We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooking class with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Asli Restaurant

Bali Asli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30 minutes from Candidasa village, and 30 minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali's most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it's people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour's garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on "a day in the life of..." every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking class with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Out of my 10 days in Bali, the time spent at Bali Asli was my favourite. The view is spectacular, the cooking class and resulting food was fun and delicious. Simple recipes that I can make on my own at home. Owner and head chef Penny was delightful and knowledgeable about Balinese culture and food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bali Asli Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Louise E.
Im so glad to hear the your Bali Asli culinary adventure was the best one out of your 10 days in Bali. Wow! thanks very much!
live life, eat well,
Penelope Williams
and the Bali Asli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    52
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Penny and Kummang put in a huge amount of effort to make learning about the authentic cuisine and how to prepare it easy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“If you get the chance make sure you visit this place...words dont do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Penny and her team were awesome. We did a cooking class and was one of the best things I have ever done. Penny is of a pure heart & inspiring! The views, the food can honestly say was the best meal this trip in paradise...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bali Asli Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Bec888,
Thank you for the great review. Im glad to hear that your Bali Asli adventure was the best of your holiday. Thank you very much

live life, eat well
Penelope Williams
and the Bali Asli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Bali Asli cooking School”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I went to the cooking school at Bali Asli as a friend was going. I was not really into cooking, but Penny was so informative and enthusiastic I was so interested I now do more in the kitchen! The trip to the market to buy fresh ingredients was great and I learnt so much, despite being to Bali many times before. Penny uses local ingredients and turns out great authentic dishes.The cooking school was so much fun, and as a non cook I was still able to turn out great dishes. I would highly recommend the cooking school to all, keen cooks and anyone not. It was great value for the money, and all that went enjoyed the experience immensely. Well worth going! The view was magnificent. Penny has one of the best in Bali.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toucan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bali Asli Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Toucan49,
Im so pleased to hear that I was able to inspire a "not really into cooking man"! enjoy your new skills and have fun.
live life, eat well,
Penelope Williams
and the Bali Asli team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“MORE THAN A COOKING EXPERIENCE Sally Vic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Penny tailored a 3 day cooking experience for our group of 6 keen cooks.It was much more than cooking!Each day incorporated a new experience/a market visit to buy the sessions supplies/a walk to an authentic village where we observed the women cooking in smoke filled kitchens & a fishing trip.Bali Asli is a professional set up, the staff hanging on every word Penny utters, they really are enthusiastic.Penny was delightful & made our days at Asli most memorable.The setting overlooking the paddy fields & Mt Agung is special.Thankyou everyone

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bali Asli Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear SAlly S,
Im happy to hear that you and the girls enjoyed your Bali Asli culinary 3 day adventure. I look forwards to seeing you next time your in Bali.
live life, eat well
Penelope Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bali Asli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bali Asli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing