We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
"A place not to miss in Sri Lanka-Arugambay"

Last August my sister and I wanted to go for a surf trip to Sri Lanka. Best choice we could have... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Noemie_xxx
,
Luxembourg
Awesome surf teachers and really good vibes!

My friend and I booked the surfing package for one week and ended up staying a whole month surfing... read more

Reviewed 18 November 2018
Traveler04915447489
via mobile
Read all 109 reviews
  
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
93
2
3
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
2
3
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka his team my friend arugam bay great instructor tuk tuk the owner great atmosphere big family take care cant wait say goodbye wellness package loved every minute amazing experience in town coming back
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Booked a surf camp for 4 days in early February 2018 with Fawas. Best experience of the whole 2 week trip in Sri Lanka. Fawas was very knowledgeable and patient. Always happy to help and provide advice.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Ania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

My friend and I booked a surf camp with Fawas. Man this guy is amazing!! Friendly, patient and his knowledge about the island is phenomenal. Want to learn how to surf? He’s your guy!!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank GrethelS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Booked a surf trip with SAFA Surf Camp the night before and confirmed 6am pick up. Girlfriend and I waited out on road from 6am until 6:45 when we gave up. No heads up on the cancellation and tried ringing. Recommend using someone like Dylan’s Surf Shop who are much more reliable.

Date of experience: January 2018
5  Thank MatthewL3830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfingsafa, Manager at Safa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

we have called you to cancel the lesson but your phone not working and we have send you an apologized mail also you have replied nicely but we dont know why you have written this review.
in our camp we always on time but the day you booked we have to cancel the lesson (we have called you in the morning your phone not works)first we had some problem with instructor because his family member have been past away.
normally we dint do a intermediate lessons in this time because the waves are not consistent thats why we cancel the lesson the day before,hope you remember.

we are apologize for your bad experience and hope you had a good intermediate lesson in white water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We spent ten amazing days at safa surf camp in Arugame Bay !!! The camp is perfect !!! We stay in a small bungalow for 2 people with my friend. The surf spots are perfect for all levels. All the peiple at the camp are very kind and helpful ! Whenever you need something there is always somebody that can help you. Fawas is very friendly and give very good surf lessons ! Cant wait to go back there !!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank XinguD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I spent some time in Arugam Bay at the beginning of December and had the pleasure of taking surf lessons with Fawas during my stay. The tips he gave me really helped me improve much faster than with any other instructor Ive encountered, he was professional and made me feel safe at all times. Looking forward to coming back!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank lsaush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews