We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative and customer oriented”

Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride with us at Confederacy of Cruisers, New Orleans original and oldest bike tour company. Going on 10 years of great tours and great customers keeping us feeling like the luckiest folks in New Orleans every day when we come to work. The tour that started them all and our others, the Culinary, the History of Drinking and our combined Pedal to Paddle with our friends at Kayakityat. New Orleans is so more than the French Quarter and we want to show you what most visitors don't get to experience. The heart of our city is seen through its other historic neighborhoods on the Creole side of Town, the beautiful Faubourg Marignyand Bywater; and there is no better way to explore them than with New Orleans' original bicycle tour company. Join us as we take you for a bike ride around the old streets and tell you the stories of the New Orleans that most tourists miss. The ride is relaxed, with plenty of time to ask questions, and a stop along the way at a neighborhood bar where you can find out all you want about local life while drinking a delicious Bloody Mary, if you like (water or nothing are also fine choices). For those who want to delve a little deeper, we offer a tasty Neighborhood Culinary Tour and a Historic Drinking Tour (where you get to indulge as you learn), all travelling through our our city like the locals do, on easy to ride classic cruiser bicycles. One speed, slow.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very informative and customer oriented”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The knowledge of our tour guide Laura was simply amazing, she could answer any questions we had and her stories were full of life and excitement, we could see how she truly loves Nola and it's people and is proud of her heritage. Very different place from anywhere I've been in US, the tour was given with honesty without trying to make things better than really were, we really appreciated that! And the idea of riding the bikes is very smart, gets you moving faster, you get a work out and for us who constantly glued to the car seat is a good change! Thank you and certainly recommend! Ps: make sure to put some sunscreen on your face and hands, sun can be quite strong:)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxana300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    67
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best bike tours we've taken”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is one of the absolute best bike tours we have taken anywhere. Nick was the guide, and he is very good. He clearly has a love for New Orleans and is passionate about its history and its music. He is also a good storyteller.

The tour covered the Fauborg Marigny, the Bywater, and Treme neighborhoods - these are neighborhoods just outside the Quarter and are rich in New Orleans history and culture. We were interested in visiting these neighborhoods, but didn't really have an idea where to start, so the tour was perfect for us. Also, by going with a guide, we learned the significance of places that might otherwise miss.

The tour lasted about 3 hours or so, with a stop in the middle for cool drinks, a bathroom break, and a rest in the shade.

An aboslutely wonderful way to spend an afternoon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We rode with guide Nick and 5 other people. He made sure we all had sunscreen and reapplied. The bikes will bring back childhood memories. Nick has only been in NOLA I believe 4 yrs but is so knowledgable and passionate about the area you would think he was a native. Stopped for poboys along the way before meeting Mr Lewis and were educated about role of the Mardi Gras Indians. He is a real jewel. It really is a tour about rebirth and not devistration. Leave the drinking behind for a couple of hours and learn something new!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun tour with a lot of info”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We are both in our mid-to late 50's and thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It is not a strenuous trek. We rode on one speed cruisers where you pedal backwards to brake and stop. Our tour guide was Jeff, who waited for us (we were a few minutes late due to trying to get there via streetcar), adjusted our seats and led us through the streets all the while providing fun facts about New Orleans. We visited some areas (treme and the performing arts h.s,) which we never would have seen otherwise. This tour is not of the traditional sights in the French Quarter and beyond. Those we did on our own, this was more a "behind the scenes" tour. Jeff also gave several helpful hints about food (restaurants) and music venues. My only wish is that he would have told us that the Central Grocery was closed on Mondays so we wouldn't have hiked down there for lunch after the tour. All in all, a very fun way to take a look around New Orleans.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank noscreenname200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome way to experience NOLA !”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The bike tour with Jeff as our guide was a fantastic way to to learn about NOLA's history, culture, people, architecture and so much more all while taking a casual ride off the beaten path. We covered about 6 miles in 3 hours with many stops along the way including a delicious bloody mary at a neighborhood bar. If you enjoy the outdoors and a little bit of exercise and want a great diversion from Bourbon Street, this activity is for you. Will do it again on next trip to NOLA.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours also viewed

 

Been to Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing