We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, great service at Madison Clarion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, great service at Madison Clarion”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stay at this same Clarion each year. It connects to the building where I do a canoe/paddling outdoor show each March.

The motel is always clean, employees are very nice & helpful, free parking. They have an evening hour for "Happy Hour" with snacks too. Their breakfast can be something they make each morning like scrambled eggs/bacon/sausage/gravy and biscuits or you can make your own waffle, enjoy fresh fruit, different kinds of juice, milk, coffee, bagels, and toast.

The rooms all have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and they give you plenty of towels for the bathroom. You get four pillows, 2 different firmness types)

Is it cheap? No. But for "cheap" you'd never get all the ammentities that the Clarion offers. It is a very good price and worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: I like to get a room higher up for more quiet, though I must say except we've really never had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanoewenonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    106
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
81
59
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My girlfriend and I went to the brad paisley concert and stayed in the perfect place. Very clean rooms, spacious rooms, and had a FREE social hour. Then walked to our concert. Kinda expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Joel D.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Clarion Suites. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the concert! We hope that you will choose to return. When making your next reservation, ask for the "bounce back special". As a return guest you will be eligible for a discount when you return! Thank you again.
G. Niesl General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion 2 years ago for the Mad City Model Railroad Show & Sale at the Alliant Center, and tommorow we will be there again for the weekend for the same reason ( husband is an exhibitor). We found our stay to be very enjoyable; quiet room, comfortable, mini-kitchen w/wet bar a plus! We enjoyed the happy hour...yes, there were just a few munches, but that was perfect prior to our downtown adventure for a Friday night fish fry. The breakfast was outstanding! I am gluten- free and that can be a real challenge at most continental breakfast bars. The Clarion offers good eggs - not cold & rubbery - fruit, yogurt, etc. NOT just bread, bagels, cereal, etc. I would recommend staying here. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithS124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

From Check-in to Sweet Suites to the Comp Breakfast Buffet & Evening Social Hour...you can expect the best. Plus the location is just a short ride to almost every point of interest.

Room Tip: All Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Jerry A.,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We love to hear from all of our guests, but it is especially nice to hear positive comments. This response will certainly boost the morale of our staff. We want all of our guests to have the same experience that you did!
G. Niesl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had planned a trip to Madison with three other couples to attend the Garden Expo. We booked the Clarion because it was connected to the event and no need to walk outside the two days we attended (Fri & Sat ~ left sunday)

The initial thought as we entered the lobby was...nice place, friendly staff.

The initial thought as we entered the room was...nice room, nice layout, nice decore.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet...then a few issues popped up:

The TV would not swivel so we just pulled out the stand and turned it to the bed. Not a big deal as we were not watching TV much anyway. Then the DVD player would not work...also not the biggest deal. We had picked up a movie to watch before we left but just watched it at home.

The first night about 2am woke up to a very hot room. The tempature fluctuated 10* - 15* in temp all night. It was set to low heat and dialed the temp to the middle. For some reason it would heat up and then the air would kick in and it just would go up and down. Thought I could adjust it the next night but then about 2:30am the same thing happened...too late to call the desk so delt with it.

Also, shower was luke warm and no heater in the bath, just fan so abit cold in and after the shower.

We did let the staff know about the issues when we left.

Our friends in the other three rooms did not have any issues as we did so we figured we got a lemon :) I may have gone to 2 stars but figured our friends rooms were good so I assume most rooms at the hotel were fine. Just hope they fix the things in the room ~ we also filled out a card for the Clarion to know whats up.

All in all its a nice place...did want to mention the great breakfast they have available in the morning so that's a big plus.

Will be back for next years Garden Expo and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ne1travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionSuitesMadison, General Manager at Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
ne!travel Wisconsin,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of the comments we recieve. This gives us the opportunity to continuously improve our property.
I will certainly look into the problems you encountered in your room. I learned that you spoke with our Front Office Manager and she has followed up with our maintenance department to resolve the issues you had. I am pleased to hear that the friends you traveled with did not have similar problems in their rooms. Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again next year. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.6 km away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#23 of 63 in Madison
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#13 of 63 in Madison
650 reviews
4.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
4.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Property: Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Address: 2110 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,072 - ₹ 12,466
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center in Madison, WI! Our hotel is adjacent to The Alliant Energy Center Campus and connected to The Exhibition Hall. We are conveniently located near downtown Madison, The Monona Terrace, The UW Campus, Camp Randall, The Kohl Center, UW Hospitals, Meriter Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Our hotel is also 20 minutes from Epic Systems training facility.Our rooms are spacious with one or two Queen Beds, Sitting Areas with Queen Sofa Sleepers and Microwave Wvens and Refrigerators. All guests recievd a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet and a Complimentary Social Hour (M-Sat. We have an indoor pool/whirlpool, Free WIFI and 32" Flat Screen TV's. Complimentary Shuttle service to/from Dane County Regional Airport is offered from 7am-10pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Central Hotel Madison
Clarion Hotel Madison
Clarion Madison
Madison Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing