We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
₹14,134
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
₹16,249
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
₹14,624
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
403
290
156
88
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
290
156
88
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacket and tie a hot water bottle reading room the formal dining room temporary membership members club sri lanka bygone era step back in time old world turn down service old colonial modern hotel sitting room unique experience snooker room beautiful garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2019

very good hospitality. ambiance. The food especially the dinner was excellent. Prefer the old wing. garden was very beautiful. The head stuart Kesawan service was superb. Recommend for a good stay. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 188sanjivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2019

There is no question that the grounds and colonial era building that houses the Hill Club feels like travelling back in time and that alone makes it an essential stop in Nuwara Eliya. The halls are lined with historic photos and the staff is incredibly attentive in showing you around. The rooms are lovely with a hot water bottle left on turn down service. We were particularly well looked after by the charming bartender Croos who has been with the hotel for 18 years and who even attempted to teach us the rules of snooker. The only disappointment as in the morning when we were told that the Sri Lankan breakfast option was not available and the only alternative was a bland continental serving. Overall it was a very unique experience to stay in such a well preserved piece of history and you will certainly be looked during your stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Stayed at the Hill Club for two nights. The place was easy to find. It had the real colonial atmosphere. To dine in the main dining hall we had to wear the jacket & tie, for which we were prepared. The service was good. The choice on the set-menu for the evening was poor. Opted for curry & rice from the al-cart menu which was good. Unless you order the night before you can't have the Sri Lankan breakfast, which were not informed in advance. The Western breakfast was poor.
The room was spacious. Although we requested a double bed we were given a room with two single beds put together. Which was very uncomfortable and we were unable to have a good nights sleep. I would not go there again.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank sheltonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Stayed here for 1 night only whist on 2 week tour of Sri Lanka with my in-laws. Upon arrival you drive through immaculate gardens before arriving at a fairly impressive building.
As soon as you enter the reception area you quickly realise this hotel is steeped in nostalgia from a bygone era. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The addition of hot water bottles in bed was a charming surprise.
Each morning in the reading room, members of staff gather and stand to attention whilst the Sri Lankan National anthem is played.
All staff are very friendly and keen to please.
We did not dine here but chose to walk down into town to find a local restaurant.
Would only recommend for a 1 night stay

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jock63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2019

This is the old gentleman's club for the British tea planters turned into a hotel. It has authentic charm and history but falls over with some basic modern requirements. There re also so many staff looking for something to do I felt sorry for them. The rooms are nice an comfortable though and a good location

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G8923UFmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews