We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Independence B&B and Inns
indpendence, missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I called the business to find out the availability for a night. I asked whether or not they had a hottub, the lady (who claimed she owns the bed and breakfast) replied by saying I should call around to another place.. there was no room for people like me there? what is that suppose to mean... and hung up on me.... so very rude needless to say I did call around and found another place which was awesome... I will NEVER call this place back nor recommend it to another take her advice before calling and call somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Call and find another place there are better ones around and for less with highly quality..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    1
    1
    10
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

If you want to stay really close to the historical sites and experience true history, the Serendipity B&B will offer you that. We thourouly enjoyed our stay and would return to visit again. Be sure to ask for the tour of the house from Susan and Doug and ride in the 1927 Buick. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We hated this place but stayed for 3 nights because we had pre paid. The pre payment policy should have been a clue to avoid staying here. We did talk with another couple at breakfast who decided they would move on to a hotel and forfeit their pre payment. In hindsight, we should have cut our losses and just left also. The breakfast food was inedible and we pushed it around on our plates but could not eat it. It was awful. We had stayed at many B&B's previously and always had satisfactory breakfasts until this place. Probably many people never try the breakfast twice, because she had a note to let her know if we did not want the daily breakfast. It sounded like this happens often and no wonder. We had thought we could save money by having breakfast included and also by cooking other meals in our "suite". Instead, we ate all our meals out because we hated the suite. It was overloaded with clutter and the kitchen was outdated and horrible. The decor was definitely garage sale specials, all mismatched. It was depressing and we spent as little time in it as possible. The hostess was cold and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cristaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I was at first sight intrigued by this place but intrigue quickly turned to dismay when we were handed the keys to our room and opened the door. The mustiness in our room, was so strong that we were almost sickened by the odor. We had pre-paid for the rooms and were told that there would be no refund, only a credit given. So we had no choice but to stay. We had to buy candles to light to mask the smells! The room, and the entire Inn was stuffed with antiques filling every shelf, every tabletop, even every window. Bed sheets were clean as were bath towels but I believe they were purchased at garage sales as nothing matched.

The breakfasts were inedible. A good quiche is not that hard to make but the one we were served was disgusting, with a gummy texture. After the first morning there, I refused to eat there again so we went out for our meal. Thankfully we were scheduled to stay there for only two days! My husband said that he kept expecting Norman Bates (from Psycho) to show up because the place was so creepy! We will never, ever stay there again and wish to warn everyone not to stay there. The online search for bed and breakfasts in Independence led us to believe that this would be charming. IT WAS NOT!

I also found the owner to be very cold, not at all warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in one of the Carriage house suites in July 2009. We stood on the front porch for about 10 minutes ringing the bell and eventually had to call to get the innkeeper to come to the front door. This occurred despite the fact that we arrived at the time directed by the innkeeper in the literature we were sent. We were asked to sign the credit card slip before even being shown the room.
The property is best suited to those who do not mind a great deal of Victorian clutter in their rooms. The carriage house rooms are dated, and there are very few dishes and pans to do any actual cooking despite the website and brochures claims of a fully equipped kitchen. Many of the dishes and utensils that were there looked as if they had not been used or washed in many years. The fridge is full sized which is a nice feature, but it was half filled with store brand pop which was pretty bad.
The breakfast here was without a doubt the very worst we have ever had at any Bed and Breakfast. All four of the B and B's we stayed at in MO served some type of quiche. Most were tasty but the one at Serendipity was inedible. She claimed it was made with cheese and ham. This is not at all accurate - it is made with some kind of fake meat from a can, apparently "Spam" or something similar, with a very strange "flavor" and "texture" probably because it was "stretched" with bread crumbs. It was very, very nasty!! The "fruit" was canned peaches soaked in grape or prune juice . This was also inedible. There was all kinds of fresh fruit in season - to serve this and call it fruit is an insult. Thankfully, there were blueberry muffins -probably made from a commercial mix like "Jiffy" but at least they were edible. For the price charged, ($95 per night for two people) the food was truly terrible. Most continental hotel breakfasts are better! To portray it as "real" quiche and fresh fruit is ridiculous. This is a cheap, cut rate meal and guests certainly have no input into either the timing or content of breakfast.
We also didn't get to see the old Buick which was the big draw for us. It was in the garage, surrounded by stuff, and it was too much trouble to let us see it, let alone ride in it.
The main house has some bed and breakfast rooms but is definitely not open to guests except to come in long enough to eat breakfast and leave. There were very definite signs on the front door instructing guests not to come inside. There are also little signs on many items in the Carriage house rooms. Some are informative but the overall impression is that the innkeeper wants to talk to and interact with guests as little as possible and prefers this approach. The most positive thing about this place is that it is close to the Truman sights in Independence and does have nice gardens. Drive by to see the gardens but don't waste your money on staying here unless you have a cast iron stomach and enjoy Victorian excess!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank versavendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
0.3 km away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#3 of 18 in Independence
234 reviews
5.0 km away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
473 reviews
8.8 km away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#4 of 18 in Independence
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
4.9 km away
Super 8 Independence Kansas City
6.4 km away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Address: 116 S Pleasant, Independence, MO 64050-3605
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing