We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 5 March 2012

BEWARE > BEDBUGS !! Traveled to Madison from our home in Chicago. This is the only hotel we stayed at on our trip to Madison. Hotel seemed clean, but my wife had these strange marks on her legs and itching while we were there. I had a couple bites, but didn't give it a lot of thought. We told the staff, but they thought we were nuts. Upon arriving home, and Thanks to my wife, we left the luggage in the garage. Our neighbor is a licensed exterminator and found them in our luggage. Needless to say, we threw the luggage out and washed everything else in Hot water and dryed on High heat. We were fortunate not to have brought these into our home. The hotel was not concerned about it. So Beware ... even the seemingly nicest hotels can harbor Bed Bugs!! To top things off > VERY RUDE STAFF

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StayAway_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

StayAway_12,

IHG takes these concerns seriously. We recommend that our hotels undergo routine preventative procedures to guard against bed bugs. In the event that bed bugs are discovered, we recommend that the hotel's pest control specialists act to ensure that the bugs are eradicated and if necessary, the hotel discards and replaces all affected furniture and linens. Additionally, we recommend the guest room is taken out of service until the hotel is advised that the guest room is pest free. We have sent you a private message to obtain a details about your stay.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed here for two nights while on a business trip. In full disclosure, I did not book in advance and walked in around 5 p.m. Neither of the two staff members working the front desk greeted me, which I discovered was common later on in my trip. Without asking me, the clerk put me in a "handi-capped" room, which would have been fine, but I prefer to have a tub/shower combo. Once I got to the room, I called down to ask for a different room, which was accomodated, but begrudgingly. After moving to a new room, I discovered that it had barely been cleaned from the previous visitor. Being tired, I didn't feel like arguing with the despondent clerk again. At first glance, the room looked clean, but after walking around, it was actually obviously dirty. There was hair in the the bathroom sink and tub, stains on the sheets and pillows, and lint everywhere that gave me the impression that it had not be dusted or vaccumed in a long time. Additionally, in the morning, I discovered that the microwave in the room did not work, the TV had weird green spots, the shower curtain rod had exposed screws, and the bed sheets were torn or the seems were busted open. I should also note that you hear everything going on around you. I could hear the people in either room beside or above me moving around, closing or opening doors, or talking in the hallway. On the whole, it was a gross and unpleasant stay. I would not stay there again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LillyMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times when visiting our daughter & family in the area. Staff is always friendly, rooms are spacious and squeaky clean. There's a decent sized pool with a hot tub. Within walking distance of the Great Dane Pub & Restaurant - yum!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustLinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

very nice hotel. room was clean and neat. they have free internet. a shuttle took me to the airport for free and since it was not available when i arrived, they paid for a 45 minute cab ride to my conference.

it was a full suite with a full size fridge and basic utensils. I was only there for 3 days so i didn't use that stuff much

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkauf1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had confirmed reservations for 3 rooms for our group. One room was to have two beds, but the staff said they had no two bed rooms left, so they had apparently given that room to someone else. They apparently do not understand what a confirmed reservation is. The other two rooms were fine. The staff was not rude, but was indifferent and did not seem inclined to try to resolve other small issues.
The room was fine, very clean and a comfortable bed. They also had a kitchenette area with Microwave, sink and refrigerator along with some basic kitchenware. There is no breakfast, but have a little area where you can buy packaged foods to eat in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OshkoshTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Madison Fitchburg
2.1 km away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#12 of 63 in Madison
706 reviews
4.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
5.0 km away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
8.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg

Address: 5421 Caddis Bnd, Madison, WI 53711-7127 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Madison - Fitchburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 14,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Madison, Wisconsin Offers a Free Airport Shuttle Located just outside of downtown Madison, the Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel is one of the newest extended stay hotels in the area. We are 11 miles from Dane County Regional Airport (MSN) and close to everything Madison, WI has to offer. Our Madison, Wisconsin hotel is located near several large convention centers. Alliant Energy Center, Menona Terrace Convention Center and Fitchburg Technology Center are all less than five miles away, making travel to and from business meetings trouble-free due to our convenient location near Madison. During your extended stay, there are several attractions that are worth seeing in the area. State Street in downtown Madison is just a few miles away and offers wonderful shops and restaurants. You can also tour the state capitol building or the campus of the University of Wisconsin. This home of the Badgers is located just a few miles from our Madison Airport hotel.You can also spend a day on Lake Mendota, fishing or relaxing by the water. Our hotel in Madison, Wisconsin offers a variety of amenities to provide you with the best possible stay.The Candlewood Cupboard has food items so that you never have to leave the hotel to get the things you need.We also have an indoor pool and a Fitness Center, and provide a complimentary area shuttle. You can consider us home when you stay at our Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Madison Fitchburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fitchburg Hotel Madison
Candlewood Suites Madison
Candlewood Madison
Madison Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing