We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
45
12
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
12
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manicured lawns rest and relaxation organic vegetables tea plantation living room a wonderful stay sri lanka two nights home away from home on arrival tuk tuk tartan bunglow fireplace fires property garden
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Glendevon is a jewel set amongst the tea plantations of this lush paradise. A piece of the regions history, faithfully restored, and proudly refurbished in all it’s Scottish finery. From the beautiful flower gardens and manicured lawns, to the organic vegetables, historic pictures, tartan furnishings, open fireplace and four-poster beds, Glendevon is a truly special place. Chef Nuwan’s unique ‘tea inspired’ menu is a masterpiece and Chamara and the staff will welcome you like family and invite you to treat the bungalow as your home away from home.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank tash_riedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theme R, Manager at Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Scottish Planter Glendevon Bungalow. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every little detail that we thought of when creating this bungalow and that our staff ensured that you were served in the best way possible; like you would be, at home. Your comments on the architecture, food, ambiance and staff are greatly appreciated.

We hope this will be the start of many visits to our bungalow. See you soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We wanted to make our stay a memorable one for our beloved brother - Nomira who's leaving for Australia & this castle offered us more than we expected. The classical colonial atmosphere displayed in architecture & design of the bunglow is sophisticated & exceptional. Staff was absolutely professional & we were treated at a scale that were beyond expectation. Food was delicious & the landscape of the property, the view is just amazing.
More than everything we really appreciated the sense of isolation & homely feeling each staff member was dedicated to treat us with. This place & people have given us so much of memories to cherish for a long time. We must respectfully mention the extended support rendered by the staff by allowing us space to enjoy with no restrictions so far putting together such a master piece of art for us to feel special about our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savindya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theme R, Manager at Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for this wonderful review on Scottish Planter Glendevon Bungalow. Your review consists of everything we have to offer at our bungalow and captures the very essence of it! Reviews like this motivate us to keep doing what we are doing and improve in any way we can to exceed your expectations the next time you visit us.

We are so glad that your brother got a stay that he will not forget and hope to see your family back again soon for extended happy memories.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Every word by everyone in the previous post is spot on. This place is so serene that you just switch off from the day to day nuisance. Excellent hospitality, super comfortable rooms, nice fire place, very sweet and helpful staff and last but not the least - the best srilankan curry. Definitely worth a visit again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank vishal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theme R, Manager at Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us! Our commitment to ensuring that you enjoy every bit of your stay is our top priority. It gives us great joy in hearing that you were treated to exceptional service across your stay and that you were able to switch off and truly immerse in all that our bungalow has to offer. Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We look forward to seeing you at our property once again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We spent a couple of nights at Glendevon Scottish Planter Bungalow last year. There are four rooms in this bungalow. We were fortunate that for the two nights we were there we were the only people and had the run of the whole place to ourselves.

All the staff were magnificent, the service immaculate, the food delicious including presentation which was high end. We given the absolute best service we could hope for. If you want something at an odd time, they have calling bells in the room and they are happy to oblige. Bed tea is served in the room at the exact time you ask for in old English tea pot.

The bungalow is located in the middle of a large tea estate with fantastic panoramic views of the tea gardens and manicured lawns / gardens. It was the perfect stop over after the heat of the other locations in Sri Lanka.

The only tricky thing is the access to the bungalow - a single lane dirt road that is winding.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank acal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theme R, Manager at Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you had such an excellent stay with us last year! Our commitment to service is one of the top reasons guests continue staying with us, and it gives us great joy in hearing you were treated to exceptional service across your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We look forward to hopefully having you as guest once again on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Warm regards,

Manager
Scottish Planter Glendevon Bungalow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We loved the feeling of this old place! It is well hidden in the hills around Nurawa Eliya, but worth the drive. The room we had was totally romantic, the building, the furniture, the fireplace, the food, the grounds with flowers everywhere, everything was a pleasure for the eyes. We did a very nice walk in the hills in the morning before going to take the train to Ella. We stayed only one night but it was a wonderful experience. Two comments... To help eliminate plastic, why not provide drinking water in jugs? Also, the property would make nicer pictures without its name written in huge white letters on the front grounds...

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theme R, Manager at Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay at Scottish Planter Glendevon Bungalow.

We are truly passionate about delivering exceptional guest experiences and I was very pleased to learn of your great satisfaction with our bungalow's standard of service. Your feedback serves as great motivation for us all.

The team and I appreciate your feedback and we all look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Manager
Scottish Planter Glendevon Bungalow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews