We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
257
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake mendotaother guestsprivate pierswedish pancakesgothic revivalhideaway roombreakfast was deliciousmodern conveniencescomplimentary glass of wineb bsrestaurant suggestionswonderful hostsbed and breakfasta lovely staymin walkwe loved our staylovely room
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We loved this place and Peggy was very friendly and a gracious host. The house is near the lake and has a great feel to it. The location is near lots of good places to visit and eat at. We really enjoyed our time there.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler709289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
So happy you enjoyed Madison and the Inn. I hope you will
be able to come back in the summer and enjoy the sunset from the
pier.

Warm wishes,
Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This is the best of lodging and company while staying in Madison. Peggy made every effort to ensure a uniquely high quality experience. The pride that the owner's take in the historic Inn comes out in how they treat their guests in addition to the impeccable condition of the property. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. Our room was large, unique and comfortable. There were plenty of places to comfortably relax in and on the property. The capital is within a pleasant 10-15 minute walk. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: General Pickering's room at the top of the stairs was were we stayed – great place with separate sitting, bed and bath rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for all the kind words. I am so pleased you had a nice stay.
Madison is a special place and part of that is the history of this house.

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

Best wishes,
Peggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We've stayed at the Livingston Inn on multiple occasions and it's always so lovely and fun. It seems Peggy and Dave and the Livingston possess an uncanny magnetism that attracts the most fascinating people from around the world! The Inn is warm, welcoming, comfortable, and beautiful. Perfect location for walking to many restaurants or walking along the lake. Excellent breakfast and coffee!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sumacstudio2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with others and writing a review. We are so glad you’ve enjoyed your visits with us. We really can’t explain it but so often it seems we have the most amazing and interesting guests come together to stay at our inn. It’s surely something more than luck and it’s very encouraging to see people from all over the world share such common thoughts and experiences in a five-room B&B in Madison, Wisconsin.

We wish you all the best and appreciate your review.

Warm regards,
Peggy and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

My husband and I traveled to Madison WI from Hawaii for a vacation. After researching for many B&Bs, I decided to go with The Livingston Inn. It was the best decision I've ever made. The location is close enough to downtown and far enough from the busy university area. The owner, Peggy was very welcoming and personable. The history of The Livingston Inn is just incredible and we ended up chatting for hours. Her breakfast --
German pancakes was amazing. The room has a mixture of Victorian/modern style and walking down to the lake in the morning was so peaceful & relaxing. I definitely would love to come back and recommend to anyone who is visiting Madison!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nemo0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We are so glad you chose our B&B among your travel plans and enjoyed all we offer from breakfast to the decor. We work hard to make it the best we can for any guest, so it’s nice to hear when it’s appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Peggy and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

When Steve and I arrived at the inn, Peggy was in the living room with two guests sharing a glass of wine. We introduced ourselves and were quickly pulled into a unique sense of community. Our son is a first year grad student at UW and this was our first ever visit to Madison. We could not have been more welcomed. The room was beautifully restored, quiet and private. We were within walking distance (we are avid walkers) of the Capitol, State St, UW, downtown. Peggy's restaurant suggestions were perfect. The full breakfasts were delicious and our don was able to join us. The atmosphere was very conducive to open conversation among the guests and Peggy was an excellent hostess in pulling conversation together and suggesting activities around town. We look forward to our next trip to Madison!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy and Dave F, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and it’s so encouraging to hear people feel welcome at our inn as soon as they walk through the door! Our location is ideal for avid walkers and we’re so glad you enjoyed that as part of your stay.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back someday for a return visit to our city and B&B.

Warm regards,
Peggy and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews