We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveller rating
1,013
314
99
47
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,013
314
99
47
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house nature trail retractable roof off grid solar panels bird watching close to nature sunset point flora and fauna digital detox unique experience birds chirping nature lovers complete privacy surrounded by trees city life western ghats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The machaan makes a poor effort at being a luxurious resort and no effort at being a tree house resort which it claims to be one. We stayed at the forest plus machaan number 5, and lucky us that we chose to stay just one night. The beds were squeaky, bathtubs unclean, bathrooms unclean (the one at the reception so bad that I had to wait until we got ours which wasn't clean too), kettle broken, unclean cups, and the list goes on. Forget covid protocols, wonder how they even do their basic cleaning if bathtubs bathrooms and cups themselves are so poorly maintained.
The reception being poor in responding to crisis that one can call them to fix something as basic as providing a functioning kettle, and be assured that after numerous calls and false promises like give me seven minutes, the problem will be fixed, hopefully, 2 hours later. The food quality poor except for the tandoori naan being exceptionally good. And yes, you need not pay for the internet because if you find the right spot in the machaan, you could get internet connection too (so much drama for digital detox!). At the time of booking, we were told that first machaan plus is the tallest machaan's only to be told at the reception at the time of check in that the plus resembles an extra bed in the room. At the property, no one knows where what is. When asked for directions for lunch, we were told just walk down and ask someone, and there was no one to be found to ask someone. We asked how do we go on the trail, we were told just walk towards forest machaan and ask someone. But who do we ask? Other guests. Forest machaan plus shares a wall with forest machaan 4 and lucky you if you have same guests as your neighbors as we did not. So much for quietness, and privacy, the machaan promises that you can hear your neighbors talk and walk in the next room, and jump about on the roof as well (forest plus machaan 5 has another forest machaan on top of it!). Haha! Yes, so much for being a tree house that you share spaces with others too! And to top it all, there is constant construction noise even on a mighty Sunday! Yes you read it right, there is an executive room being constructed whose construction noise is surely something you wouldn't miss (so much for running away from Mumbai construction!). They take a 3000 security deposit (which one is not informed to carry at the time of booking) for incidental damages. However, on reaching the room, a "piece of advice" says that if you do not vacate the room at 11am, late charges would be deducted from security deposit. Threatening works I guess. All in all. For 25000/night (inclusive of all meals) you can visit much more luxurious properties who do not falsely advertise and pretend to be what they are not.

Room tip: The resort itself is something you want to avoid.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank NatAgar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "NatAgar30",

I feel terribly sorry that you have this impression and apologise for the delay in service and other observations.

All the furniture are made inhouse and are maintained such, however if you would have called us we would have attended to the bed issue in a jiffy.

We have atleast 80 more guests dining the same food and sometimes its just a personal taste. We are very happy to adjust or customise as much as possible for you based on your taste.

We understand that this is not a structured Hotel building with boundaries and that there would be hotel staff around to show directions to guests. We have hence errected numerous direction signage inside the property. If our guests just follow them they will reach the desired place.

There all types of Machans available. Sometimes while you book, we may not have the one with your specific requirement. You are either given a choice of another date or a choice left to you to take a decision. However our reservation consultants do inform of the structure. All most all guests also come here for the peace & serenity and they do appreciate when we request them to lowerdown their volumes. incase of disturbances to others. If you would have told us of the disturbanses we could have got it addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best place to disconnect and rejuvenate. It was heaven on earth. Food was fresh and tasted fantastic. The atmosphere and facilities were great. The staff support and service was excellent! Highly recommended. It’s a very different experience from regular resorts and properties. If you really love to be in nature, a must visit. Starlight machan just left me speechless. Will visit again for sure.

Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aishwarya169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2021 via mobile

Machans was an amazing job xperience. The best part is you are fully literally disconnected with the outside world and you get to enjoy the scenic natual beauty spread across multi acre in a very raw style. The buffet they offered was also nice, especially the morning breakfast. The roads leading to machans gets a little rough towards the entry as it is situated in a remote village but its worth after you get inside the property. This place is amazing to get refreshed.

Note: People having Airtel and Jio network please dont bother to check your phone at Machans as it is completely shunned off. Only vodafone and idea network os available that too with great difficulty. The idea is to enjoy and be with nature so it shouldn't matter at the end of the day.

Room tip: Plz avoid late evening or night travels as it is situated at the top of the mountain it is bound to get cloudy or dark. The roads are rough too.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 545sujits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2021 via mobile

The place is nothing short of what you make of it from the photographs you see!! Very very aesthetically curated, this place is definitely couple goals! We selected the sunset and starlight machans. #mustvisit#romanticgetaway#treehouse#heavenonearth

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mansinayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

We had very bad experience staying @ The machan , food spread and quantity vanished and no courtesy to refill and very thing is chargeable.
Reception called and forced us to checkout otherwise, they will charge Inr 3500 . Whereas they allowed us room @3.00 pm
Worst place and no Internet . Complete cut off from outside world .
Bad , worst experience @The Machan.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Surepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Dear "Surepun",

"..no Internet . Complete cut off from outside world ..." You have mentioned these as objection. But this is what we offer. Our guests come here specifically to disconnect from the work and reconnect with themselves, their loved ones or the Nature.

For our guest's convenience and to keep them safe we serve in different seating time for meals. You have reached late everytime you gave us time, that is the reason that sometime there is a possibility of facing dissappointments. However food is always replenished as we cook as per the number of guests who gave us time and not an estimation.

These are Machans which are more than four times the size of any city hotel accommodation. It takes time to clean and sanitize to our satisfaction for the safety of guests like you. Hence you have to depart on the time that you agreed with us. You would have asked for extension in the last minute breaching all previous understanding.

It is a difficult time for the amnkind especially if you are planning to stay at hotels and organisations like us do take your's and you family's safety very seriously. The least that we expect is cooperations.

We have prices our chef's curated menu very thoughtfully, and such a set up is given for guests to choose from. Guests dont eat every item every time. One of your group member asked for Jain, when we provided you selected items from the menu prepared for jain, you demanded that each item of the set menu should be ofered to that person. Who does that? But our chef still went ahead and organised that.

And all of these are briefed to every guests multiple time via voice, written and video at multiple stage and I am sure you did not pay attention to any of our communique. WHen you come to such exclusive place, you should pay a lot of attention in the guidances given.

We do understand that we are not everyone's cup of tea and you surely fall in that category. We are purely for naturelovers and people who appreciate what we have made in last 30 years and counting.

Regards
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews