We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hot, hot, hot!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowell Center
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hot, hot, hot!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

A decent place with wacky HVAC. Unbearably hot. Recommended if you're not into sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pstrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
5
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel was good considering it had been dorms at one point in time. The only complaints that I have about the room is that it got very hot and even though I turned the heat in my room off and opened a window it stayed relatively hot. Secondly the shower heads were VERY low. I am not a tall person and still had to contort myself to get under the water. Aside from those two minor issues the stay was great. Staff was very nice and the location is great. Right off of State Street near all of the restaurants and bars. The hotel was also right by our meeting location on campus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netminder_60490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I've shared your feedback with our team so they are aware of your two concerns. But I'm very happy to know you had a comfortable stay, and sincerely hope to welcome you to The Lowell Center again soon. Please feel free to contact me at sheri.rice@ecc.uwex.edu if you have any additional feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSP USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have stayed at the Lowell Ctr for ~16 nights/year for the past 5 years. Its is excellent - our hotel of choice. If you have a UW function there is not a better place to stay. We can not say enough good things about the Lowell and its staff. A few of my comments:

1.) Location - Best Madison hotel location - next to campus, the Union, State street, short walk from capitol.
2.) Staff - Outstanding - friendly, helpful, super accommodating.
3.) Rooms - the rooms in the new wing are excellent, newly completed in the past year.
4.) Bathrooms are very nice. Old wing rooms are fine but just not as nice as the newer rooms.
5.) Breakfast is very good with a nice assortment of options. M-F breakfast is best. Weekend breakfast being more of a continental style with less options.
6.) Pool - huge indoor pool with great swimming lap capability, nice option on a hot summer day

Over all - An excellent value based on the location, quality of stay and level of service. I would highly recommend the Lowell Center to anyone visiting the UW Madison campus.

Room Tip: Request a room in new wing. Offsite parking at Fluno Center is just a short walk away and free - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you choose us for your lodging needs. Please let us know if can do anything to make your stays with us even better. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Lowell Center is right off campus and is only open to those with a U of Wis connection. I'ts a great place both for location and price. I checked out hotels - all of which were farther away from campus and more expensive. It's at least as nice as a decent mid-priced hotel and with washing machines and a decent breakfast included, quite a deal when you're trying to stay at decent places without breaking the bank over a 10 day period. And clean!! We lucked out and got a lake view - absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! I"m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here - clean, comfortable and quiet. The front desk staff was very helpful. The walk to Monona Terrace is a little far (25-30 minutes) but it was an easy walk down State Street which is full of little shops and restaurants, so I thought the location was nice. Comfortable bed, great housekeeping staff, lovely view of the lake from my window, and I was extremely pleased with the complementary breakfast selection. The free wi-fi worked perfectly for me, which made my business trip that much less stressful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family staying in Madison.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCelandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here! I'm so glad you had a good experience. We hope to see you in Madison @ Lowell again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.6 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.1 km away
Graduate Madison
Graduate Madison
#26 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Center

Property: Lowell Center
Address: 610 Langdon St, University of Wisconsin-Extension Conference Centers, Madison, WI 53703-1104
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,950 - ₹ 9,426
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing