We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, great location; zero views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This hotel is in downtown and right opposite the Hilton and surrounded by some great restaurants.... a short cab ride or 10-20 min stroll takes you to the main shopping area or into the heart of town with the likes of Bourbon St or Frenchman Street and the markets area.

On arrival a lavish lobby is a welcome for tired eyes and a relaxing place to read or just wait to meet up with your friends/colleagues and the staff are are all really friendly and inviting.

The Cocktail Bar is great for a quick drink or snack, as is Pete's.
Breakfast is a buffet and fairly limited for the rating and size of this hotel so only bothered once with this as there's plenty of local options at leat half the price and even a Starbucks around the corner.

The rooms are huge with everything you could need with space to relax, spread out, dress and get ready in the large 2 sectioned bathrooms with bath/shower mixers.
Also well sound proofed.

My only observations, more than criticisms, are that the TV only has TV channels without an EPG to tell you what's on... (apart from when first switch on) no movies, on demand/local information etc. The room also have no window views so you tend to leave the curtains closed; I didn't mind this but if you want a hotel with a view then this is not for you and from what I can tell any rooms that do have views are mostly of other buildings as this is a tower block amongst tower blocks.

If you like swimming then be prepared to be brave! Although the rooftop pool is lovely it's absolutely freezing !!! Once I was in and swimming about I soon warmed up but it's one of the coldest outdoor pools I've braved in a while and bit of a letdown for a 5 start hotel.
There is no bar/pool side service on the roof either despite the misleading room card that suggest of 'poolside service'. ...Unless if you can dial up and request items on your room but no that am aware of.

Finally the Concierge is excellent, we arranged a week of great adventures and excursions at value for money prices so would recommend taking advantage of their knowledge and ease in booking trips from the door of the hotel.

Top tip - if you want to avoid up to $10 bills for just a bottle of water in your room then there's a local newsagent/small convenience store opposite the hotel next to the Hilton.

I've stayed at a few Intercontinental Hotels sometime ago and this is up there as one of the best, if I return to New Orleans I'll be sure to stay again,

Room Tip: Super Rooms with King Size bed have lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Mark C,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.


John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for IHG meeting ( the brand choose this hotel which speaks to itself)
Besides for one small hiccup in the beginning of the stay, everything was superb.
Room was amazing, clean, and comfortable.
Bed and pillow were extremely comfortable.
All the staff I came in contact with was most friendly and gave off a sincere impression of true hospitality! Really a great staff! Thanks guys!


In short- this hotel should be a model for all hotels to follow!
Absolutely amazing!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank jdaubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear jdaubs,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.


John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for pre-cruise. Four of us were booked on a cruise out of New Orleans and wanted to hang out,see some sites a couple of days before the cruise and needed a safe, decent area and moderate priced hotel. The Intercontinental Hotel was perfect! Every employee we came in contact with had a warm greeting for us and the valets/bellman outside were all very helpful on directions along with being concerned for our safety by telling us to stay on the well lighted streets and we will be fine walking back to the hotel fairly late at night. The room was clean, the bed was amazing and the rain shower head felt great. Loved the way the shower and the vanity were separated, very nice when one person wants apply make-up or shave while another showers in the next room. Enjoyed how quite our room was in the morning, we were on the 10th floor facing west, no real view but that was fine we didn't really care if we had a spectacular view we were out and about most of the time. You couldn't ask for a better central location - walking distance to just about everything, 3 blocks to canal street, about 5 blocks to bourbon street, about 20 minute walk to Decatur street and the street car to go to Garden district is right outside the front door of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NOLA and I'm definitely staying at ICH next trip I take to NOLA!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Tracy L,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.


John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

If you are looking for comfort and modern lodgings away from the"flavor" of New Orleans, then this hotel fits the bill. If you want to be immersed in the "gumbo" of a city with a great deal of character, you may want to consider one of the historic hotels. The room we had was in a corner with a view of someone else's balcony and an office in the next building. We were not very pleased, but they had nothing else to offer that weekend.

Room Tip: Be aware of the rooms overlooking someone else's balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DadimaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear DadimaK,

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience. We hope that you were able to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm and an award winning gumbo. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon. We want to have another chance to earn that last star.


John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The bed and bedding were excellent, lovely bathroom area, it felt expensive but the price was affordable. Away from all the loudness and touristy areas but walkable to the quarter.
We loved our weekend getaway and the room service was really good.
Staff was so sweet and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Away from the elevator- we could sometime hear the ding but it wasn't a huge deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Avery D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at InterContinental New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Avery D,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and the great service provided by our team. We hope that you were able to try our signature restaurant Trenasse - it features local rustic Louisiana fare. Of course, we have Pete's - which features beef from a local sustainable farm. Please tell your friends about your stay and come back to visit very soon.


John Romano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 167 in New Orleans
2,729 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New Orleans

Address: 444 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 11,536 - ₹ 25,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental New Orleans enjoys one of the city's most coveted locations: two blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Harrah's New Orleans, six blocks from the riverfront and come Mardi Gras time a front row spot on the St. Charles Avenue parade route. The Morial Convention Center, Uptown and the Louisiana Superdome are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing