We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
5
13
13
13
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
13
13
13
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived at nuwara eliya after climbing Adams peak. After a little search we decided to go out of our budget and try a -4000rps hotel. We ended up paying 2000 rps for their best room, 3rd floor with an amazing view . A 10 min walk to the city but worth it.
Very clean room, hot water, wifi, helpful and friendly hosts.
We highly recommend the 'rising lion inn'

Stayed: April 2016
4  Thank Oded B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Nuwara eliya is at around 1800meters, so be aware, it can be cold. We hadn't reserved anything, so we were walking up the hill, looking for a place to stay. Our first choice was booked, so we eventually came to the rising lion. It was raining and the journey was long, so we stayed. They have a very nice room at the top, which is quite pricy, so we took a less pricy room a little further down. still a bit above our budget. We had enough blankets and the rom was ok. You can basically feel the colonial flair. Carpets are a little dirty, but oh well, it's carpets. The staff was friendly though and very caring to prepare an awesome breakfast for us. Since the weather was really bad, we were maybe not so thrilled by nuwara eliya in general, but place was ok.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lillilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

arrived here just after Christmas and they doubled their room rates. The place is not worth half of what they were asking. said they would not honor my Travelocity booking. had to stay anyway. the rooms were dirty and dated. It is along way from downtown. Avoid if possible.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

This place is good for relaxation,so quiet,relaxing and best view of whole Nuwara Eliya town. Good food,Friendly Staff. The reason I have them 3 stars is that we confirmed a booking in the internet but then we arrived,there's no room for us. We needed to wait about an hour untill some other guest's checked out.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Mira_Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this guesthouse, the manager was lovely and super nice, he arranged us everything including food, tuktuk, hotels for the next village, and even ordered pizza for us to the guesthouse!
All of The staff were really nice and kind!
The view from the room was breathtaking (the guesthouse located on the hills a bit higher from the city center)...
Feel like home!
Very recommended!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Liron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews