We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You need to stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Terrific hosts, home is in beautiful shape and our rooms were just terrific. Breakfast was home cooked and very nice. Truman library and home within a short drive---would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First off, I would recommend anyone visiting Kansas City and Independence to stay in Independence in lieu of the city. Secondly, I would definitely recommend staying at the Hawthorn. We loved everything about our stay at Hawthorn, and we loved the small town charm of Independence. We stayed in the Gallagher room, which was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, both the food and the service. Jim and Wendy clearly take a lot of pride and enjoyment from running the B&B. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lintellectual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hawthorn B&B over a weekend in December. Every space in the property was beautifully decorated for Christmas; there was even a small, lighted Christmas tree in our room. The property is well maintained, and the owners are extremely pleasant and helpful w/ directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. We attended a Chiefs game during our stay (Arrowhead Stadium is close by), and the owners told us how to get there using surface streets and even where to park in order to get away easily, and it worked! If you're not going to a Chiefs game, the location in Independence isn't as ideal, but you will pay more $$$ to stay in a nice property like this closer to downtown Kansas City.

Our room (Gallagher) was spacious, clean, and comfortable, though the decor was a bit dated. The bathroom was somewhat small, but acceptable. I wish the fireplace were still functional, but I understand why it's not. There was free WiFi, as well as complimentary snacks and sodas on the landing upstairs. The breakfast food was very good (though admittedly not amazing) -- fresh fruit salad w/ yogurt to start, fresh-baked muffins, and usually an omelette or pancakes (w/ sausage or bacon).

The only slight downside was that there was a wedding reception downstairs one evening during our stay. We were able to enter and leave via the side door, but it was a little awkward because we didn't want to disturb the party. Many B&Bs require wedding parties to rent out the entire house, but the Hawthorn apparently does not have such a requirement. However, the wedding reception wasn't as annoying as I thought it would be when we found out about it.

Overall, I highly recommend the Hawthorn, particularly because it's such a great value. You get a lot for your money, and no real disappointments!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashintonDCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorn Bed & Breakfast on New Year's Eve, 2011, along with another couple. Our stay was very pleasant and relaxing. We stayed in the Gillmor Room, it was nicely decorated and quite comfortable.

The entire house was decorated for Christmas, very tastefully done, the house looked like a Christmas wonderland.

Jim and Wendy are terrific hosts. They make you feel welcome and at ease. The breakfast we were served on New Year's day was delicious, as always. This was our third stay at the Hawthorn and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waldopepperpeculiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed at The Hawthorn House for 4 nights with 2 other couples on a friends get away. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are very spacious and clean, and the breakfasts were wonderful. The only problem we had with it was the whole time we were there they had so many events planned (wedding, luncheons, and dinners) that we felt we didn't get the B and B experience. The common area rooms were always full of people for their events, and they were always getting ready for the next one. We got the impression they were more interested in their events than they were their guests. This was a disappointment. Since we booked our rooms 6 months in advance, we shouldn't have felt like we were in the way. Other than that, it was fine. We stay at B and B's all over the country and this was the first time we had that experience. If you don't want the typical personal B and B, than this place is for you. If you are going to be gone all the time and only back to sleep it will work for you, but if you want to enjoy all that you are paying for you may be disappointed.

They were very nice people, just very busy with other things.

Room Tip: we had the Evans, Gallager, and Gilmore rooms. All were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrychristmaseggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
12.5 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.3 km away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
12.4 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
31.7 km away
Inn on Crescent Lake
Inn on Crescent Lake
#1 of 2 in Excelsior Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Hawthorne Pl, Independence, MO 64052-1966
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,013 - ₹ 14,529
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 19th century stone mansion meticulously renovated and opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 2000. Relax in the comfort and privacy of this beautiful estate and savor the gourmet cuisine. Extra large guestrooms, exquisitely decorated, all with private baths, cable TV, wireless internet, individual heat & air-conditioning and full complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing