We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Color”
Review of Hozumitei

Hozumitei
Ranked #1 of 543 Restaurants in Uwajima
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This restaurant was a real treat! We had the teishoku set meals for lunch, and the tai fish really lives up to its reputation as being delicious and fresh. In fact, you can see the live fish in a pool behind the cash register, which was a hit with our young son. We were also happy that there are free refills on rice, so you don't have to worry about walking away hungry. There is a maze of private rooms so you can enjoy your meal without onlookers as well. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly, one server even ran outside after us to add some details to a recommendation that he made while we were paying our bill. Hozumitei is a great balance of atmosphere, good food, and good service, so we would highly recommend it and are looking forward to a chance to return again someday.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Lara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We passed by Uwajima enroute to Matsuyama & decided to have lunch here. We loved the ambience of dining in this traditional Japanese house & the service team was spot on. The food...we had the local sea bream sashimi don set & the ikura/uni don set. Both were fantastically delicious. Every scoop was a mouthful of joy! Not to be missed...

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank cliffman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The atmosphere was great, and the staff were really welcoming. Really New there food, helped us choose the most wonderful fresh fish and seafood. The squid melted in our mouth. The fried fish was cooked to perfection. All the tastes were exquisite. Our number 1 in Uwajima.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pillow2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hozumitei also viewed

 
Uwajima, Ehime Prefecture
Uwajima, Ehime Prefecture
 
Uwajima, Ehime Prefecture
 

Been to Hozumitei? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing