We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Machan
Nearby Hotels
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krushnai Resort(Lonavala)
US$ 107
US$ 92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fariyas Resort Lonavala(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 242
US$ 235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zara's Resort(Khandala)
US$ 64
US$ 54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Dukes Retreat(Khandala)(Great Value!)
US$ 190
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Basilica Holiday Home(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchard Resort(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
US$ 454
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
592
237
69
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
592
237
69
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housenature trailwind millsoff gridsolar panelswind powerclose to natureflora and faunasunset pointnature loverscomplete privacybirds chirpingsurrounded by treescity liferoom servicewestern ghatsloved ones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Amazing stay at The Machan , had booked the Heritage Machan and the view was to die for !! Superb & well executed concept , loved the rooms , the property and everything was amazing.
The food was delicious and tasted like home cooked.
Service was courteous though a little slow , but am not complaining.
No cell reception or WIFI which makes it even better as we had people actually talking to each other for a change !
Overall a fantastic getaway and looking forward to returning during the rains.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The two most intriguing features of The Machaan are its location and its rooms.
The resort is setup in the middle of a jungle! Don't worry, no dangerous predators on the prowl.

Though its location is a boon for those staying there, it becames a bane for those trying to get there. IT'S NOT EASY LOCATING THE MACHAAN even via Google Maps. Make sure you read email sent by the management to find your way in. Remember, Follow the Monkey!

We booked the Jungle Machaan. It is a duplex, with one double bed on the ground floor, with furniture where everyone could sit and chat. There is another bed on the semi-floor above, that the kids will be quite thrilled to sleep on.
The narrow, wodden staircase that leads to that room may be avoided by senior citizens.The view balcony was limited was the tick tree cover surrounding it. I'm not sure if that was the case for all the rooms. The bustling of the trees will make you want to cuddle in the cozy bed and enjoy a goodnight's sleep.

The washrooms deserve a paragraph of their own. For the adventurous, the open air bathroom, with a shower and a tub would seem thrilling. Since its open air, covered by the thich forest cover, you should expect leaves on the bathroom floor. The tub may need a round cleaning before use though. Their is an indoor shower apart from that which can be used as well. Hot water is not a problem. just that the Gas geyser takes a bit of time to heat the water. Apart from that the experience was quite pleasant.

Its a massive eco-friendly property(yes, the resort generates its own power) which does not allow them to provide the luxuries of TV and Wifi in your rooms. Which is all the more better because your attention can be diverted to more important things like enjoy the moment with your family instead, of tagging your location on facebook and texting on Whatsapp. Furthermore, there is no cell reception in the rooms. If at all you have to receive calls or make them, you'll have to walk to the reception - where you get a couple of sticks on the Vodafone network. Airtel subscribers my deepest condolences.

I've read a lot of reviews complaining against the staff. To be honest, i felt the staff was reasonable with the way they addressed my queries. Yes the service is slow. If a kettle of tea takes 30 mins to arrive at your doorsteps in the evening, it can quite easily double the time in the morning.

Coming the food. The dining area is open-air. The food quality is quite homely but it gets cold very quickly due to the wind. There are periodic gush of winds that brings along with it dust. My advise would be to stick to buffet menu.
All in all an experience worth remembering!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Atlast!!!! We were here. Thank you Machan. It was an Amazing Experience. Great hospitality. Wonderful Food. Wish we could stay Longer. Will surely come back to The Machan!!
It was Our 1st Wedding Anniversary & My Wives Birthday & It Surely was a Memorable One.


Thank you,
Sunny Kamble

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

I have been to this place along with my colleagues for team building and my first impression is Wow what a place !! You are totally off from hustle bustle of daily life so get very good space for self reflection. Rooms are amazing and you feel like sleeping in jungle but actually in star accommodation. There is conference room which is open to green surrounding. Highly recommended for any type of outing be it corporate or family or personal.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile


My husband and I stayed at the Machan in December.
Starting from reservation till checking in every person was very nice and hospitable and ready to help.

It is an eco friendly resort which generates its own power using wind mills and solar panel. Hence there is minimal lighting and no power hungry appliances like ACs etc. They don't allow usage of hair dryers and straighteners. The place is completely off grid. No tv, no internet and no Mobile phone connectivity. It's like a digital detoxification. We loved the whole experience of being one with the nature and got to spend quality time with each other.

Room Service is not very fast since the kitchen is a little far. We were told about this at the time of check in. So no complaints in this regard. Also they don't take orders for meals for room service ( which was also told to us at the time of check in)
On request they set up a private candle light dinner at our canopy deck. It was a beautiful experience to dine under the stars.
A must do for couples.
Meals were nice and simple homelike North Indian and South Indian dishes. We read a lot of negative reviews about the food. But we have no complaints as the food is simple yet delicious. They serve bread but no toaster as they use minimum appliances. The meals are served in open air and the whole ambience is beautiful.
We stayed at canopy 2. There are two levels inside the canopy. The upper level has glass walls and a bed. It gives an uninterrupted view of the valley. It's like sleeping in the open under the stars. The deck has a hammock. The open air bath tub on the deck is an amazing experience.

The only blotch in an otherwise great review is insensitivity on the part of management. They painted the staircase railing while we were staying. No one bothered to inform us about it. It is a little difficult to climb up the spiral staircase without holding the railing. Hence I had the paint all over my hand. AND DESPITE MY REPEATED REQUESTS TO GIVE ME A REMOVER NO ONE BOTHERED. Because of this insensitivity I am forced to give a 3 where I would have given a 5 to this place.


Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank barkhajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews