We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OLD”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A group of us ended up at this hotel after deciding to go a Badger game at the last minute, and this was the only one left on the East side that wasn't $500. "Old" is the adjective that describes this property the best. It seems as if they remodeled the lobby/pool area to make a good first impression, but disregarded the rooms completely.

In the room, the carpet is outdated and you can see it's age by the fact that the color is so much more vibrant next to the wall where it doesn't get walked on. The pullout couches have cushions that are COMPLETELY discolored and musty. Even though we only needed one pullout, our suite had two, with one of them having a broken frame. When we called the front desk just to let them know, their response was "you are only supposed to have 1 anyway." Ok then. In addition, the bedding for the pullout was full of holes and smelled like feet.

Speaking of the front desk, we asked whether they had a shuttle to campus when we checked in, and were told no. We went upstairs and got ourselves together before coming down and asking a DIFFERENT associate to call us a cab. She asked why we didn't just take the shuttle that left 10 minutes ago. We told her that we were informed they didn't have a shuttle, prompting her to reply "Oh- today's her first day" with no apology what-so-ever. Frustrating to say the least.

Another thing that isn't really a complaint, just something that seems odd. The pool is right inside the front door. Maybe it wouldn't be so strange if there was a half-wall or something to set it apart from the lobby, but the way it's laid out looks very zoo-like, with everyone around the pool being on display.

There are much better hotels for the money than the Crowne Plaza. Do yourself a favor and find one of them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. Although it is very disappointing we did not meet your expectations, the feedback is beneficial as it helps us to resolve issues for future guests.

I apologize for the issues you incured during your stay with us. We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    119
    117
    80
    62
See reviews for
108
79
36
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at the Crowne Plaza in Madison. I've stayed at two or three other CP's (Minneapolis area and Orlando) and this one by far was my favorite. From the moment I walked through the door I was treated well, and all staff (front desk, waiter, maintenance staff) were polite, courteous, and friendly. We were upgraded to a king suite (thank you!), even though we had booked through Priceline. I have stayed with other hotels who basically throw you crumbs and give you poor service when they see priceline - so this was a refreshing change.

The location is very easily accessible right off 90/94/39 and only 6 miles to the capitol and State Street. It's right across the street from a mall, and there are lots of restaurants, salons, grocery stores, and strip malls just minutes away.

We were upgraded to a king suite which was quite nice. The front area had a desk, TV, coffee table, and a queen-size hideaway sofa bed. Also was a small wet bar area (for lack of better term) with a sink, coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The bedroom area was quite large and I loved the furniture and décor (although a couple extra pillows would have been a nice touch). Bathroom was nicely done and all of the standard bathroom amenities were wonderful! Room was very clean for the most part. Only thing I noticed was that there were some crumbs underneath the TV stand- which you probably couldn't see while vacuuming, but were noticeable from the bed. Also the wallpaper could use a little gluing down around some seams. Otherwise the whole hotel was very neat, clean, and tidy.

The breakfast was very good- twice we had the $13.95 buffet. It's a bit more than I would usually spend, but that includes free juice and coffee. There was a very nice selection of bacon (applewood and turkey), scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, baguette french toast,lots of muffins, waffles, and loads of fresh fruit- so you do get your money's worth. And the quality is wonderful. Also, if you are travelling with family, I believe kids 12 and under eat free-- so that almost knocks it down to fast food prices. Great ambiance, and our server Adam was delightful.

Internet was free. THANK YOU. Nowadays, it really should be free anywhere you stay. I've stayed at one star dumps with free internet, so it does ruffle my feathers when higher end places charge for it. Also, the room seemed very quiet, even though the hotel was quite full.

My only disappointment was that the pool seemed extremely cold. I thought I was just being a wimp, but it looks like others have commented on how chilly the pool is. I tried to get acclimated but after about 5 minutes I just spent the rest of the time in the hot tub. Very large- but hard to have a conversation with other adults because there were lots of young kids in there at 10pm. Other than that, it was truly a great stay, and I would be more than happy to stay at the Crowne Plaza next time I'm in Madison.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan56345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smalltown
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I've stayed at different properties around Madison and I expected the Crown Plaza to live up to it's name. The front desk staff was gracious and accomadating. Bar tenders and waitresses were friendly and helpful. Our breakfasts were kitchen made and not out of a microwave. That was quite a plus. Our room was on the Club Floor, and it was quite large. The carpet stains were abundant and the front room tv couldn't be controlled by the remote.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very glad you encounted good service from the bar, as well as the front desk. You are correct in that our breakfast are not microwaved, but prepared fresh by the kitchen staff.

I am disappointed there were stains on the carpet in your room, and that one of the TV remote controls did not work properly. I don't know if you called the front desk to have it replaced, but they would have been more than happy to do that for you.

We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madison.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Room was clean and tidy. Desk staff pleasant and helpful -willing to give me suggestions about area bike trails and walking trails. Road construction was going on in front of the hotel, but it still was easy access. Mall right across the road - very convenient to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. We appreciate your kind words, and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and hope to have you stay with us again on your next visit to Madison.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at the Crowns Plaza with a large group for a wedding. Upon arrival there was a dirty diaper in the garbage can of my room. If they didn't empty my garbage can it makes me wonder what else was not cleaned. A friend of mine staying in a different room was not able to check into her room 1 hour after the stated check-in time. Thankfully we were only forced to sleep here for 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayml7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. First let me aplogize for the diaper being in the garbage in your room. There is no excuse and that was totally unacceptable. We have been training new staff in housekeeping, and I assure you this will be brought to the Managers attention.

I would also like to apologize for the later than normal check in. I understand what an inconvenience this is, especially when you are attending a wedding, and I'm sure wanting to freshen up.

I do appreciate the comments so issues can be addressed. We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and it is very upsetting to the entire staff when we don't exceed guests expectations.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madison hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.9 km away
Best Western East Towne Suites
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
2.2 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
1.6 km away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#23 of 63 in Madison
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,123 - ₹ 18,097
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing