We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, bad service”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice room, bad service”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Positive :
- The room was basic but clean and modern. The shower was good, nice and roomy.
- Area modern and fresh.
- Nice view from the tower, shame no one really made the most of it.

Negative:
- Tucked down a back lane so don’t expect on door drop off.
- No lights along the back lanes heading to the hotel so can be a bit scary
- Breakfast – We just stuck to the basic jam on toast, with fruit. All though this was nice. The staff wasn’t very impressed that we didn’t order more.
- Receptionist seemed to have a bit of an attitude, like she didn’t want to be there, felt like I was putting her out by asking the simplest questions.
- Forget about the complementary massage. I was advised that the massage lady only does one person at a time, is only limited to a few hours at the beginning of the day, and you have to put your name down on the board to get a spot. I was told I would have to wait down stairs at 7:30am in the hope to get a spot for a massage, that may not be until midday. I did go to look at the board nearly every morning, but always found it completely full.

Not the best way to end our holiday

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    84
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
43
112
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After 2weeks of staying in very questionble accommodation I was looking for somewhere nice to relax for a few days in Bali. I read about the Island on trip adviser and decided to book 3nights in the dorm.Best decision of my whole holiday! It was a 12 bed dorm so i was a bit anxious about noise cleanliness etc. No need to worry at all..the room was huge and so clean. The beds were the most spacious comfortable clean bunk beds ive ever seen. The shared bathroom was always spotless. The pool area is very nice. The free breakfast was so tasty and all the food on the cafe menu was amazing freshly made tasty and reasonably priced. The location is great so close to the action but just back far enough to avoid the noise! All the staff were friendly and helpful all the time. I booked 3 nights ended up staying for 8! And after travelling around Bali I stayed 1 more night before I left the country. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carltonblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After reading so wonderful reviews about this hotel, my boyfriend and I decided to choose The Island for our stay of 3 nights at Bali. However we found it really disappointing.
First of all, when we arrived at 1am the man of security told us the hotel was full and our booking wasn't registered. Fortunately, he found the reservation and it was just a little scare. However during the 10 minutes of uncertainty, no solution was offered to this situation, really unpleasant.
Secondly, we were given a different type of room from the one we booked, in addition quite dirty, small, with grey towels and the air con did not work. The room was located at the front side of the swimming pool, where people at night talk and you can hear absolutely everything at 3 in the morning.
After this situation we decided to check out and look for another hotel. Fortunately, the nice girl at the reception was really kind and helpful. In fact, she was the only positive thing we got from the Island hotel.
Maybe we did not have luck, but for the same price we had a really nice stay in other hotel just around the corner.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
The Island Hotel appreciates all feedback and is constantly striving to improve our service to guests. Sometimes circumstances can bring about an unsatisfactory outcome regardless of efforts to the contrary. Any criticism is taken seriously and will be given due consideration by management to ensure negative experiences are kept to a minimum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Before I depart to Bali, I'm just booked for one night since my flight will arrived in late night and I need somewhere to stay. My friend highly recommended to me on this hotel. So I'm just like why not?!. And yes, this is really good place to stay! So everyday, I'm just keep extended until 6 days in my trip! If you're just simply looking for a cheap dorm, this is not for you. However, if you're looking for further quality than just a normal guest house or a hostels, this is ur heaven! Highly recommended to all you travellers!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinnami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Room: deluxe loft on top floor, the hotel provides a DVD player & movie in each room which was a nice touch.

Brekkie: complimentary breakfast includes 3 of the following: sourdough toast with honey, butter & a gourmet papaya fig jam, fresh cut fruits and/or tea/coffee/fresh juice. I had the blended papaya lime juice everyday, refreshing & delish!

Overall, i found the staff very down to earth and helpful, the location is few mins. walk from main road & short stroll to legian beach!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixTigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 km away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 86 in Legian
1,138 reviews
0.2 km away
All Seasons Legian Bali
1.4 km away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 86 in Legian
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 86 in Legian
5,498 reviews
3.3 km away
M Boutique Hostel
M Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in Kerobokan
383 reviews
2.5 km away
H-ostel
H-ostel
#3 of 206 in Kuta
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Legian
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,033 - ₹ 2,261
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing