We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sampler Platter!”
Review of The Thirsty Goat

The Thirsty Goat
Ranked #177 of 1,097 Restaurants in Madison
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We split the sampler platter as a couple and it was the perfect dinner. Good BBQ! Paired with the blueberry brew from 3 Sheeps Brewing, this was a great place for Dinner. Highly recommend the patio.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

I was told the brisket taco was to die for, so I took my family to check it out. The tacos were good, but I wouldn't die for them. It was nice to have a variety of sauces on the table to perk them up a little. The vege burger was one of the few options for a vegetation. It was awful. They need to find an alternative or ditch it altogether.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank redbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Visited here on June 23 and enjoyed their Friday Fish (fried cod) special with French fries (excellent), good cole slaw and a side of macaroni & cheese, which was also very good. The fish which was good was a little soggy and the tartar sauce was not the best. Good service.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

We walked over here since we were staying at Candlewood Suites. Our server was very nice and the service was fast which we appreciated since we came in kind of late (9:30 on a Saturday). We sat out on the back deck where the music wasn't as loud and listened to the frogs in the pond. They also had a nice fire going that people could sit around.

As for food we got the sampler platter (brisket, chicken, and ribs) with cornbread and mac-n-cheese. Ribs, cornbread, and mac were amazing! Chicken and brisket were just so-so.

Overall good experience and would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank AmyHoutsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Decent appeal, but something seemed lacking in the ambience - though a major improvement from Casa de Lara days of this restaurant. Brisket was overcooked, but good flavor with a lot of bbq sauce. Pub chips were "stale", better to pay more for the french fries.

Ho hum service, its harder and harder to find good service these days.

Brisket Tacos sounded good, will try them next time.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank escape2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thirsty Goat also viewed

 

Been to The Thirsty Goat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing