We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time lucky”
Review of Legian Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legian Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth (Coogee)
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Third time lucky”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived early and once again service was fantastic, straight into our room. Keeping up to date with whats going on in this hotel with renovations they are coming together very nicely. With this inconvenience you are given a complementry dinner every evening and with this I know that the people who have stayed there at this time will be back due to the freshness and selection.We being there twice before this time with two teenage boys were not dissapointed with hotel, staff cleaness or noise. The three times we have stayed now we would not go anywhere else value for money, never to busy where you cant find a deck chair to lay on breakfast great, gardens so tranquil with that Bali feel. Looking forward to seeing the renovations finished with more to offer, only problem is I know that little secret piece of paradise will get alot more busy and will give other hotels a run for there money.

Room Tip: More space in superior family rooms ground floor. Rm 153 fantastic with extra bathroom in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxysPerth_Coogee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear oxysPerth_Coogee,

Warm sunny greetings from Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for returning to us.

I am glad that your returning stay was enjoyable and pleased that you have witnessed the current upgrades that we are doing to refresh the entire property, without losing the traditional Balinese feel and atmosphere.

Whenever your next holiday schedule is due, please feel free to let me know and i will be more than happy to make required arrangement.

Once again, thank you and may we all wish you a wonderful time ahead.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    783
    243
    109
    72
See reviews for
640
992
79
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

First time in legian the hotel is ok but lacking the finishing touches staff are fantastic very warm and helpful. Rooms look good but the bathrooms are getting old towels are old and hard on the skin .....if you not looking at staying in the hotel much it's not to bad for the price. They r doing work on the resturant so we got free dinner we only eat once as it was very average and to tell the truth it's so cheap to eat out in Bali
Next time will look at the Padma it just down the road and it's lot better ...yes it cost more but it has everything we r looking for

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for queen or king as they gave us 2 singles when we booked also don't get a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Edcarter,

Sunny greetings from us all and thank you for staying and giving us your reviews, which we much appreciate.

Thank you for your recognition and I understand from what you have written that we have not impressed you fully this time and I personally look forward to having you again with us especially after all the upgrades are completed, where you can fully experience Legian Beach Hotel touches.

When that is due, please feel free to let me know, until then I remain.

Thank you once again.


Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was our third time in Bali and our 5th wedding anniversary. The hotel is situated in Legian near the beach and shopping. Due to the renovations, the management upgrated us to the pool bungalow with a spacious room, pool and a friendly roomboy.
We had breakfast in the hotel only once, after our first experience in their restaurant we decided to eat outside the hotel...
Yes there were noisy constructions but did not spoil our heavenly stay (we haven't spend much time inside the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjohns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

this was our first hotel stay in bali about 14yrs ago my husband and i went for our 7yr wedding anniversary it was beautiful, felt very spoilt but we were over whelmed with the locals when we came out of the gate but back then it was pretty bad with the harassment, how things have changed now, we haven't been back there though as i have now tried many different hotel stays in bali but i always re-visit and go threw the the hotel just to see and it still looks amazing even today, this hotel is always quite expensive to stay at now, plus i like to stay more South Kuta end. You will not be disappointed with this hotel very luxury and nice

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Suzzie Q,

A traditional Legian greeting to you and thank you for your kind review.

My introduction to you as the new General Manager of the hotel since July 2010 and I sincerely hope that I can meet you in person when you are next in Bali, please drop by so that I can personally introduce myself.

Indeed, we have upgraded the hotel, but will never lose the traditional feel and atmosphere of Bali, for what we are here and known for.

Thank you once again and till our meeting.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

There are plenty of reviews stating in detail about the quality and location of the hotel -- right on the beach, though slightly strange to get to by car, etc. because of the one way streets in that area; nice, warm pool open late; etc. Overall, it is nice looking hotel, and definitely has many signs of luxury.

HOWEVER, on several occasions the gentlemen working the front desk were dishonest. If you've spent any time in Bali you'll learn that the taxi company people trust is Blue Bird Group. The locals all know this, it's discussed in guide books, etc. We aren't talking about a huge difference in money, but Blue Bird is what you want to take (the dishonest cab drivers try to look like Blue Bird by copying the look of Blue Bird cabs, etc.). There is 0% chance that the people working at the hotel do not know about this. Despite that they consistently called the less honest companies (which then tried to charge almost double what Blue Bird would charge). Even when specifically asked to call Blue Bird they tried to call another company and say it was Blue Bird. Again, I know the difference after just a short time in Bali. I asked about this, and he said it sometimes happens at hotels because of the kick back the hotel receives. I don't know that this is the case here, but regardless the good taxis were not called unless requested multiple times.

Separately, when the hotel was asked to set up a private driver, the gentleman working at the hotel at first quoted at a price much higher than the typical price for that distance.

Again, most of the time this is not a huge price difference, especially for short cab rides where it is quite small in the scheme of things. But it is still worth mentioning because this is not the sort of service you expect from a higher end hotel, which is how they market themselves. Also, there are a lot of people working really hard to make it in Bali, and I don't like supporting the small number of dishonest people.

I think this is just a small subset of individuals, and it doesn't take away the other qualities of the hotel, but if you can't trust your hotel, that's a bad sign.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-LBH, General Manager at Legian Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear EP99,


Warm greetings from Legian Beach Hotel and thank you for staying with us.

With much regret to learn of your experience with the taxi and truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. If you have clearly said Blue Bird (others often only said blue taxi) and it was not Blue Bird called, I apologize for the failure of our staff in executing your simple request.

Let me assure you, however, that our hotel does not receive any kickback from any taxi company in Bali as this is against our business ethic policy, and if any of our employee is proven to do so, he/she will have a serious administrative sanction.

In our hotel, as you may have seen, there is a tour counter and indeed the prices they have are slightly higher than those outside. These go with quality of the vehicles, driver, safety, legal license and requirement, etc. Other hotels will also apply the same and I will be very surprised if any hotel can give you the same or lower transportation rates than those outside.

Please feel free to write me personally should you have more concerns regarding this case and i will be more than happy to provide you with more information.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we all hope to see you again.

Legian Regards,

Arif Billah
General Manager
LEGIAN BEACH HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.4 km away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,576 reviews
0.2 km away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.4 km away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legian Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Beach Hotel

Property: Legian Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian, Kuta 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#12 Spa Hotel in Legian
#16 Family Hotel in Legian
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,765 - ₹ 17,525
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legian Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located absolute beachfront, with a wide range of facilities and leisure options, Legian Beach Hotel embraces families, honeymooners and business travelers. The 118 single-story cottages and 100 guest rooms, including 23 family rooms and 5 rooms that cater for disabled travelers, are set amid a landscaped tropical oasis dotted with coconut palms, shady trees, and sweet-scented flowers. The traditional architecture utilizes local materials from Bali and neighboring Indonesian islands, red tiled roofs merge with romantic alang alang thatch, while breezy, lazy gazebos melt into the natural beauty. The vista of the dramatic coastline and the rolling surf is spectacular, while the fiery sunsets viewed from here are the best in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legian Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing