We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
194
163
74
25
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
163
74
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highest peak highest point karaoke night breathtaking views tungarli lake hill top f b excellent location room service activity room swimming pool business conference lunch and dinner food served awesome place rooms are spacious birds chirping
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Was there for a night. Had the best dosa for breakfast. Staff was friendly. Rooms were spacious and well kept. The location itself makes it different from the other commercial hotels. I could see a lake from my room, it was serene and peaceful, windy and birds chirped all morning, making it a wonderful wake up call.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pracheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperDeckResort, General Manager at Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Ms. Pracheee,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay and for taking out your valuable time to write a great feedback on tripadvisor.com community..

We have shared your great feedback & words of appreciation with our entire team.

It is our constant perseverance and endurance to train our employees to provide the best services and ensure that all our esteemed guests have great memories to share with their colleagues, family and friends.

Please try to visit us during the monsoons as the view in the monsoon is stunningly beautiful. You would be able to witness gravity defying waterfalls from almost all the rooms.

You can also choose to go for a Jungle Safari to Rajmachi Fort which is around 18 Kms drive, you would witness Mother Nature at her best. Here, an arrangement could be made wherein you can experience mouth watering authentic Maharashtrian Cuisine customized to your taste buds.

The complete surrounding is covered with a blanket of greenery justifying, ‘Holidaying At The Highest Peak of Lonavala’ at Upper Deck Resort.

We would also like to suggest many other places of interest in and around Lonavala, such as: Wax Museum, Karla Caves, Shiravta Dam etc..

Looking forward to build a strong association with you & always assuring you of our most prompt and personalized services at all times.

Please let us know regarding your next visit. Upper Deck Family is eagerly waiting to welcome you all.

Warm regards,
SAURABH J BAMANE.
GENERAL MANAGER.
E-mail : gm@upperdeckresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Best ignored. true it is located on one of the highest peaks in Lonavala,but the approach roads are trying experiences.
one is a long winded approach through the tungarli village. narrow paths with children and chicken playing hop-scoth on the five feet paths. smells galore and people teeming.

The hotel authorities in their naive and totally unprofessional wisdom put up a road sign advising travellers to take (yours truly and group, included) to take a diversion on a beaten track on kaccha road with a very steep gradient and rocks and stones on the path. miraculous that we did not get a flat tire. In places the gradient was so steep that the vehicle would slip downwards. terrifying experience and to think that this was suggested by the hotel authorities?

Worse was still in store. after the death defying drive we reached the gates and requested the guard to direct us to the reception. he imperiously asked if we had a booking. We replied that we wanted to check out the property first. he sneered and flatly denied entry. instructed that we go away. Checking out rooms or the propertu was against the hotel policy, we were informed.
with pleading and goading he finally connected us to an executuve who condescended to allow us access to the hotel to see the facilities.

Needless to say the staff was less than happy to see us and grudgingly allowed a peek into one of the rooms.

the policy seems to be away from sight. to me it translates to away from mind forever.

Room Tip: For a good experience avoid this hoity toity hotel. better options abound.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Deepak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperDeckResort, General Manager at Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Mr. Deepak,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a highly dramatized version / detailed experience / feedback encountered on tripadvisor.

On behalf of the entire team of Upper Deck Resort, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our resort.

The road that you have categorically mentioned is the road used since decades not only to reach our resort but also it is most widely used by travelers heading towards a Historical Place, “Rajmachi Fort”. The inhabitants here are the locals staying here since centuries.

We have been constantly educating the locals regarding the hygiene & environmental issues, some of them understand whilst some of them don’t. Just on another note – We have carried many Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) activities such as: Free Cataract Check-up & Treatment, Free Medical Check-up, Books & Uniform Distribution to all kids, have assisted the village in building a School & Temple, installed a Biogas Plant etc..

Even with that road, our resort has witnessed the vehicles right from Auto Rickshaw, Nano to Rolls Royce Phantom, hence, clearing the dark clouds of restriction to accessibility to our resort :).

There are 2 approaches to reach our resort, one is Tar Road which passes from the village and other is a non-tar road, however, there are quite a number of our esteemed guests prefer to use this to avoid the populated village road.

We would encourage our travelers to read recent reviews wherein travelers have negated such accusations of flat tire or a breakdown or vehicle going backwards (unless the person who’s recently got a driving license / it’s first time to drive vehicle on a decent gradient – unable to fathom, why this point has been raised as there is very steep gradient near Tungarli Dam which is a huge task for many travelers – this area is not coming under our jurisdiction) or death defying driving experience.

The security guard was just doing his duty by following Hotel Policies, being located in an isolated location, at times, there are many people who just take undue advantage of the location – we are just being cautious to avoid any untoward incident, hope you understand our predicament.

As regards to our employees that have dealt with you are concerned, though, we have a established a record of having one of the best employees & the same has been reflected in too many reviews – we will still train them to make sure none of the guests go unhappy.

Please feel free to contact me on gm@upperdeckresort.com in case you wish to discuss further regarding your concerns. Though many of those have been dramatically penned down to defame our property – we would request you to kindly treat this visit as a case of isolation & we will ensure that, you would notice a significant change during your next visit.

It is our constant perseverance and endurance to train our employees to provide the best services and ensure that all our esteemed guests have great memories to share with their colleagues, family and friends.

Looking forward to build a strong association with you & always assuring you of our most prompt and personalized services at all times.

Please let us know regarding your next visit to notice significant change.

Upper Deck Family is eagerly waiting to welcome you all again with arms wide open !!

With Highest Culinary Regards,

SAURABH J BAMANE
GENERAL MANAGER.
E-mail : gm@upperdeckresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Located on the highest habitable point in the outskirts of Lonavala. Approached through a forest track. Good sized cottages. Lovely views.
Very friendly staff. Good and efficient Food and Beverage people. Wide range of cuisine. Mostly Indian. Delightful range of starters.
May be slightly over priced.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sennirmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperDeckResort, General Manager at Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Mr. Sennirmal,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay and for taking out your valuable time to write a great feedback on tripadvisor.com community..

We have shared your great feedback & words of appreciation with our entire team.

As regards to the rates are concerned, though we are at par with the similar Hotels / Resorts in and around Lonavala & Khandala, we shall work out a great deal for you !! Be rest assured :)

It is our constant perseverance and endurance to train our employees to provide the best services and ensure that all our esteemed guests have great memories to share with their colleagues, family and friends.

Please try to visit us during the monsoons as the view in the monsoon is stunningly beautiful. You would be able to witness gravity defying waterfalls from almost all the rooms.

You can also choose to go for a Jungle Safari to Rajmachi Fort which is around 18 Kms drive, you would witness Mother Nature at her best. Here, an arrangement could be made wherein you can experience mouth watering authentic Maharashtrian Cuisine customized to your taste buds.

The complete surrounding is covered with a blanket of greenery justifying, ‘Holidaying At The Highest Peak of Lonavala’ at Upper Deck Resort. We would also like to suggest many other places of interest in and around Lonavala, such as: Wax Museum, Karla Caves, Shiravta Dam etc..

Looking forward to build a strong association with you & always assuring you of our most prompt and personalized services at all times.

Please let us know regarding your next visit.

Upper Deck Family is eagerly waiting to welcome you all.

Warm regards,
SAURABH J BAMANE.
GENERAL MANAGER.

E-mail : gm@upperdeckresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

No value for money. Excellent location though. Rooms should be of 5 Star category which r not. Good for corporate events. Food was bad but breakfast was good. No hot water in bathroom. Big buses cannot climb

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank PunitSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperDeckResort, General Manager at Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Mr. Punit,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay and for taking out your valuable time to write a feedback on tripadvisor.

On behalf of the entire team of Upper Deck Resort, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our resort.

Resort Rating: We are a Boutique Resort. We have never publicized anywhere as a 5 Star property !! This has been a part of response on tripadvisor community.

Regarding Food, our efforts have been always to ensure that we serve the best food across Lonavala, an attempt is to satisfy everyone, even though we are well aware that, in the matter of food, taste do differ from person to person.

Food quality is being customized as per the taste & various feedback received from our highly esteemed guests, however, based on your suggestions, we have further worked on food issue & would like to let you know that, some changes have been made in the entire array of food, you would surely notice a remarkable change in your next visit.

We have alerted our respective Department to attend the Hot Water problem and the same is rectified.

As regards to the Bus issue, every co-ordinator is clearly apprised that, Big Buses, categorically 36 or 45 Seaters can’t climb due to turning radius problems, however, we do organize pick-up or drop for corporate events on chargeable basis, however, in your case, we made that on complimentary basis.

Please feel free to contact me on gm@upperdeckresort.com in case you wish to discuss further regarding your concerns.

Kindly treat this stay as a case of isolation & we will ensure that, you would notice a significant change during your next visit.

It is our constant perseverance and endurance to train our employees to provide the best services and ensure that all our esteemed guests have great memories to share with their colleagues, family and friends.

Looking forward to build a strong association with you & always assuring you of our most prompt and personalized services at all times.

Please let us know regarding your next visit to notice significant change.

Upper Deck Family is eagerly waiting to welcome you all again with arms wide open !!

Warm regards,

SAURABH J BAMANE
GENERAL MANAGER.

E-mail : gm@upperdeckresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Good:
- located atop hill providing breath taking view of the valley and a lake nearby.
- ideal getaway from Mumbai

Needs improvement:
- food quality and variety
- rooms are just okay kind
- poor telecom signal also no WiFi (could be just okay if you are here for a break from everyday life)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank austingomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpperDeckResort, General Manager at Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Mr. Austin,

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your stay and for taking out your valuable time to write a feedback on tripadvisor.com community..

We have shared your feedback with our entire team. It is our constant perseverance and endurance to train our employees to provide the best services and ensure that all our esteemed guests have great memories to share with their colleagues, family and friends.

Whilst staying on the topic, would like to clarify on certain matters:

Regarding Food, our efforts have been always to ensure that we serve the best food across Lonavala, an attempt is to satisfy everyone, even though we are well aware that, in the matter of food, taste do differ from person to person.

Food quality is being customized as per the taste & various feedback received from our highly esteemed guests, however, based on your suggestions, we have further worked on food issue & would like to let you know that, some changes have been made in the entire array of food, you would surely notice a remarkable change in your next visit.

Regarding Refurbishment / Rooms: We are delighted to announce that, we have added 18 new rooms to our inventory along with 10 refurbished rooms. The new rooms have been craft-fully designed with a combination of old-fashioned & contemporary look. We are extremely confident that you all will certainly love the new rooms during your next stay.

Regarding the mobile network, we are at mercy of Mobile Service Operators, although, we have already informed them to install mobile boosters umpteen times, due to some internal problems at their end, the same is getting delayed.

Wi-Fi: We certainly have Wi-Fi available in designated areas near reception & the cost is more as we are located in an isolated location and we are at mercy of only one local service provider – again with their service too, the service is intermittent !!

Finally, as stated by you, if one desires a good break, our resort is certainly IDEAL, in that case, one does not want to be disturbed – in a way one can take Intermittent Wi-Fi and Mobile Connectivity in a positive way :)

Looking forward to build a strong association with you & always assuring you of our most prompt and personalized services at all times.

Please let us know regarding your next visit.

Upper Deck Family is eagerly waiting to welcome you all.

Warm regards,
SAURABH J BAMANE.
GENERAL MANAGER.

E-mail : gm@upperdeckresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews