We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solitude exemplified!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solitude exemplified!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The two most intriguing features of The Machaan are its location and its rooms.
The resort is setup in the middle of a jungle! Don't worry, no dangerous predators on the prowl.

Though its location is a boon for those staying there, it becames a bane for those trying to get there. IT'S NOT EASY LOCATING THE MACHAAN even via Google Maps. Make sure you read email sent by the management to find your way in. Remember, Follow the Monkey!

We booked the Jungle Machaan. It is a duplex, with one double bed on the ground floor, with furniture where everyone could sit and chat. There is another bed on the semi-floor above, that the kids will be quite thrilled to sleep on.
The narrow, wodden staircase that leads to that room may be avoided by senior citizens.The view balcony was limited was the tick tree cover surrounding it. I'm not sure if that was the case for all the rooms. The bustling of the trees will make you want to cuddle in the cozy bed and enjoy a goodnight's sleep.

The washrooms deserve a paragraph of their own. For the adventurous, the open air bathroom, with a shower and a tub would seem thrilling. Since its open air, covered by the thich forest cover, you should expect leaves on the bathroom floor. The tub may need a round cleaning before use though. Their is an indoor shower apart from that which can be used as well. Hot water is not a problem. just that the Gas geyser takes a bit of time to heat the water. Apart from that the experience was quite pleasant.

Its a massive eco-friendly property(yes, the resort generates its own power) which does not allow them to provide the luxuries of TV and Wifi in your rooms. Which is all the more better because your attention can be diverted to more important things like enjoy the moment with your family instead, of tagging your location on facebook and texting on Whatsapp. Furthermore, there is no cell reception in the rooms. If at all you have to receive calls or make them, you'll have to walk to the reception - where you get a couple of sticks on the Vodafone network. Airtel subscribers my deepest condolences.

I've read a lot of reviews complaining against the staff. To be honest, i felt the staff was reasonable with the way they addressed my queries. Yes the service is slow. If a kettle of tea takes 30 mins to arrive at your doorsteps in the evening, it can quite easily double the time in the morning.

Coming the food. The dining area is open-air. The food quality is quite homely but it gets cold very quickly due to the wind. There are periodic gush of winds that brings along with it dust. My advise would be to stick to buffet menu.
All in all an experience worth remembering!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    188
    53
    22
    11
See reviews for
238
383
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Atlast!!!! We were here. Thank you Machan. It was an Amazing Experience. Great hospitality. Wonderful Food. Wish we could stay Longer. Will surely come back to The Machan!!
It was Our 1st Wedding Anniversary & My Wives Birthday & It Surely was a Memorable One.


Thank you,
Sunny Kamble

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to this place along with my colleagues for team building and my first impression is Wow what a place !! You are totally off from hustle bustle of daily life so get very good space for self reflection. Rooms are amazing and you feel like sleeping in jungle but actually in star accommodation. There is conference room which is open to green surrounding. Highly recommended for any type of outing be it corporate or family or personal.

Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile


My husband and I stayed at the Machan in December.
Starting from reservation till checking in every person was very nice and hospitable and ready to help.

It is an eco friendly resort which generates its own power using wind mills and solar panel. Hence there is minimal lighting and no power hungry appliances like ACs etc. They don't allow usage of hair dryers and straighteners. The place is completely off grid. No tv, no internet and no Mobile phone connectivity. It's like a digital detoxification. We loved the whole experience of being one with the nature and got to spend quality time with each other.

Room Service is not very fast since the kitchen is a little far. We were told about this at the time of check in. So no complaints in this regard. Also they don't take orders for meals for room service ( which was also told to us at the time of check in)
On request they set up a private candle light dinner at our canopy deck. It was a beautiful experience to dine under the stars.
A must do for couples.
Meals were nice and simple homelike North Indian and South Indian dishes. We read a lot of negative reviews about the food. But we have no complaints as the food is simple yet delicious. They serve bread but no toaster as they use minimum appliances. The meals are served in open air and the whole ambience is beautiful.
We stayed at canopy 2. There are two levels inside the canopy. The upper level has glass walls and a bed. It gives an uninterrupted view of the valley. It's like sleeping in the open under the stars. The deck has a hammock. The open air bath tub on the deck is an amazing experience.

The only blotch in an otherwise great review is insensitivity on the part of management. They painted the staircase railing while we were staying. No one bothered to inform us about it. It is a little difficult to climb up the spiral staircase without holding the railing. Hence I had the paint all over my hand. AND DESPITE MY REPEATED REQUESTS TO GIVE ME A REMOVER NO ONE BOTHERED. Because of this insensitivity I am forced to give a 3 where I would have given a 5 to this place.


Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barkhajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Welcome at the reception was nice and they escorted us to our machan (canopy 2); the canopy machan is brilliant- as close to a treehouse as possible - nice spacious room, with a deck / balcony with uninterrupted views of the jungle; it also had an additional bed on the "mezzanine" area and the views from there are great!!
We ordered tea in the room. Service is as expected not very fast since they bring the items from the kitchen which is a little far (depending on which machan you are in). Tea was average.
Housekeeping staff are warm and friendly.
We did the private dining at our own canopy deck. It was a very good experience. They set up a candlelight table for you and the food was simple and delicious. A recommended item for couples.
Breakfast was nice and in the open - options of milk cereals, fruits, breads, omelette, South Indian etc. quite nice. Their lunch and dinner options are simple Indian fare and tasty. They try to keep one non Indian dish. Don't expect anything fancy - but if you are fine with simple food, then this is perfect.
They also have a bath tub in the deck area. It's a "natural" experience :).
Overall staff are polite and ready to help!
A must visit for a digital detox- no tv, no wifi, no internet!! Good break from Mumbai.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MayurPatni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
9.6 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
13.1 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
9.9 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 69 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
11.8 km away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#14 of 69 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.0 km away
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
#9 of 69 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lonavala
#3 Spa Hotel in Lonavala
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,531 - ₹ 16,584
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Machan Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing