We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$184
View deal
Booking.com
$167
View deal
Trip.com
$152
View deal
Hotels.com$184
Travelocity$184
Orbitz.com$184
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
381
92
28
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
381
92
28
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury villa stunning views sunrise ocean ubud dive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Located at Amed at the east coast of Bali close to the volcano Mount Agung this resort is situated a bit away from the big tourist area in the south of the island. The villas are just fantastic with excellent sea views, and very low prices for what you get for your money. Each villa has a sleeping part and a separate daytime area with glass doors that you can put totally open to get some fresh breeze and step directly into the big, clean pool with circulating freshwater, always nicely cool.
The villas are of such high standard so I guess the price for a room would be two three times higher if the resort was situated in the more popular tourist areas of the south of Bali.
There is only one restaurant, serving a mix of balinese and western food at relatively low prices. Try “catch of the day”, usually Mahi-mahi, always very delicious.
There is happy hour with good drinks and most evenings some kind of entertainment, live music or a movie.
The staff at the hotel is nice and friendly, they will always meet you with a smile. There is also a very good spa with affordable prices.
There are not so many bars in the area but there are some small restaurants with tasty food where westerners usually meet, and also a lot of good places for diving and snorkelling which actually is what most people are doing when they visit the area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Liketotravelinwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, PR-johtaja at The Griya Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your spa treatments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again !

- The Griya Villas and spa - Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

When I booked this hotel, I wasn’t sure as I’ve never been to Amed before and there didn’t seem to be many options. Griya is up on a hill with a stunning view of ocean and mountains.

I was given a two bed villa while I booked one bed and second room was kept lock.

The rooms were comfortable and nicely done. The living room was large and absolutely amazing with beautiful views.

The food was good for a hotel in remote location. Cheese platter was amazing.

A couple of tips.

Don’t book outdoor spa rooms as it can get really hot, that’s one mistake I made while I was given option for both.

I had blinds on one window in master bed where I can suggest a blackout curtain for very sunny early morning.

Overall my stay was wonderful!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Qthewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Social Media Manager at The Griya Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave us this amazing review.

The team here in Amed is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as your food at our restaurants.

Also, thank you for sharing these pictures. they're all so beautiful !

We are looking forward to your next visit with us.

- Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

Lovely stay at the Griya over Nyepi! The resort kindly gave us a 2-bedroom villa (with the other room locked of course) so we had a bigger pool and nicer view, plus an outdoor jacuzzi wow!

Pros:
- very delicious, filling breakfast! (Nasi Padang and Soto Ayam were one of the best we had in Bali)
- great restaurant we returned to almost every night even after check out. Great ambience, great food!
- very clean living area, dining area and bedroom itself. Not easy considering how outdoor the place is with lots of insects and millipedes right outside the villa.
- top-notch service from reception during the few days we were there(nyepi period)! I feel bad that I didn’t get his name, but he went all out with great service! From making calls and liaising with others to get me medicine from the already closed apotek (so, so thankful!!) to buggying us over to our nearby resort upon check out, nothing wasn’t possible for him! Thank you!!!

Cons:
- dining area/living room/tv were all separate from the bedroom/toilet. Plus it was pouring during the period we went so going from the living room to the toilet was quite a hassle
- television was very grainy with poor reception, really weird considering the other top notch quality stuff in the villa?!
- the one hour massage was so-so and forgettable. emerald treatment was quite puzzling with the masseurs themselves not really able to explain how it works as well? But I got the emerald treatment complimentary out of goodwill from the resort (since I didn’t book direct) so no complains there!

All in all, def the best quality resort you can get in Amed and we can safely say we made a rest choice coming here. Thank you, Griya!

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank christinemjhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Social Media Manager at The Griya Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Griya Villas and Spa and writing this review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as your breakfast at our restaurant Safka. The breakfast truly is delicious :P

We are sorry to hear about the hassle as a result of the poor weather conditions.


Thank you again for taking time to write this review and staying with us.

We hope to see you again soon !

- Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

A long overdue review, didn’t get around to write a review on this beautiful place.

Private pool overlooking the ocean was the highlight of our stay. The hotel restaurants offer decent menu at a reasonable price.

Staff were lovely and helpful. We did sunrise fishing boat activity organised by the hotel and it was one of the best thing we did in Bali. Highly recommend it to anyone and so worth the effort of getting up early (picked up at 5:15).

The only criticism would be the bed linen had moldy smell. We did ask for linen change to see if it would be any different but they all had the same smell. It shouldn’t be an issue unless you are easily irritated by odd smells.

Bathroom was a bit dark but during the day the sun light brightens up the area.

We had a couple massage and spa and it was lovely. Very good massage and the treatment area is also beautiful. Price was reasonable. The only criticism would be no AC in the treatment room so it can get quite stuffy and hot at times despite a fan but once you are finished you can cool down in your pool!

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank asiandub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Perfect hotel with very friendly staff and very clean villas with amazing view and very good breakfast and delicious dinner and the pool in the villa very nice but far from the airport and the downtown

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hesham_a_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Social Media Manager at The Griya Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and writing a review. You're right, the dinner is absolutely delicious here in our restaurant Safka :)

We hope to see you again soon !

- Ilona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews