We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but dirty beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Everything about this hotel was great except for two things. I'll start with the good, though. The staff was absolutely fabulous. They were training the weekend we were there, so there were lots of staff on hand, and everywhere you went everyone said hello with a smile. Everyone was very helpful. We had a standard room (cheapest) and it was relatively good value for money. The room was fine, bed was comfortable, bathroom was nice. We didn't spend much time in the room anyhow since there is plenty to do around Menjangan Island and Pemuteran (diving, snorkeling, hiking, etc). They have a restaurant right on the beach but the food is pretty average.

Now for the downsides:

1. The amount of trash on the beach and in the water was truly unimaginable. I can't believe that between all of the hotels in Pemuteran they can't spare a few staff each to do a huge beach cleanup a couple of times a day. We were there in the rainy season, which means a lot of trash from Indonesia is carried into West Bali. But that doesn't mean it should just be left there in the water. We spent a lot of our time there just picking up plastic. We even found a hypodermic needle in the sand.

2. The hotel offered wifi for $6 per hour. To me, this is ridiculous. I have been living in Bali and know that wifi is readily available (for free) nearly everywhere you go. To pay $6 per hour is just outrageous. Even though this hotel was very nice, I wouldn't go back just because they don't offer free wifi. For those of us who sometimes have to bring our work along on holiday with us, we can't afford to be in a place that doesn't allow us to use our computer.

Other than those two things, it was a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rtobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent five wonderful nights here. It is perhaps the first hotel in Pemuteran and is very nicely and warmly run. Our suite was close to the beach and the restaurant, with a stream and moat around it. The vlilla has a Balinese outside bathroom, with the shower having bright yellow flowers around it. There are two day beds and a romantic four post king bed. The restaurant, including breakfast, was very friendly and the food generally good. They have Illy coffee. The spa is very good, with very competent Balinese massages for 150,000 rpa. Right next to the snorkelling reef. Very relaxing and not far from other places to eat. Staff very helpful. Certainly, we would stay there again, as opposed for example to Matahari which is souless and far from anywhere else. A very good dive centre next door that takes you to the island, a must-do.

Room Tip: Near the beach is great. We stayed in Frog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are a serious snorkeler you should definitely come to Pemuteran to go to Menjagan Island. We spent several nights at Taman Sari and thought it was the nicest place on the beach. We stayed in the Gekko Suite, which was delightful. Beautiful views from the terrace on the second floor and lovely outdoor bathroom. The best was quite clean and the water was clear while we were there. There is a pretty small resort so it was not at all crowded. Dining on the beach is quite nice although we thought the dinner food was mediocre. Breakfast was much better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It was nice to see this part of the island. The snorkeling on Menjangan island was amazing and well worth it. I would do it again. The room was clean and well serviced. Our room felt very private, even with others around. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwikel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent the Christmas holiday in Taman Sari. Although the hotel was nearly fully booked it never felt like it. The seaside setting is absolutely lovely and our "suite" was totally adequate. Yes, it is possible to get nicer rooms in Bali but I'm not sure you can get something on the seaside that is this tranquil. We stayed here with two kids of one and two years old and thanks to the spacious setup never felt concerned about our screaming kids disturbing other people looking for peace and quiet as we would be (and have been) in other more densely set up places.
The hotel is popular with agents working for European tour operators so you do get the odd group of people on a package tour but we never found this too disturbing.
This was not our first stay and we would probably go back here. The biggest drawback is the ever increasing transit time from the airport (currently around 4 hours) due to traffic becoming worse every year.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camiel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.7 km away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.2 km away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
1.3 km away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Pemuteran
296 reviews
0.1 km away
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa
10.6 km away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa

Address: Dusun Loka Segara | Gerokgak, Buleleng, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range: ₹ 3,058 - ₹ 12,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Sari Bali Far removed from the busy Bali tourist centers, the unspoiled northwest offers a view into the uniqueness of Bali. Still undeveloped, with nature and marine parks preserving the area, one finds a grand expanse of coconut groves and beautiful ancient templesdotting the landscape. The magnificent volcanoes of Java are a perfect backdrop forspectacular sunrises and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Sari Bali Resort And Spa
Taman Sari Bali Hotel Pemuteran
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing