We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Booking.com
$346
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$315
View deal
eDreams
$346
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,589)
Filter reviews
1,590 results
Traveller rating
1,061
323
104
47
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,061
323
104
47
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail tree house retractable roof off grid solar panels bird watching close to nature sunset point digital detox flora and fauna nature lovers birds chirping unique experience forest area complete privacy city life surrounded by trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,590 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2022

I was hoping to spend some quality time with my family on New year's eve and was looking for a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. The Machan was everything I wished for and a lot more. Having travelled extensively to many forest resorts all over the world, I can say with unwavering confidence that Machan has been the best so far. A perfect balance of rugged nature with the comfort and luxury of home.
We stayed in the Heritage Machan, which is the only Machan of it's kind in the entire property. The design and interiors are exquisite and offer a beautiful view of the forest and the valley. The interiors are rustic but elegant and in sync with the nature outside. This Machan was the first to be built in the property and used to be the home of Mr. Pavan Hooja, the brain behind the entire concept of creating a sustainable infrastructure in the woods. The decor comprises of many keepsakes and antiques which add to the homely vibe. The beds were super comfortable and we woke up to a 180 degree view of the forest. Through the glass panes we also spotted the magnificent Malabar Giant Squirrel (Shekru) which is the state animal of Maharashtra. However the best part about the Heritage Machan was the Crow's Nest. A narrow spiral staircase attached to the Machan leads you up to a platform where you can get a 360 degree view of the entite property and beyond.
We were extremely fortunate to meet Mr. Hooja and Mrs. Hooja. Mr. Hooja himself gave us a small tour of the place and educated us regarding the way he conserved and helped grow a once deforested farmland into a dense beautiful jungle. The staff were very courteous and went out of the way to make the overall experience better for us. They also surprised us with a bonfire organised exclusively for us. The spa was the cherry on the top, extremely relaxing. Ashraf, who guided us on the nature trails and bird and butterfly watching tours is a very knowledgeable botanist and flooded us with intriguing facts about the local trees, tribes, fauna and culture. We also participated in the daily Yoga session which totally rejuvenated us. Last but not the least was the food. It was absolutely lip-smacking. We had three equally sumptuous meals daily throughout our 3 days' stay.
I highly recommend Machan to everybody who wishes to enjoy some quality time amidst nature. Thanks a ton to the entire Machan team and Mr. and Mrs Hooja for being such amazing hosts and making our stay unforgettable. Hope to visit again soon..!!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
18  Thank DrNeelKotekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2022

Dear Dr Neel Kotekar,
Thank you for choosing the Machan and taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had an opportunity to feel relaxed and rejuvenated. In case you need another break from the city, please don’t hesitate to call us. We would love to have you as a guest at our resort again.
Have a great year ahead!
Regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022

We visited this place as it was an old desire of my family members, but could not got through the booking. This time we got through to celebrate a birthday in a family with calm atmosphere enjoying nature and privacy. Thanks.

Room tip: We stayed in Jungle room and it was excellent.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank Shankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2022

We are glad to hear that you had an amazing birthday, thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. We hope to host more celebrations for you soon. We hope to have you as our guests again soon and create more unforgettable memories.

Regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2021

This place is absolutely worth visiting. It has so intricately balanced amenities with the Nature. Very thoughtfully designed.. you will definitely feel connected with the Nature without compromising on facilities! An awesome place, very warm people, nice food and amazing ambience..

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
11  Thank Natureloverspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2022

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a unique and peaceful experience at our resort. We would love to host you as guests at our resort again soon. Hope your next stay is just around the corner.
Regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2021 via mobile

Amazing view, clean room, excellent facilities, extremely efficient staff. Machan is Amazing place to rewind and relax. Very good hospitality and great food. Thank you Machan Resorts Lonavala team for making our stay pleasant. We loved every moment of our stay❤️❤️❤️

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
10  Thank lijina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable honeymoon celebration. We are happy to hear that you had an opportunity to feel relaxed and rejuvenated. We look forward to celebrating more milestones with you soon.

Have a great year ahead!

Regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

One of the best place I have ever visited, friendly and supportive staff. Best place to run away from the hustle bustle city.

You can just relax with your loved ones without disturbance of phones.

Best place to visit!!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
9  Thank prasadsabnis19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashique Barua, Marketing at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you had a positive experience. Looking forward to hosting you again soon. If you’re traveling to Lonavala again soon, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Regards,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews