We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We were visiting Madison for a wedding and were very happy with the hotel and it's location. The beds and Pillows were very comfortable, they served a great breakfast with wonderful options for a reasonable price. The terrace cafe also overlooked the lake and had nice lighter fare with a fantastic view. The location was just a couple of blocks from the Capitol and surrounding shops and restaurants. My kids had a much larger room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa, but the sleeper was disguised in a large sectional couch. The rooms either have a view of the lake or the Capitol building. Great stay, very nice hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor. We love our location here in downtown Madison and our views of the Capitol or Lake Monona. We look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    278
    125
    44
    23
See reviews for
217
222
44
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The location of the hotel can't be beat. The renovations have really upgraded the rooms and the overall comfort level. There are still some rough edges in some of the rooms. Overnight parking is $13 and in really, really narrow spaces, as others have written about. You can walk across the skybridge to the lakefront, which is great for walking or running.

A solid but nothing spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
I am glad you noticed all the renovations we have made, and we are just finishing the final details this week. We are very proud of the improvements. Thank you for staying and sharing! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I was only here for one night, but my stay was comfortable and the location can't be beat. The Hilton is just blocks from the capitol and the heart of Madison. The lobby was spacious and nice, though quite formal. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable and offered a nice view of the isthmus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OmaHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
We can't begin to express how fortunate we are to be in such a great location in beautiful downtown Madison! Thank you so much for your review, and we hope you will be able to join us again soon. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland Center, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel on Friday, June 22. I had booked the hotel on Hotwire for an incredible price of $55 plus tax for the night. When my traveling companion and I returned to the hotel at approximately 2AM, we heard a man screaming. It was short bursts, but there were several of them. At first we thought maybe they were coming from the street, but we were on the 9th floor and they sounded much closer than that. They dissipated within a few minutes, as though it were horseplay, and we fell asleep. At 5:23 AM, I was awoken by the same sound. Again, it sounded very close, like perhaps in an adjoining room. The screams were indiscernible as to their nature. I went down to the front desk and reported the screaming, indicating that I didn't know if there was a medical emergency or if this was something sexual in nature. I was assured that security would be notified. I should mention that I could clearly hear the screaming from the elevator and I indicated this to the front desk worker. At 6AM, we could still hear the screaming. It was incredibly creepy and there was no way we were getting back to sleep, so we simply packed up and left. While our hotel only cost $55 plus tax for the night, it was a rip off for only getting 3 hours of sleep. I would have expected more prompt service as I was clearly shaken when I contacted the desk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PromQueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I want to apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I did follow up with security and want to assure you that they did respond right when you brought it to our attention. When they went up however, they were unable to find or hear anything out of the ordinary. I'm sorry again for the strange noises that night and hope you will give us a chance again in the future. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Sheri Lee is outstanding at the Olive lounge. The service is fantastic, the drinks and food are even better.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
I am glad to hear you had such a fantastic experience in the Olive Lounge. We have a great bar staff there. Be sure to join us next time for happy hour from 5-7pm on Monday through Friday! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.6 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,165 - ₹ 16,210
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing