We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpa City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpa City Suites
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for a week in May, was a lovely hotel, my first ever hotel experience in Philis, I can say I was highly impressed with everything in this hotel, Service was warm and friendly, Not that I utilise that much, I'm not the type of person who wants to be waited on hand and foot, so Im easily pleased and hopefully easy to get along with, made many friends with the security guards while trying to beat them to the door so I could open it myself (didn't succeed much)

The room was very clean, the mini bar stocked daily, Fresh linen and towels were delivered daily, the cleaning of the room was immaculate, I make no effort to hide money or valuables and nothing was ever touched, aircon was cold and quiet, King bed in royal suite was lovely and comfortable and ample pillows.

Bathroom was nice and the toiletries were restocked daily and were quite nice, The shower water was hot, however the strength of the jet was a little weaker than I would like but it was a bath too so no problem :) overall modern design, the flat screen TV was nice, not a huge channel selection but who goes on holiday to watch tv? geeze..

Room service food was great! very tasty indeed and the portions were enormous! could barely finish what was on the plate and had to save most for later.. mini kitchenette was a nice touch the the royal suite, but just a microwave and sink really, couldn't cook much of a meal..but I also don't go on holiday to cook for myself either :P

Internet in the room was Wired which was fine for the laptop, however had to go to the business centre to use Wifi, didn't mind was a nice walk anyway. Piano in the door was a nice touch.. but I never heard anyone playing it hehe..

I never got to try the breakfast all week because im such a heavy sleeper so I managed to sleep through breakfast every day.. haha location seemed good.. I didnt notice any problems others have said about a bad area? I went walking the streets at night alone and was left alone, except for the shop across the road which was a great place to grab a beer and hang out with the locals, Yes some places around it are poor, but before complaining about that, one must remember the country they are in, and also feel lucky that they are able to afford such luxuries.

Overall a great experience and I would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: The road was Very Very busy outside the hotel. a massive and major intersection, Im a heavy sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    102
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
95
39
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a double bedroom. The staff were mostly very helpful and courteous. My cousin & I felt safe using this hotel. The cab drivers knew the location of this hotel so going around town was fairly easy.
Our room was clean and felt new still. The bed was firm but very comfortable. The room included a flat screen TV with cable, coffeemaker, microwave, sink, and two free water bottles per night. The air conditioning worked great and cooled pretty quickly despite needing the room key to activate.
Housekeeping was good and our room was cleaned every day. So no complaints there.
The front entrance staff were really nice and hailed meters cabs for us.
There was no wifi in the rooms only the lobby which was a drag.
We enjoyed the free breakfast buffet that was included in our stay. They changed the menu every day so you will not be eating the same food for breakfast, which was pretty nice. I would recommend this hotel if you have plans outside of it. There's really not much around the hotel, but driving to a few of the tourist sites would run about 180 pesos or less each way. I would have picked the Radisson's instead because they had a pool to lounge around in.

Room Tip: Rooms away from a few nightclubs/bars on it's main road? We heard thumping all night walking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I chose Alpha because it had so many great reviews but I was a little apprehensive because so many reviews from sources with only 1 review. Alpha must have impressed so many including myself.

Comments:
Security Staff: very professional and are sharp as they looked. When we arrived promptly greeted, luggage secured, and stored the dried fish we were carrying. If you know anything about PH dried fish you can appreciate it being stored away from your rooms. They are also very knowledgeable of the local area, can tell you how much your taxi will cost, get you in a taxi that will uses meter and has a working A/C. Don’t use taxis that the driver wants to negotiate a price for your destination. They will also give you tips on where to eat and areas to avoid.

Motorcycle Rental: I could only find one location on Mactan Island and it was just too far from Alpha. I asked the security staff and they arranged for a motorcycle rental from a private party. It turned out to be an almost brand new bike at a very economical price. Don’t ride motorcycles unless you’re a very experience rider and have lots of experienced driving in the PH. If you do get a bike you need the proper license, have over seas/foreign emergency health care benefits, and protective equipment. Also highly recommend a dust mask for riding in Cebu.

Reception: We had arrived very early and anticipated a long wait before our rooms were available. Staff was very accommodating and got a room for us within 10 minutes: Outstanding for it was extremely warm and a cool shower was desperately needed.

Rooms: Photos posted are accurate on Trip Advisor. 8th floor room, bath and A/C very comfortable and clean. No problem with traffic noise. Hallways however are not A/C, so noticeably hot with only small windows at end of hallways for ventilation.
Breakfast Buffet: Is included and outstanding with made to order eggs, pancakes, and omelets’. They serve a fantastic Mango Shake, photo attached best I’ve tasted in PH.


Location: Is at an extremely busy intersection, lots of restaurants within walking distance but recommend a taxi to get you there safely. A large mall within 10 minute taxi ride, Mactan Airport 15 minutes away with zero traffic, however be aware in can take up to an hour or more during commute times. You’ll need to use taxis to get to around. Alpha located in somewhat industrial area, not to picturesque. Views from your rooms may be obstructed and scenary kinda of ordinary.

Comments: I don’t know why but Cebu City is extremely dusty. We drove on a motorcycle and learned why so many of the riders have their faces covered with scarfs and handkerchiefs. It seems that it really dusty right after a rain. The foothills seem to have better air quality.

Mangoes Comments: Cebu is the center of Mango production and tourist flock to purchase dried mangos. However if you’re a Costco Member (California at least) save your money and luggage space. It’s cheaper at Costco for some odd reason, and it comes from Cebu.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 8th floor to get away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is a nice, clean and friendly hotel and I concur with most of the positive reviews here: the rooms, especially the larger “suites” are clean and spacious, there is sufficient wardrobe space (often an issue) and the bathroom is functional. The staff was very friendly, the rate for converting US$ not a rip-off and the breakfast buffet had a wide selection, including freshly made to order egg-dishes. The key question really is what your plans are for staying in this city as the only down-side of the hotel is that is located outside the city-center and requires taxi rides to go from there to anywhere in Mandaue.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Nice and value for money. Good service and accomodating hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alland_aga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaue
1.2 km away
BIG Hotel
BIG Hotel
#2 of 13 in Mandaue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 km away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#3 of 13 in Mandaue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.4 km away
The Orchard Cebu Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
1.8 km away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.6 km away
Leope Hotel
Leope Hotel
#6 of 13 in Mandaue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpa City Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpa City Suites

Property: Alpa City Suites
Address: Hernan Cortes corner F. Cabahug sts., Mandaue 6014, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mandaue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,160 - ₹ 7,003
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpa City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest all-studio suites hotel. Strategically located at the border of the cities of Cebu City and Mandaue, we are very near major shopping malls (SM Mall, Ayala Mall and Terraces, Park Mall), Cebu Business Park and Asiatown IT Park, churches restaurants, Cebu International Convention Center, the seaport, white sand beaches and the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Alpa City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpa City Hotel Mandaue
Alpa City Suites Cebu Island/Mandaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing