We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stay there for three nights before traveling to Baton Rouge. Check in was fast bell man help with ideas of what to see and direction to locations. Had one small problem with room not being clean after long day in the French Quarter. Call front desk and within a fews minutes room was clean and ready for us. Restaurant in the hotel are great for quick breakfast or dinner. Serivce was a little slow but good.

Room Tip: We wanted a room away for street noise. Ask for tower #1 rooms. Very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victormar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
victormar21,

Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. I'm sure the Trip Advisor community appreciates any incite while looking for accommodations when traveling to the city. We also appreciate knowing how we are doing and where we can continue to improve. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while traveling onwards. Come on back soon :)

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    770
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
579
1,435
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautifully restored hotel, an experience just to walk through it. Coffee shop/snack bar is great and very convenient. Staff helpful and courteous, room large and decorated beautifully. My wife had a great experience at the spa. The outdoor pool is small and the exercise room is OK. Great location half block from Canal St. Attended a conference and meeting rooms were freezing, even after two days of conference staff asking that temperature be raised so take a jacket or sweater of attending a conference. Bathroom small, but elegant.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldguyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
baldguyut,

Thanks so much for stopping by Trip Advisor! We appreciate the opportunity to have served you and your fellow conference attendees while in New Orleans. Hopefully you were able to get out into the city and explore to entice you to visit us again in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Location is everything in NOLA, and the Roosevelt has it. Yes, its neighbors are drugstores and a chintzy gift shop, but what counts is that the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the French Quarter, the St Charles streetcar, and the riverfront. You're spared all the smells and late night noise of Bourbon Street.

Waldorf Astoria deserves an award for the reconstruction of this historic pile. It manages to feel opulent, vintage-y and fresh all at the same time. Our room was spacious and well-equipped. Staff were unfailingly helpful and personally engaging.

The only deficiency was housekeeping, where they need to step up their game. Towels left on the floor were still there the next day. Drippy dirt on the mirrors was there when we arrived and there when we left. Table surfaces never met any cleaning fluids. The room wasn't unpleasantly dirty. It just was pretty far from meticulous. Not even close to four or five star housekeeping.

Putting that aside, we were delighted. The hotel was a highlight of a week-long trip in the South.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear mtnview9,

Your response is very much appreciated! We understand that there are areas where we can continue to improve and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address these areas.
With so many exciting attractions in the city, we are blessed that The Roosevelt was the highlight for you! Thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again the next time you travel through the South :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel itself it absolutely beautiful. Stepping into the lobby is an almost breathtaking experience. I loved the tile work in the floors and that same work is also incorporated into the bathrooms in the room. We stayed in a deluxe king that was an adequate size and while the bathroom was small, it was exactly what I expected.

The valets and doormen were wonderful. Very helpful and informative and quick to be of service whenever needed, including running out in the rain with an umbrella to escort us from the cab. Breakfast in the Sazarac restaurant was delicious and the service was very good.

Bell services brought us the wrong luggage initially, but quickly made a correction and showed up with our things. He was courteous and gave us some pointers for the French Quarter Festival which was going on when we checked in. Housekeeping did a wonderful job and our room was immaculately clean.

Now for the not so great. We were very tired from travelling and planned to go to sleep early on the night of arrival. The room was just cool and I wanted to make sure the air conditioner did not turn off during the night due to lack of movement so I called down to the front desk to have maintenance do an override of the system. After over an hour with no response, I called again. The young lady who answered the phone said simply "I remember that call" but gave no indication how much longer we would wait. When maintenance finally showed, he either did not know how to override the system or was unwilling to do so.

This resulted in my husband and I waking up several times each night too hot to sleep. One of us would have get up and hit the thermostat to make the system start again. As he said, they charge for everything else, can't they just do a surcharge to keep the air on? But it is a shame that we didn't get one decent night's sleep out of the four we stayed.

I intended to bring this up with the staff upon our departure, but not one of the three desk people when we were checking out even asked how we enjoyed our stay. I figured if they didn't care enough to ask, then they wouldn't care what I had to say.

We are planning another trip in two years but we won't be staying at the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank GGinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear GGinSC,

Thank you so much for posting your review from your recent stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Our goal is to make sure that all of our guests leave overly satisfied and wanting to come back. It's disappointing to hear that you will be searching for other options for your next visit to the city, but we appreciate you letting us know where we can improve. Your review is very constructive and will allow us to review areas of the operation that can use attention. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I love the beauty of this place. My room was huge, with a nice sitting area and large tv. The beds are wonderful. The bathroom is a bit small but with great attention to detail. The lobby is striking. The cafe is pretty tasty. Chef John Besh's Domenica is delicious. The famous Sazerac Bar is nice. My only frustration with the whole place is impersonal service from bell men, front door greeters, and front desk staff. No one seemed glad you were there. Not like the wonderful hospitality of the Ritz NOLA. The Christmas decorations at the Roosevelt are a must see.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEEPTAHOEBLUE_NICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
KEEPTAHOEBLUE_NICE,

We appreciate you stopping by Trip Advisor to let the viewers know about your stay. Your input is very important to us and continuing to exceed our guest's expectations.
It's unsatisfying to hear about the impersonal experience that you encountered, but rest assured, the team will use your review to create a memorable experience for our future guests. We hope that you will return to be our guest soon.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,311 - ₹ 33,865
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing