stay in we had in 2017 was good enough to make us want to stay again. This time, our stay was disappointing.
Room itself: Dirty carpet, squeaky bed - like the foundation was broken. This particular room had 2 doors to adjoining suites -- Oh my goodness, we heard EVERYTHING. Our neighbors’ slightest cough felt like it was happening in the room with us.
Bathroom: the shower enclosure was gross. Black substance I can only believe to be mold found around the seal. I'm sure the grout used to be white. But it hadn't been cleaned in so long, it was dark brown. The plumbing was awful. Sink constantly backed up. Turn on the shower and the entire wall rumbled. Same for our neighbors too. Anytime they took a shower, it sounded like a train barreling through our suite.
Outdoors: we wanted to sit out on our balcony in the evening, but the light didn't even work.
The front desk offered a $40 food credit when I complained, but I requested a new room. Food wasn't going to make this better. They said no rooms were available. I also requested to have Eric, the manager on duty (who was conveniently unavailable at that time) to get in contact with me. That never happened. I had to follow back up in person later that evening to find someone who would be responsive. We talked with Miriam, another manager, who magically found us another room. She was appropriate and apologetic.
On our last day, manager Ashley, got an attitude with us when we requested our room keys be reactivated after they were deactivated too early, preventing us access to our room. This was just another example of the kind of dismissal we’d experienced throughout our stay. The decline in hotel condition and poor customer service is a deal breaker. We will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explore160821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N5659IBjohnr, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear Explore160821,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very sorry that you did not receive the normally high level of service that our guests are accustomed to. Because your review is confidential, please email Ben Roberts at ben.roberts@icneworleans.com with your contact information. We would like to make contact with you for follow up.

John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

In town for Eagles/Saints game. Can not beat location. 7 blocks from Superdome, 5 from the Casino and 4 from French Quarter. The Concierge was very informative and patient and answered all my questions which is needed which is needed in a town that relies on tourism. Breakfast buffet great with friendly and attentive staff.

Special mention to Chris who was covering the overnight audit shift. Very personable. You don't get all the time with the overnight crew. Especially when he had the same personality whether it was 11pm or 5am. Thanks!

Finally the hotel was more than ready with bottled water when the city imposed a ban on tap water due to low pressure (which can happen when below sea level). I will be back.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank tazzzz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N5659IBjohnr, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear tazzzz13,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our Concierge, Chris, and our team. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. We hope that all is well at your home. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.

John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Conference I usually attend moved locations to this hotel. Rooms were well done and updated. Service was great as well. I enjoyed having a comfortable chair and a desk that I could do business on. Other than being too far off my running route, this is a great hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Will1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N5659IBjohnr, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear Will1989,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to dine in our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. We hope that all is well at your home. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.

John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018

This hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. We chose to park at the hotel because there was an event going on and it was very crowded on the streets. It was easier for them to park it than for us to. There were really only two negatives: the bed was too hard and it was very noisy. We hardly got any sleep the first night due to the noise. People were up all night talking and making noise in the hallway and the room next door. The second night was much better.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LovesDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N5659IBjohnr, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear LovesDonuts,

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you had a chance to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm and an award winning gumbo.

Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon. We want to have another chance to earn that last star.

John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews