We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but rate is too high”
Review of Shiny Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shiny Villa
Ranked #165 of 273 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

The owners are very very (!!!) friendly and supportive. The family puts a lot of effort in their small family business. The stay was OK. However the shower could be warmer (34 degrees only) and I do prefer bed linen instead of micro fiber blankets and pillows. Breakfast leftovers where not taken away. We had to bring them back at night upon return from sightseeing. The price is far too high in my opinion, although I haven't seen other places in this region. However, if the downsides are improved this is definetly a place to stay for one or two nights.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We only stayed one night but after arriving there we were glad to leave after that night. The house is on a hill that is very hard to access if the road is wet (very slippery). The house had a smell like it had many cats (we didnt see any though). The rooms were not clean. The bedsheets were not clean. The bathrooms were not clean and the doors to the bathrooms did not close. At 5pm music from loudspeakers started from the temple (this is traditional and acceptable) and on top of that, on the floor above us they started to play music as loud as in a disco and they started to sing karaoke (not acceptable). This music continued until 10:30pm or later. It was cold and everything was very humid. Breakfast looked good but after the dirty rooms I couldnt touch the food. After we were awake in the morning, the music started again!! If you plan your trip well you wouldnt want to stay here, there are many other hotels that are problably 1000 % better than this place.

Room Tip: Dirty rooms, no ac, no heater, no television, very loud....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelbroeschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Travelling as a couple, backpackers, 14 days Sri Lanka, April 2012. Nice new Hotel with clean and well equipped rooms. Hot shower! Standard English style breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.
If you come by train as we did, Nuwara Eliya doesn’t have an own train station. The next station is Nanu Oya, 6km away – but there is no problem to get to NE quickly by tuktuk, taxi or bus. The hotel is not in the city center but 2km outside in direction to Kandy: Also no problem, take a tuktuk for about 300-400 Rupies.
The hotel is a good and reasonable priced place to set of for some excursions: And there are many possibilities in NE! The landscape is nice, the climate is moderate, it can be quite cold at night (ca. 10 degrees cel.).
Ask to be driven to the Horton plains visitor center (ca. 1,5 h on windy roads with wonderful views). You should set off at about 05:30 just before sunrise to be at the visitor center at about 07:00. At the visitor center in the middle of nowhere you find a big carpark with minivans, busses etc. All sorts of groups arrive with drivers and guides. You have to pay an entrance fee. Be under the first ones and most of all walk straight to the big world´s end which you will reach at about 08:30-09:00: Then you have a chance of the spectacular far view from the plateau over a steep and about 900m high cliff. As the sun rises quickly and it becomes warm clouds will form and at about 09:30 to 10:00 (when we arrived) you will face the pure imagination of it – a dense white nothing. The 9km / 3 h walk on uneven paths that like firm shoes is beautiful and reminds a bit of a tropical version of Scotland. Fog arises from the trees, you can see deer and some nice birds – again: try to be on your own and enjoy it quietly.
NE city is really worth a visit. Try out local bakery and the market, walk and see the remains of the british influence. Visit a tea manufactory. Go hill walking. Adams Peak is not far – also an experience you shouldn´t miss.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This wasn't the cheap and cheerful hotel, that had a fairly central position that my husband had expected. It took ages to find, up a very steep and dangerous hill a good 20min walk from the centre of Nuwara Eliya. The room we stayed in was downstairs and the decoration was a vivid pink; that didn't bother us, but the damp on the walls, bathroom that stank of damp and had no hot water, and a door that didn't shut did. We were kept awake by noise from the living room next to us and were woken at 5am by chanting/singing. The room was described as having air con and a satellite TV, which it didn't. It didn't even have towels. The breakfast was cold fried egg, cold hard toast and was pretty poor. They said their chef was away. We wouldn't have minded so much if it had been really cheap but it wasn't even that cheap. Luckily we only had 2 nights there, arriving really late and staying out all the next day so didn't spend much time there, if we had of been, we'd have left and gone somewhere else. A nice couple running it, but with so much choice in the town they need to sort it out. Not what we'd expected; I wouldn't want any of my family/friends staying there.

Room Tip: Check location in Nuwara Eliya carefully...........get somewhere very near the centre of town or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddalena n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,688 reviews
0 km away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
257 reviews
0 km away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,128 reviews
0 km away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#26 of 273 in Nuwara Eliya
156 reviews
0 km away
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack Lanka
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack ...
#102 of 230 in Nuwara Eliya
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiny Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiny Villa

Address: 16/6 Piyatissa Mawatha Bambarakelle Nuwara Eilya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: ₹ 2,615 - ₹ 2,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shiny Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing