We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,915)
Filter reviews
2,915 results
Traveller rating
1,675
863
255
79
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
863
255
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train carriage unique hotel nature walk executive floor old railway pick your own sri lanka unique experience original features take home local village our honeymoon corner room each evening above sea level winding road strawberries
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,915 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights here and were absolutely delighted with everything. The friendliness and quality of service from the staff could not be surpassed and the food was first class. Yes it is a long drive from Colombo and the last couple of miles are narrow and winding but it is worth it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank willowbeech82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we are glad that you have endorsed our hotel.

We are truly pleased to read that you have enjoyed the unique experience of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera, General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. This was the hotel I insisted was included on our tour of Sri Lanka after I spent hours researching places to stay and I loved the sound of this place. it did not disappoint. Our guide told us on route to the hotel that it was a fabulous hotel and he was right. From the moment our car pulled up outside the service was second to none. We were provided with warm flannels and a lovely cup of tea whilst the booking in process took place. We were then shown around the railway carriage as we were interested in dining here. It was pricey (75$) each but we were so glad we did it - the service was exceptional from the chef who took our order and our waiter (Manoj ???) and he was brilliant with our two teenagers. This was their first experience of fine dining and they loved it. Especially having the dress for dinner to comply with the dress code. Food was amazing. We had one very early start when visiting horton plains and it was no trouble for the hotel to provide us with a pack up breakfast which was huge and varied. Others have mentioned a poor journey to reach the hotel, yes it is up a small winding road but nothing out of the ordinary for Sri Lanka and it is up in the hills so only what we expected. Every member of staff we encountered provided us with fantastic service with a smile. The tour of the tea factory was great. We had a few rounds of the putting green and our son made full use of the gym. The decor adds to the ambiance and the colour coding of the original and new in red and green was clever and added to the interest. It was great seeing the machinery start up for half hour each evening . Others had said the rooms needed updating but they were spotless and furnished with dark wood which we felt was fitting for the building. We loved it here- it was quirky and different and that is what makes it special. If you are looking for modern run of the mill 5* then this is possibly not the place for you, but if you want an experience than I can’t recommend this highly enough. Was one of the highlights of our holiday. Our teenagers loved it here too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank MrsS45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. We are truly pleased to read that you and your family had enjoyed the time at our hotel and encouraged by your warm recommendations.

We eagerly await to welcome you and your loved ones back at our hotel for another memorable experience and offer you our highest service once again.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera, General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived , the level of service was exceptional and indeed the attention to detail was second to none. We had a spacious junior suite and welcomed the evening canopies and tea served to the room. The food in the restaurant was very good. The location was perfect to visit nuwara eliya and Horton plains ( a must do). Particular mention for pathmanadan who cleaned our room, balendra the butler and the restaurant manager. As for suggestions for improvement, the focus is to cater to the older clientele but increasingly younger guests were visible and therefore perhaps more challenging excursions should be included including self guided trails. Also a more inviting spa and gym. The gym currently is in the basement and aimed discouraging exercise . Also the carpets are a bit depressing . I am assuming wooden floors in rooms are not possible .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shadthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us following your recent visit to Heritance Tea Factory. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we were able to cater to all your needs to assure a comfortable stay.

We thank you for the thoughtful suggestion and will highlight this and share with others in the Heritance Tea Factory team.

It is truly encouraging for me and my team to receive such positive endorsements from our valued guests.

Please do come here again for another visit with your family and friends and we assure that you will have some more sweet memories to take home.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera, General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband & I were with friends, visiting the Heritage sites , following the wedding of our daughter to a Sri Lankan. Nuwara Eliya was the last stop on our tour, prior to returning to Colombo. Absolutely beautiful place to relax and enjoy the scenery and cooler temperatures. Hotel has excellent service, very good restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Be aware, it is located about 14 klm from Nuwara Eliya, on a hill only accessible along a narrow, winding single lane road. So don't plan on going anywhere else for dinner! My friend and I enjoyed the tea plucking experience and learned a lot about the tea making process. I enjoyed walking through a lovely English like garden, which on the last terrace had some well cared for rabbits. All round a lovely place to stay and very different from all the other hotels we had stayed in.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony with lovely view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we are glad that you have endorsed our hotel. We are pleased to read that you and your loved ones had enjoyed the unique experience of our hotel, including the tea plucking excursion.

It is truly encouraging for me and my team to receive such positive endorsements from our valued guests.

Please do come here again for another visit with your family and friends and we assure that you will have some more sweet memories to take home.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera, General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

After a long drive we arrived to this magical place. A little bit after Nuwara Eliya you will find this fabulous hotel that used to be a tea factory. Evrything is preserved and original, so beautiful and gives you a traditional epierence. It is surrounded by beautiful tea plantation that you can see from everywhere. Rooms are excellent the food is the vest we are so far in Sri Lanka.

Warmly recoomend to stay here, amazing luxurious stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank TaliA166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts with us and we are glad that you have endorsed our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had enjoyed the unique experience of our hotel and eagerly await to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera, General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews