We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Puri Alam Bungalows were good value for money. The views were absolutely spectacular. Our room opened up onto a lovely, landscaped courtyard.
The room itself was sufficient, the beds comfortable and there was hot water. I wouldn't recommend putting anything in the cupboard as it stinks and your clothes end up smelly bad. The toilet also smelt....
The restaurant of the bungalows has a great view but the food was very ordinary indeed. They seemed to have run out of most things on the menu too. I also think I may have picked up a tummy bug from my meal there but I can't be 100%.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Munduk was a charming little small mountain village set in a sloping hill road in North Bali. The key attractions are treks to a couple of magnificent waterfalls (nothing very big, just nice and respectably high with a very nice spray when you stand at its base).

We stayed at the Puri Alam for a couple of nights. First, the good points:
1) the view from our room (#2) was really good - across the valley and trees and padi field terraces

Next, the bad points:
1) the room was dingy with a musty smell
2) insects were a real problem. the bungalow was a drafty attap structure with plenty of gaps for the insects to get through - moths, mosquitoes and cockroaches. I took off my blanket after a shower and found a cockroach on it!
3) the sheets and pillowcases felt grimy. We insisted they changed these but they still felt bad. My better half had some rashes the morning after

All in - if you're looking for cheap(er) accom with a great view - you might try them. But frankly Indra Puri bungalows across the road looked much better (and had a great restaurant) but for more $. Else, try One Home homestay - its basic but cost a third of what Puri Alam cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The price is good, the view is really amazing and the water is hot. But the breakfast is far from being sufficient and the room really smell funny. So this hotel is ok for 1 or 2 nights, just like we did, but no more.
I would advise to book another hotel, one is just across the road and really seems nice - We tasted food and service and they just were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caramia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked a room in this hotel a day in advance but when we arrived the room was taken. The lady who received my call had my number in her cellphone, yet she looked into my eye and lied that she doesn't know what i'm talking about. They sent us to another place picked us up next day when the room vacated. Still it was all worth it because of this awesome view to the valley below from the room! The room was quite decent, good value for the price, had a mosquito net and a balcony. The toilet stank though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

When booking this hotel I was thinking, this place will be great as it out in the middle of no where. But once we arrived we realized that without a car you really are stuck and the hotel is not all that great for hanging out.
The room was large but everything had a musty smell. You could not turn off the balcony light so it always seemed a bit bright when trying to sleep.
The restaurant was below par, breakfasts were ok but nothing special. We ate dinner there once and we could not order have the items on the menu because they did not have them. The food we ended up getting tasted more like a microwave meal then anything else and the ice cream tasted like it had been in the freezer for a few years. For the amount that you pay there are much better options on the island. We realized booking online you really get over charged. It's probably best to only book your first night in Bali and then find other places in the areas that you want to stay. Driving around even 30km took well over an hour as the roads are very busy and mostly under construction.
The hotel does offer a pick up service from Ubud but they did not come to get us one night so we had to take a cab back. I think I remember reading on the web site that this hotel was only 15 min drive from Ubud, but don't let that fool you it's at least 30 minutes when there is barely any traffic. Also if you are going to pay with credit card they will charge you an extra 3%. One other thing to note, if you thought it would be a good idea to take the hotel bikes please beware, biking around the area is not fun at all just full of traffic and garbage filled streets, plus the bikes are just about ready too fall apart.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s1shap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munduk
9.5 km away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 26 in Lovina Beach
865 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Dua Bintang
Villa Dua Bintang
#1 of 24 in Munduk
193 reviews
0.2 km away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 24 in Munduk
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bali Rahayu Homestay
Bali Rahayu Homestay
#3 of 24 in Munduk
112 reviews
0.1 km away
Made Oka Homestay and Warung
3.7 km away
Atres Villa Homestay
Atres Villa Homestay
#4 of 28 in Munduk
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Alam Bali Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Alam Bali Bungalows

Address: Munduk, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Munduk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Munduk
Price Range: ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 3,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Puri Alam Bali Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Alam Bali Bungalows Munduk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing