We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”
Review of Indien Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indien Hermitage
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The hotel offers a a swimming pool, restaurant and bar serving multi cuisine.
Internet and money exchange facilities were unique in this place.

Safe deposit lockers (additional cost) are available. which was a very good service.

The food was ok and i cant find any big negatives.Would recommend for a peaceful stay and relax

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justrockz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2009

During our recent holidays in Southern India we stayed in Hotel Indien Hermitage, Kanyakumari.

The hotel is about 14 km from Kanyakumari town and is located in a serene village called Marungoor.

Reaching to Indien Hermitage was a challenge to us as it is situated quite inside the village and due to language problem we drove around about 2 hours in finding the right direction that too when hotel staff politely and patiently kept guiding us on phone.

We were frustrated but the hotel owner Mr S Raju with his manager received us at the hotel gate itself and made us feel comfortable before shifting us to our cottage.

The hotel is surrounded by hills and trees. Our cottage was very neat and clean with all the comforts. All the cottages have wide windows on both sides of the rooms overlooking scenic surroundings. Bathrooms are also big and neat.

The BEST PART of this hotel is its huge and well maintained swimming pool. Though the facilities for lounging around it were missing!

All seemed ok about this hotel except the food it served. They badly need a good cook and should offer local cuisines in which they are expert instead of trying their hands on north indian dishes which was a total fiasco.

We informed them about this and the other minor improvements the hotel requires in its service and maintenance area.

To our delight Mr. S raju and his manager took our feedback in a very positive manner and promised us to work on it. Mr S. raju also apologized for any discomfort we faced during our stay. We wished him good luck as we really liked the man's attitude and willingness to make his customers feel at home.

Overall, i would recommend this hotel to all the people who love serenity and want to spend some peaceful moments with nature away from city life's hustle bustle..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene_J_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I booked this hotel, after reading good reviews and mistakenly believed it was in Kanyakumari, but in fact it is 15km before you reach there, so not convenient if you wish to witness the sunrise over the tip of India.
The rooms were very spacious clean and nicely presented. TV was not connected, but not necessary for us. Nice new A/C system and fans. The pools is beautiful and very scenic with the huge mountains behind you.
The food was average, the guys serving were working on the generator one minute and serving your food in the kitchen the next. The welcome reception area also very un-organised, and it took 15 minutes to check out, because no one knew which book to use. We only had to pay for dinner from the night before.
Dogs were running around the dining area (which is outside - an extension of reception area) whilst we were having dinner and the other male workers were watching the TV set up on the desk.
To give it some credit, we visited the end of September not quite in full swing of season (two other guests only - and the others in the pool turned out to be the locals) It is a beautiful quiet location, out of the way if this is what is required, with nice rooms and pool. Food and service leaves a bit to be desired, but hope they improve as the impending season starts. I look forward to reading a future review.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JHarrisonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

The Indien Hermitage is a small very nice place with an amazing swimming pool and incredible views!!
At the beginning we thought it was just a quiet and pleasant place to spend some days...after a couple of days we founded some very interesting spots just around the corner of the hotel. They offer the car rental facility but if you are a bit adventurous you can just take aa motorbike and go around. There are some not too busy roads around and it is defenetly worth it to explore the region...lots of hidden treasures there!!
The owner is very nice and helpful and the food has this 'homecooking' flavour!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank camilajordi1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0 km away
The Seashore Hotel
The Seashore Hotel
#5 of 31 in Kanyakumari
259 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 31 in Kanyakumari
342 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#9 of 31 in Kanyakumari
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0 km away
Hotel Singaar International
Hotel Singaar International
#15 of 31 in Kanyakumari
248 reviews
0 km away
New Cape Hotel
New Cape Hotel
#8 of 31 in Kanyakumari
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indien Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indien Hermitage

Address: Marungoor Village,, Kanyakumari 629402, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari District > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price Range: ₹ 3,759 - ₹ 4,731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indien Hermitage 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful greenery and rocky mountains, in a quiet exclusive area, Indien Hermitage offers open spaces on all sides to enable guests to enjoy the cool breeze from all directions. The resort offers comfortable accommodation in well-furnished and well-appointed cottages. The in-house restaurant serves home cooking authentic South Indian delicacies. Recreational facilities include a swimming pool covering 6400sq ft. The resort has a magnificent location, close by interesting heritage temples, clear waterfalls and beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Indien Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indien Hermitage Hotel Kanyakumari
Indien Hermitage Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing