We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
24
7
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
7
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parting gift stayed in the family room private balcony a great stay on arrival stayed two nights guest house recommend this hotel gregory lake cottage noise beds tour heater tea plantation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This house is beautiful with the perfect garden. You can borrow bicycles from them to ride around as t is a little bit secluded. Unfortunately, the service is a bit poor. When we checked in the guy that took care of the place was resting in the garden and did not attend to us at first. Breakfast is ok. I really liked the room with the nice window facing the garden. I would have liked for it to serve lunch, dinner or snacks as you need to take a tuk tuk for 10-20 minutes to go to a restaurant. Also, I would have loved for them to sell wine, beer or even soft drinks to chill in the garden. If you want to do so, make sure you will bring your own. Another thing to note is that there is a Buddhist temple across the street which plays the bells early in the mornings and evenings for their prayers.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zwinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Lahiru for great service. Before our arrival we could talk on whatsapp and agree on many things. Acomodation is nice in the middle of tea plantation a little out of the town center. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. A little bit small the double room but you have nice common areas like terrace and garden . Good breakfast

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tartrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I stayed at the tea garden for 3 nights. Since this was my honeymoon trip, I was looking for a hotel which was not only attractive, but quiet and private too. The tea garden not only met my expectations, it was way more better than I imagined. The actual room and the surrounding views are so spectacular that we skipped a day trip and instead stayed in and around the hotel. The hotel staff (Lahiru and Dinesh) are one of the most friendliest and attentive people I have met. We were welcomed with Ceylon tea on our arrival, and afterwards taken to our room- which looked just like the photos. It was squeaky clean, everything was so well prepared that we fell in love with the room right away. We were also served hot english breakfast every morning. Lahiru (the manager) took us to a tour of the tea gardens and showed us some breathtaking views of Nuwara Eliya. My wife fell ill on the 3rd day of our stay and Lahiru made all the arrangements to take her to a city clinic by a tuk tuk and even instructed the tuk tuk driver so that we do not have any issues. The balcony door in the room did not had curtains because of which the room was bright in the morning. When I told Dinesh about it, he was sweet enough to put a curtain there. On the day we left the hotel, we were presented with a gift hamper of ceylon teas- which was a great touch to their hospitality and a heart warming gesture. All in all, this property gets two thumbs up from us. We are so glad we chose this property for our honeymoon and will come back again (and recommend our friends). Thank you for hosting us and making our trip an even more special one.

Room Tip: The room on the upper floor has the best view and is suitable for a bigger family
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpandas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

The cottage is in a secluded part of Nuwara Eliya but has good views of the tea plantations and the surrounding areas. We had a large room upstairs which could easily sleep 6 or 8 people. However, some curtains were missing over the large windows and when we queried about them the staff seemed to think we did not need them! Needless to say in the morning the light came through quite early although the view of the birds singing on the window ledge was most welcoming. The shower had luke warm water and,as it gets cold here in the evenings, this could be a somewhat off putting.
Breakfast was most basic and the staff seemed to be a little lost as to how to cook a basic omlette.
The side road leading up to the cottage is in urgent need of tarmac and at night a little difficult to find and walk if you go for a stroll.
We would suggest accomodation in between Gregory's park and the town centre.
Balu and Shila

Room Tip: Large room upstairs
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistBalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in the family room of The Tea Garden for two nights and were overall very happy with our experience here.

Our room was large with big comfortable beds and had its own big private balcony perfect for looking out of the pretty garden and surrounding tea plantation.

The hotel staff, particularly Lahiru, were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. Lahiru also ordered in food for us when we didn’t feel like going out one evening, cooked up a delicious complimentary breakfast and took a group of us on a tour of the tea gardens up to watch the sunset over the Knuckles Mountain Range. When we left we were given a box of the plantation’s tea, which was very kind.

A couple of things worth noting:

Noise - the cottage itself is very peaceful but the rooms are not very well sound proofed and so you will hear quite a bit of dog noise at night and twice daily the chants from the local Buddhist temple. The first is at 5/6am so bring earplugs (!), the second is at 5/6pm.

Location - the cottage is not in the town on Nuwara Eliya, it’s about a 10-15min drive outside. They do have bikes you can borrow though and taxis/tuk tuks can be called to pick you up.

Decor - It was absolutely fine for us, but the decor in the family room was a bit tired and was missing curtains from one of the windows. It’s quite light all night around the cottage and so refitting these would be useful. It was all very clean though and the beds were warm and comfortable which is the most important thing.
Downstairs is lovely and well kept and you have the use of a small shared kitchenette, dining and living area if you decide like we did to eat in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don’t mind being outside of the main town and would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beck566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews