We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Singaar International
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Surat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Nightmare”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

No doubt the worst ever hotel I have stayed in my life and I have seen my share of bad hotels. First of all the staff who were mainly young teenage boys knew no English or Hindi did not understand anything we said. We checked into room 504 the view was nice but the room had really foul smell, my mother almost puked from the stench, we asked for a different room and so we moved to 506 where A/C made a humming noise. The bathroom of this room also smelled like the previous room and shockingly the wood around the mirror in the bathroom had fungus on it, there is no exhaust fan so the bathroom fogged up pretty fast and since no shower curtain soon the bathroom became a mini pool. Later we realized the smell may be due to a dead rat in the ceiling because we kept hearing a crawling noise in the ceiling all night long. The small lift often got stuck on 4th floor so i decided to take the stairs which were wet due to water overflowing from the service room on 3rd floor next to stairs. Then surprisingly our room only had extremely hot water, yes 'hot' water only in bathroom. The guy front desk sent to our room did not understand anything and when i told him about the problem you won't believe he brought hot water in bottle to our room which left us amused and angry. The food was okay but room service was hell. We has complimentary. dinner in our package but the guy at front desk said that we did not have any, we called our agent who told us to have dinner and he will deal with the situation in the morning When we were checking out even after making 3 calls nobody came to get our luggage which me and my mother had to take out ourselves to the car. Another stupid thing is the check out time is 8 am which is kind of early. There is a guy at front desk who has slight long messy type hairstyle who thinks he is a Bollywood star. Although he is the only person in the hotel who knew Hindi and English he was extremely rude, do not deal with him, if possible ask for Thrisha who was the only decent person i found in the hotel. I really doubt this is a star hotel and also some one should report them for child labor. Worst place ever DO NOT STAY HERE unless you are making a show about worst hotels in the world

Room Tip: Do not choose room 504 or 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    69
    44
    31
    48
See reviews for
107
49
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin NT Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel offers great promise when you arrive but from there on everything is downhill. It's touted as 3-4 star hotel but I have never stayed in a more filthy place. Everything in the rooms was either dusty or dirty or both. What could have been a splendid view of the most southern point of India was obscured by dirty and dusty windows.

Service at the front desk was OK but in the dining room was well below par. Food was alright but patchy in its delivery. Prices were on the high side but not too high. However, the overall dirtiness of the place means I would never want to stay there again

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilliputNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kanyakumari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed here for a couple of days it was awesome place to stay . Food s really awesome hope u guys enjoy . I completely dis agree with d negative comments . The view of d sea was really bind blowing .

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Arrived after a drive from Madurai. Shown to our room by staff who within seconds of plomping our bag down was trying to sell us same day tickets to the local attraction which was closed due to elections. We were told the room had a slim view of the ocean which it does but this across a backlot of cracked mirrors and other sundry detritis. The closet of a bathroom with its stained tub, kicked in door, unsilvered mirror ,wires hanging from the back of the television and from the telephone , damp plaster peeling from walls and ceiling were a few of the overwhelming features the room presented. As we were trying to assimilate this, that same staff unlocked our door and entered the room without knocking . This pattern was repeat by three young women dispensing coat hangers . Checkout 8 am. Needless to say we did not eat there . Our driver who was sleeping in his car probably had a better nights rest than we did.This is not a place that is much travelled by western tourists but if you do come here, stay at the Seaview.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The hotel is near to railway station. Beach, temple and boat jetty is around 1.5 kms away. Food quality was ok but the price is high. Overall the price is high for the hotel as per the facilities. Room service is not good. We ordered 4 items in food as room service and they brought first 2 items half an hr after order and other 2 after another half an hour.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dspswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.7 km away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.6 km away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
273 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Seaview
Hotel Seaview
#2 of 30 in Kanyakumari
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
#23 of 30 in Kanyakumari
290 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#8 of 30 in Kanyakumari
90 reviews
0.6 km away
Melody Park
Melody Park
#22 of 30 in Kanyakumari
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Singaar International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Singaar International

Property: Hotel Singaar International
Address: 5/22 Main Road, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari District > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,548 - ₹ 3,289
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Singaar International 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Singaar International is the very best and first Three Star Hotel in Kanyakumari, that covers six acres with panoramic views of Indian Ocean. It's prime location and superior facilities make it a premier choice for the domestic and international tourist and also for the business travelers . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EaseMyTrip, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Singaar International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singaar International Hotel
Hotel Singaar International Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing