We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
25
48
30
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
48
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolbeautiful viewthe main roadtoiletdampsignalwalkstaxisvillagewaterfallhomestaysmap
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Munduk was a charming little small mountain village set in a sloping hill road in North Bali. The key attractions are treks to a couple of magnificent waterfalls (nothing very big, just nice and respectably high with a very nice spray when you stand at its base).

We stayed at the Puri Alam for a couple of nights. First, the good points:
1) the view from our room (#2) was really good - across the valley and trees and padi field terraces

Next, the bad points:
1) the room was dingy with a musty smell
2) insects were a real problem. the bungalow was a drafty attap structure with plenty of gaps for the insects to get through - moths, mosquitoes and cockroaches. I took off my blanket after a shower and found a cockroach on it!
3) the sheets and pillowcases felt grimy. We insisted they changed these but they still felt bad. My better half had some rashes the morning after

All in - if you're looking for cheap(er) accom with a great view - you might try them. But frankly Indra Puri bungalows across the road looked much better (and had a great restaurant) but for more $. Else, try One Home homestay - its basic but cost a third of what Puri Alam cost.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The price is good, the view is really amazing and the water is hot. But the breakfast is far from being sufficient and the room really smell funny. So this hotel is ok for 1 or 2 nights, just like we did, but no more.
I would advise to book another hotel, one is just across the road and really seems nice - We tasted food and service and they just were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caramia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked a room in this hotel a day in advance but when we arrived the room was taken. The lady who received my call had my number in her cellphone, yet she looked into my eye and lied that she doesn't know what i'm talking about. They sent us to another place picked us up next day when the room vacated. Still it was all worth it because of this awesome view to the valley below from the room! The room was quite decent, good value for the price, had a mosquito net and a balcony. The toilet stank though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

When booking this hotel I was thinking, this place will be great as it out in the middle of no where. But once we arrived we realized that without a car you really are stuck and the hotel is not all that great for hanging out.
The room was large but everything had a musty smell. You could not turn off the balcony light so it always seemed a bit bright when trying to sleep.
The restaurant was below par, breakfasts were ok but nothing special. We ate dinner there once and we could not order have the items on the menu because they did not have them. The food we ended up getting tasted more like a microwave meal then anything else and the ice cream tasted like it had been in the freezer for a few years. For the amount that you pay there are much better options on the island. We realized booking online you really get over charged. It's probably best to only book your first night in Bali and then find other places in the areas that you want to stay. Driving around even 30km took well over an hour as the roads are very busy and mostly under construction.
The hotel does offer a pick up service from Ubud but they did not come to get us one night so we had to take a cab back. I think I remember reading on the web site that this hotel was only 15 min drive from Ubud, but don't let that fool you it's at least 30 minutes when there is barely any traffic. Also if you are going to pay with credit card they will charge you an extra 3%. One other thing to note, if you thought it would be a good idea to take the hotel bikes please beware, biking around the area is not fun at all just full of traffic and garbage filled streets, plus the bikes are just about ready too fall apart.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s1shap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We had a pretty pleasant stay here – for 5 nights. Puri Alum bungalows is fine – it's not great but it is good enough. The place feels a bit damp around the edges but in October, the whole of Munduk is like that. The room was good – we had a nice little terrace with amazing views over the clove plantations and rice paddies. The shower was proper hot. The food in the restaurant is OK – breakfast is perhaps a little underwhelming. We had reasonable soups up there at other times but other dishes were nothing special. There's a very nice Warung about 20 yards away down the road on the opposite side – called something like Akam Roots Experience or somesuch. It has a short menu but almost everything we had there was very good – and you can watch family life going on around you.

Back to the Bungalows – the staff were pretty good though sometimes the smile needs a little warming up. We used them to hire a scooter and get transport on to Ubud and they were fine. We also used them to arrange a guide for a couple of half-day treks – ask for Putu – his English is good and he knows a lot about the area.

All in all, if you're looking for budgetish accommodation in Munduk, then this place will do just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews