We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in every one's bucket list!”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile


My husband and I stayed at the Machan in December.
Starting from reservation till checking in every person was very nice and hospitable and ready to help.

It is an eco friendly resort which generates its own power using wind mills and solar panel. Hence there is minimal lighting and no power hungry appliances like ACs etc. They don't allow usage of hair dryers and straighteners. The place is completely off grid. No tv, no internet and no Mobile phone connectivity. It's like a digital detoxification. We loved the whole experience of being one with the nature and got to spend quality time with each other.

Room Service is not very fast since the kitchen is a little far. We were told about this at the time of check in. So no complaints in this regard. Also they don't take orders for meals for room service ( which was also told to us at the time of check in)
On request they set up a private candle light dinner at our canopy deck. It was a beautiful experience to dine under the stars.
A must do for couples.
Meals were nice and simple homelike North Indian and South Indian dishes. We read a lot of negative reviews about the food. But we have no complaints as the food is simple yet delicious. They serve bread but no toaster as they use minimum appliances. The meals are served in open air and the whole ambience is beautiful.
We stayed at canopy 2. There are two levels inside the canopy. The upper level has glass walls and a bed. It gives an uninterrupted view of the valley. It's like sleeping in the open under the stars. The deck has a hammock. The open air bath tub on the deck is an amazing experience.

The only blotch in an otherwise great review is insensitivity on the part of management. They painted the staircase railing while we were staying. No one bothered to inform us about it. It is a little difficult to climb up the spiral staircase without holding the railing. Hence I had the paint all over my hand. AND DESPITE MY REPEATED REQUESTS TO GIVE ME A REMOVER NO ONE BOTHERED. Because of this insensitivity I am forced to give a 3 where I would have given a 5 to this place.


Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank barkhajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Welcome at the reception was nice and they escorted us to our machan (canopy 2); the canopy machan is brilliant- as close to a treehouse as possible - nice spacious room, with a deck / balcony with uninterrupted views of the jungle; it also had an additional bed on the "mezzanine" area and the views from there are great!!
We ordered tea in the room. Service is as expected not very fast since they bring the items from the kitchen which is a little far (depending on which machan you are in). Tea was average.
Housekeeping staff are warm and friendly.
We did the private dining at our own canopy deck. It was a very good experience. They set up a candlelight table for you and the food was simple and delicious. A recommended item for couples.
Breakfast was nice and in the open - options of milk cereals, fruits, breads, omelette, South Indian etc. quite nice. Their lunch and dinner options are simple Indian fare and tasty. They try to keep one non Indian dish. Don't expect anything fancy - but if you are fine with simple food, then this is perfect.
They also have a bath tub in the deck area. It's a "natural" experience :).
Overall staff are polite and ready to help!
A must visit for a digital detox- no tv, no wifi, no internet!! Good break from Mumbai.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MayurPatni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I made a trip to the Machan for a night on 18th dec along with my wife. The entrance to the property heightens the intrigue. It was good till the point the check in happened. I had specifically asked for and was promised a forest Machan with a certain view. But our forest Machan had an obstructed view. On letting the guys out there know about it, they said they will contact the Mumbai office and get back to me. They only got back to me at around 4 pm saying the property is completely booked out and the one which was allocated to me is the only one available. Not that the Machan itself was anything to complain about. It feels nicely crafted..Has a rustic feel to it with the open shower et all. But what we had primarily paid for was the view. And to this extent it was disappointing. It's not as though this experience comes cheap. So you feel short changed when this happens.

It's good that they do not have a TV. But then what do you do with guests next door who decide to play blaring music right into the night.. in the middle of a jungle. nobody from the management turned up to salvage the situation..the result.. I could not catch much sleep.

It's good to keep it rustic and simple. But when you are charging a hefty sum.. you should not use that as an excuse to not provide for tea or coffee till 8 in the morning!!

The property itself feels nice and warm. The yoga session was nice. My wife and I did not take the nature trail. The breakfast was simple but good. The dinner could have been better.

The pricepoint does feel steep for what they provide. The experience definitely is novel..somehow I would like to again visit the Machan sometime. But then who's to say I will get what was promised at the time of booking.

If you are prepared to take that chance...Want to experience the jungle in the lap of luxury.. are okay with a few goof ups on the part of the management.. then go for it. It certainly is an experience. Just that it can be a lot better given what they have.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Well the first impression that one got when one landed in the room was .... i really didn't pay all that money for this.... This place is not luxury in nature... for that please go to amby valley... this place just puts you back into nature..... We stayed there with my family in the Heritage cottage for two nights.... the place just grows on you and you realise how far away our city lives brings us from nature. This place is a little tough to find but if you follow the boards with the Langur (monkey) sign you'll reach there. Google maps does a good job too. Like I said this place is not luxury... no TV, No air con, No mobile network, no wifi..... but just puts you close to nature.... It just grows on to you. The cottage is overlooking the valley with 3 sides glass which makes you feel you are sleeping under the stars... bathrooms are nice / beds good / small refrigerator in the room and a large space for the family. The heritage cottage doesn't have 3 bedrooms but 3 double beds cleverly tucked away from each other.. one in the main hall behind a wooden blind another on the mezzanine and one below in a basement led by a spiralway staircase. Room service is just o.k. and you have food under the trees in the open which is great for a change. The only thing that can certainly improve is the quality of food. After two days what I couldn't stand was the food... Overall a nice , cosy tucked away space right in the middle of nature.

Room Tip: All rooms are on stilts facing the valley with their own privacy. Heritage cottage is the largest an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

At THE MACHAN resort, we have to pay Rs. 15000 for per night stay and mostly they book for minimum 2 days.
Now when anyone is putting in Rs. 30000 for a place then there are few expectation from them.
1) Place: Place is big, but not properly done. The tour guide is himself not aware of the plants and the surroundings.
2) The Rooms/ Machans: Very nicely done n maintained also.
3) Activities : They say that they arrange for bonfire but only when u have a big group, which is like boring for others u literally have nothing to do there.
Nor do they provide have any games or cards to play (they said they are out of stock) to keep ourselves occupied.
4) FOOD : The major drawback. It was PATHETIC. Half raw, bad taste n stale condition. They couldnt prepare the basic things also properly. Idli was hard, sambhar was smelling, aloo was not cooked, dosa were thick, noodles were raw, machurian were kind of dissolved in the tasteless gravy. They charge Rs. 600 / plate and if u ask them to serve starters then they charge u extra for that.

And as the property is big n widely spread so they room service is another major issue.

Overall, will never plan to go there again. They have opened a big place but finding it very difficult to run it.

One more thing, they have charged us 5% VAT on the bill without even giving us a proper bill (even after asking for one). There is no VAT TIN number on the bill.

Room Tip: All Rooms are fine, but plan to go with BIG group n take some activities along.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nikta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
13.0 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
9.4 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
10.9 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
580 reviews
9.2 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
674 reviews
9.4 km away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lonavala
#4 Spa Hotel in Lonavala
Price Range: ₹ 10,939 - ₹ 23,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Machan Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing