We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
newtown CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We loved the Roosevelt Hotel. The staff was wonderful and the pool area was just beautiful. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Kathy F,

AND, we absolutely cannot wait to have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice again in the future! Thanks for stopping by Trip Advisor.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,302
    743
    259
    112
    61
See reviews for
546
1,365
121
936
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I recently stayed here for 6 nights with my wife while attending a conference in New Orleans. We booked a King Suite and were very impressed with the room and hotel.
Overall Pros:
- Ceilings were at least 12 or 13 feet making the room feel very large.
- One and a half bathrooms, with a well equipped shower.
- comfortable bed and QUIET bedroom.
- rooftop pool was clean and well serviced. Very quiet during the weekdays.
- Gym was adequate, with complimentary bottled water and fruit.
- Staff were VERY kind and helpful, from the bellboys to the front desk and concierge.
- We ate at Domineca, the Italian restaurant, and were very satisfied with the food.
- LOVED the Sazerac Lounge. Very good drinks and awesome atmosphere.
- location is perfect. Close enough to the french quarter without being in it. Also close to tonnes of great restaurants in the CBD (would definetly recommend LUKE).
- hotel style is very cool. Modern amenities in a historic and grande setting.

Cons.
- it is a bit pricey, although I think not unreasonable for what you get. Example would be drinks at the Sazerac bar are 10-15 dollars, but made with premium liquor and ingredients in a high end atmosphere.
- no free wifi in the room (but free in the lobby). These days I would consider this amenity standard, especially at a luxury hotel.
- parking (if you drive) is very expensive... like 45$ a day.
- housekeeping came later in the day, which at times was annoying.

New Orleans is a great city. Lots of history, great dining and tonnes of interesting nightlife. There is a certain "grit" to it, but it grew on me. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on service, value and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_travel_for_fun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Will_travel_for_fun9,

Thanks so much for allowing the Trip Advisor community an incite of your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Your review is very informative and am confident that it will assist others in making their hotel choice while in the great city of New Orleans! We hope to welcome you back soon with all the upcoming summer festivities that are taking place. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Walton Beach FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a bit lengthy but hopefully useful if you are considering spending $300+/night on this property.

My wife and I arrived at 3:30pm on a Saturday afternoon to a lobby which was strewn with luggage and long lines. The problem: according to a hotel employee, the hotel's computer system had been down for 18 hours, and so the staff (who was working very hard) didn't know who had checked out, which rooms were occupied or which rooms had been cleaned. Everything was being done by hand.

It took two and a half hours for us to get assigned a room (we were told that it would be 40 minutes by the front desk....). Ironically, the staff took my cell phone number in order to tell us when our room was ready, but because ATT had between zero and 1/2 bars in the lobby, and I didn't have a lot of confidence in the process, I decided to stand in 20-minute-long lines multiple times to check on our status.

We eventually got a room, but we are still awaiting a call telling us that our room is ready.

We felt really bad for the two wedding parties who had booked this venue for their wedding receptions because they had undoubtedly paid dearly and expected a more dignified setting. Hopefully, their honeymoon was at a place with better management.

OK, so why am I railing against management? First, there is no excuse for a computer system being down for 18 hours. Second, another hotel employee stated that this was the third time this network problem had occurred at this property. I don't know if that's true, but if so, some changes in upper management are needed.

Why 3 stars? On the positive side: it's a beautiful property drenched in history. The staff we interacted with were empathetic and tried to assuage our discomfort. Our room was well appointed and roomy (for a historic property). Also, they've got a great gift shop. Yes, it's a little pricey, but we found some real treasures.

Well, there was also a spurious charge on our docket, but the front desk quickly squashed that. And I wish they had coffee makers in the rooms.

In summary, there were so many positives about this Waldorf-Astoria property that it is unconscionable that management would ignore the information system.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear REEF_Surfer_8,

Let me first apologize for the initial experience that you encountered upon your arrival. We experienced some very difficult challenges and did our absolute best to avoid these challenges being absorbed by our guests. We understand that this may have been very frustrating, but hope that the rest of your stay was problem free.
Thank you for being honest in your review as we use these responses to improve our operations and celebrate our successes! We hope that these unfortunate challenges that we incurred do not leave a bad taste for you and that we may be able to welcome you back in the future to show you a true Waldorf service!

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stay there for three nights before traveling to Baton Rouge. Check in was fast bell man help with ideas of what to see and direction to locations. Had one small problem with room not being clean after long day in the French Quarter. Call front desk and within a fews minutes room was clean and ready for us. Restaurant in the hotel are great for quick breakfast or dinner. Serivce was a little slow but good.

Room Tip: We wanted a room away for street noise. Ask for tower #1 rooms. Very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victormar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
victormar21,

Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. I'm sure the Trip Advisor community appreciates any incite while looking for accommodations when traveling to the city. We also appreciate knowing how we are doing and where we can continue to improve. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while traveling onwards. Come on back soon :)

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautifully restored hotel, an experience just to walk through it. Coffee shop/snack bar is great and very convenient. Staff helpful and courteous, room large and decorated beautifully. My wife had a great experience at the spa. The outdoor pool is small and the exercise room is OK. Great location half block from Canal St. Attended a conference and meeting rooms were freezing, even after two days of conference staff asking that temperature be raised so take a jacket or sweater of attending a conference. Bathroom small, but elegant.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
baldguyut,

Thanks so much for stopping by Trip Advisor! We appreciate the opportunity to have served you and your fellow conference attendees while in New Orleans. Hopefully you were able to get out into the city and explore to entice you to visit us again in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,703 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,443 - ₹ 45,995
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing