We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for visiting campus than for conference”
Review of Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowell Center
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
915 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Better for visiting campus than for conference”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This was a very good affordable option, but it is a little far if you are in town for a conference at the Monona Terrace. They have a great hot breakfast with waffles and eggs and sausage as well as fruit, cereal, and bagels and muffins. Rooms were spacious with direct TV (no HBO) and there is a pool. If you are looking to be close to the action on the UW campus, this is a fantastic option. Very friendly service. Good thing about being further away from the conference center is that it forces you to get to know the town of Madison (you must walk down State Street and around the Capitol).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    52
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
5
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

When I arrived on a cool summer evening, my room was freezing. The air conditioning is centralized, so there's no way to adjust it in the room. The person I asked for help at the front desk was brusque and dismissive, but said she'd get someone to try to adjust the vents. That person never came. Ditto the next morning when I asked again. I'm not a fussy traveler, and almost always am content with the places where I stay (which are never anything fancy). This is a glaring exception, however--a place to avoid the next time you're in Madison!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank archie_leach65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thanks for providing your candid feedback. Your opinion is very important to us and I'm so sorry you had such an "icy" experience during your recent stay with us. I can understand how frustrating our response must have been. I'm going to share your feedback with our entire management and front desk team. I'd welcome additional conversation about this if you'd like. I can be reached at 608-890-0392. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

You have to have some university affiliation or an on-campus event in order to stay here. If that's you, you will save a lot of money on your stay in Madison. My room was half the price of what I've paid in other Madison hotels, and it was just as clean and cheerful if not more so. The morning breakfast in the large dining hall was quite extensive: hot items, cereals, bagels, fruit, waffles. The location, whether you're heading to UW or to downtown, cannot be beat either. All in all, the Lowell Center is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citizen_of_Amherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! I"m so glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I loved every moment of my stay in the Lowell Center. The front desk staff were extremely nice and gave me a room on a high floor - per my request. My room had a beautiful view of the frozen lake.
Besides: The room was brand new - Nice bathroom and the bed was so comfortable! The service was excellent: there was a problem with the door to my room but they fixed it right away. The internet worked albeit not on my iPhone. Complimentary breakfast was really nice and hit the spot. All in all, it was great value for the money and I really recommend staying there. I hope to be back there soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

All of us from my family were very happy with our stay in Lowell Center. The morning breakfast was awesome. My younger son forgot one of his T-shirts in the room and they sent it back to us via priority mail. Room was very clean and the stuff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandal43432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.6 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
715 reviews
0.8 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.1 km away
Graduate Madison
Graduate Madison
#31 of 63 in Madison
209 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Center

Property: Lowell Center
Address: 610 Langdon St, University of Wisconsin-Extension Conference Centers, Madison, WI 53703-1104
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,738 - ₹ 9,091
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing