We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ahungalla Beach
from US$ 184.62
More Info
from US$ 47.43
More Info
from US$ 179.49
More Info
from US$ 190.71
More Info
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
194
112
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
112
29
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Ahungalla beach is quieter than Unawatuna, Tangalle and Mirissa, being a little away from Benthota and just before Galle. More reason to visit and stay at the many hotels and resorts in the area . Just remember to take only photographs and leave only footprints behind :)

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank 18EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Booked a 14 night holiday, from 28th September at the Riu Sri Lanka at Ahungalla Beach. It is a long stretch of golden brown sand. During our stay the sea was rather rough and some big waves, so not best for swimming. There were no lifeguards on duty on the beach, there were great pools in the hotel.

There are no sunbeds on the beach as it is a public beach. There are some beach sellers they are no trouble, however, they do try sell you t shirts, sarongs, tuk tuk rides and trips, when guests venture out on the beach. Every once in a while they walk by the hotel where guests are visible from the beach, holding up sarongs etc, no hassle.

We did notice that there were beach cleaners on the beach but that was only outside the 2 hotels and was only on a few occasions.

We ventured out to walk the beach twice, first time turned right, the shorter walk that goes past the Heritance Hotel and to the up to the White Villa Resort and Restaurant at the end. The resturant has a viewing area out on to rocks by the sea. Beyond that there is a small little cove. We took the pathway at the back of the resturant which led to the main road back to the hotel. This was an interesting way to see the local area,

Once we walked by the hotel it was rather dirty plastic bottles and all other sorts of rubbish and junk. Appreciate that some of the rubbish gets washed up by the sea, but not all of it.

On another occasion we turned left and proceeded to walk along the other stretch of beach. It was so sad to see so much filth and rubbish, it was worse than the other end. We were heading to the far end of the beach and the rocks, but we gave up in the end and took a pathway leading to the main road, we came out by the police station.

Where it is clean it is a beautiful beach, but in other parts the litter lets it down.

Our balcony had a view over the beach and sea it was a wonderful view.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Be there for outing with family, ideal place for sea bath and safety place was beside White house hotel name thotupala..there sea is not deeper and huge rock surrounding so could be get a great fun..

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank gayabim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

it as been a while since i visited Ahungalla beach, i must say the beach was not so clean and not highly recommended for swimming...due to coastal erosion it was not safe for the kids to play around..but the sea breeze and wonderful sunset always made me feel so relax..

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank IAbeysinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

RIU resort & Heritence Ahungalla hotels have located by Ahungalla beach.This is a place where you can enjoy the charming beauty of your vacation.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Neranjith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews