We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Madison”
Review of 43 North - CLOSED

43 North
Price range: US$ 29 - US$ 31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: E. Main St. at S Webster St
Description: Contemporary American dining just off the Capital Square.
Oregon, WI
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best in Madison”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The 4 of us all had a great dinner. The food was excellent with appropriate portions. The atmosphere is subtle and the waiter was extremely attentive. We dine out a lot and this now ranks in our top 5 for reasonably priced upscale restaurants in Madison.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank worldadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middleton
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great urban ambiance. Server did a very professional job. Vegetables and food presentation outstanding. Would not recommend lamb chops. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Went here for sunday brunch. The place was not at all crowded, which worried me a bit but the food were perfect!!!! Very tasty! But the portion is not that big- and the brunch price were mostly under 10bucks! I would sure come back here for more foodies:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2tripall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Brunch”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I was extremely impressed with 43 North. Great menu (very diverse), food was outstanding, atmosphere is urban, yet comfortable. Service was great and the prices are extremely reasonable. I'll definitely be back to 43 North.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gobucky133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleton, wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This newer restaurant in downtown Madison is Contemporary, upscale American cuisine. The main dining area is small (about 10-12 tables) but comfortable. The food is outstanding. There was a special 3 course fixed price menu, or the option to order a la carte. We were able to combine options from the fixed price menu and the a la carte menu which made for the perfect dining experience. Our server, Michael, was knowledgable about the wine and beer selections as well as the menu offerings. He made several recommendations for us that were fantastic. I would highly recommend the lobster bisque, pastrami salad, sesame crusted salmon, and the beef strip steak. All were delicious! This is my new favorite restaurant in Madison. I would recommend reservations as all tables were full on a Saturday night.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 43 North also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing