We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Madison Convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Madison Convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This Hampton inn is quite new-and having stayed in several H'sI in the pas,t this exceeded my expectations. The staff was very pleasant, lobby was very large and inviting. The room was standard-nothing stand out, but exceptionally clean. I would caution that the online security for the Hampton Inns need to be reviewed by management for the credit card transactions. The last two times I have stayed an a HI (Madison and DC) I had fraudulent activity on my card the next day. So their system is compromised. Forunately my CC caught it immediately and took care of it. Other than that this hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miles450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    126
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
183
94
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I travel a lot for work and when i find a place that i like, i will stay there again next time i'm in the area. Same with Madison since i had been here before and luckily found this Hampton hotel. The recent stay was my 2nd time at the city and the hotel as well. I really like the quiet area and nearby food/shopping area. It's located next to princeton club which is a huge one. They offer discounted rate for hotel guests, which is $10/day. If you don't feel like paying, the hotel has a spacious fitness center that you can use. My room is clean and just a typical hampton inn room. Breakfast was ok and there's always plenty of choices to choose from. I will definitely be back to this hotel next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leilani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed for one night at this hotel in a king studio suite. The first room that we were given was located on the third floor (lobby and pool are on floor 2). When we walked into our room, we were immediately hit with a very strong bleach/chorine smell. We presumed that the room had just been cleaned so didn't panic. The windows in this hotel do not open, therefore we had no way of trying to air out the room. As we began to unpack we noticed a loud consistent banging sound coming from above us and through the walls. I inquired at the front desk and was told that the sound was from the pool pumps. We quickly figured out that our room was located directly above the pool, hence the strong chlorine smell and sound. We transferred to a different room located on the top floor and had no further problems.

The room was clean with ample space. Comfortness of beds was so-so. The sink is outside of the toilet/shower room which was nice for getting ready with a family. We also had a small bar sink area and refrig which worked perfectly. The room was light and airy but again the windows do no open.

Overall, the entire hotel, particularly the lobby area smelled quite strongly of chlorine from the pool room. My husband and brother-in-law took the kids swimming and all of their eyes stung for hours after being in the pool. I understand that chlorine is needed especially in public pools, however this was really, really strong.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above pool. Ask for even numbered rooms on high floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgwiazda, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites-Madison West for your lodging needs. I would like to personally thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and make your stay as comfortable as possible. In order for us to continue to satisfy our guests, our guest's feedback is crucial. I woud like to apologize for the excess amount of chlorine you expereienced in our pool area/lobby and guest room. Thank you for letting us know about that issue. I wasn't aware we were having issues as our guest rooms and lobby are not normally affected by the chlorine in the pool. But please be assured, we have discovered the issue and have corrected it so other guests will not have the same experience. We appreciate your comments! Responses like yours help us to better our staff and hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you want to discuss your stay further or if I can help you with any future reservations. We would like to truly demonstrate our committment to your comfort. You may contact me at 608-271-0200 or via email at kgwiazda@ncghotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great customer service. Great variety in breakfast buffet. Avoid Room 114 - can hear elevator mechanics clearly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abt7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Hampton Inn for Ironman Wisconsin. We booked the hotel through the Ironman website and appreciated the free race day shuttles to and from the event from 4am to midnight. While they weren't exactly on time, the charter buses were comfortable and greatly appreciated - giving us one less thing to worry about on race day.
The rooms were very large with plenty of room for bikes and gear. We bring our own food so we were bummed to find the rooms do not come equipped with microwaves or refrigerators. Luckily this equipment can be requested and will be installed in the room for a flat fee for the duration of your stay ($10 for the fridge). They had it installed within 20 minutes of our initial request and apologized for the delay.
The rooms feature walk-in showers and no bathtubs. I would think this incredibly beneficial for those with limited mobility but a drawback for athletes who need ice baths post-race. The rooms have plenty of well placed outlets, an in-room coffee maker, and the shower gets nice and steamy.
Amenities for this location include $10 access to the Princeton Club, an amazing wellness facility across the parking lot. Plenty of cafes and grocery within walking distance. A GREAT pool facility for kids. And there is also a trail by the hotel providing a safe, easy route to walk or run if you are so inclined. I did get a laugh when I realized I forgot a comb and the front desk graciously provided me with what must have spent a past life as a doll comb. She gladly handed over two combs upon realizing the first one didn't stand a chance on my long hair.
Hampton Inn caters to Big 10 fans. They have the Big 10 network in rooms and I think they had a shuttle running to the stadium on game day.
I was pleased with this hotel choice and would happily return to the Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: Don't worry, all the rooms are quiet. We stayed on the end closest to the beltway and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellabeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
11.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
2.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#13 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites Madison West
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Address: 483 Commerce Dr, Madison, WI 53719-4924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,647 - ₹ 13,108
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Madison West hotel, located in Madison, Wisconsin, next to Princeton Club West. This Hampton hotel is convenient to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kohl Center, CUNA Mutual, Epic Systems, West Towne Mall and several great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stes Madison West Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing