We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room 111 Haunted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sparsa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sparsa Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room 111 Haunted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My mother and I stayed in Room 111 at this hotel for one night and during our stay we both experienced some strange happenings during the day and at midnight. When I was slapped on my leg, I knew I was not imagining it. It first started when I was in the toilet and felt a slight push forward off the seat. I didn't think much of it at the time, until it happened again in the room when I felt a finger jabbing into my thigh. When I told my mum, she said the same happened to her in the bathroom and also on the toilet seat. On checking out, we mentioned this incident at the reception and the gentleman behind the counter who just smiled it off. No question was asked or explanation given. My mum and I was then sure the room was haunted. If you do happen to be booked into Room 111, this is an advance warning that the room is haunted!! Take my word for it! This is coming from someone who never believe in ghost or spirits.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Hello_jools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    193
    81
    20
    16
See reviews for
230
113
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here right at the beginning of January. Looked great online. Location is OK, but the seaviews promised are lacking from all the groundfloor rooms, which is not clear from their website. It's on the seafront, but on a strip that taxis/rickshaws are banned from for much of the day, so difficult to get around. Rooms are OK, but ours was really grubby. Bedding was filthy - when we complained, we were told they'd had a big night the evening before (New Year's Eve) and there were no clean sheets. Finally got them changed after four different attempts. Some staff were brilliant - head of housekeeping was fantastic next morning when we finally spoke to him - but reception staff were lacklustre, and restaurant was very overstretched. The night we got there, there were people eating on their laps in the reception! For the prices they charge, this place should have been so much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_and_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've stayed in Kanyakumari several times and this is by far the best hotel there.
The rooms are large and clean, there is plenty of hot water, good a/c and fan, excellent views, good clean pool with loungers and shades, business centre and a well stocked bar,good food and pleasant helpful staff.
I'm not personally bothered that there is no Fridge, it means there is less noise at night and it's not heating up the room and using precious electricity with its output, they will supply ice.
Yes there was a lot of shifting of matresses during the afternoons but with vast Indian families all sharing one room it has to happen but ours was clean and comfortable.
The only downside is that the restaurant is not really large enough when the hotel is full so either get in early or you may have to take a second sitting.
Best value by a long way and should rate number one in Kanyakumari

Room Tip: Ask for sunset facing rooms with a door overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The hotel is about 5-10 minutes from the centre of town along the beach road. It is perched on a rise with a pleasant lawn in fron of it. The hotel is modern, well organised with friendly staff. Even though I had booked through an agency for 2 nights, they allowed me to change my booking dates on very short notice. They also made a phonecall for me to book my next hotel without charge.
The room was large, bright and clean with a good shower and a fashionable sink. The beds were comfortable and there was an abundance of lights. It also had an excellent TV.
Their restaurant had lots of variety with dishes from all over the country, and clearly a capable chef. The breads were superb. Breakfast included was good with very fresh and tasty idly, and other tiffin as well as 'western'. There was also a very pleasant bar.
My only criticism was that the swimming pool was too deep for my wife who can't swim. It is all 5 foot deep making it out of reach for short non-swimmers. Unusual for India. It was also rather cold.
Overall a terrific hotel for a good price. Clearly popular with lots of people and deservedly so.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

a new hotel in kanyakumari. A good location near cape comorin. spotless rooms, swiming pool, helpfull employees... a very good choice to rest quietly one or two days after having visited tamil nadu

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierreber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.9 km away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.8 km away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 km away
The Seashore Hotel
The Seashore Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#7 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 km away
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
#21 of 30 in Kanyakumari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Singaar International
Hotel Singaar International
#12 of 30 in Kanyakumari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparsa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparsa Resort

Property: Sparsa Resort
Address: #6/112 B Beach Road | Near Sunset Point, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,641 - ₹ 5,686
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sparsa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia and Yatra so you can book your Sparsa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparsa Resort Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing