We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karla Water Park”
Review of MTDC Karla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Karla
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Karla Water Park”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have visited this newly renovated water park. Last Sunday and Enjoyed!

Important:
1. Water is not as much clear.
2. Always wear Swimming t-shirt else your body will burn after taking rides.
3. Not very much crowd so you will enjoy.
4. Timings are 11:00 AM to 5:30 PM
5. Rides are less but for a small fun it is good.
6. 350 Rs charge on Weekends for Adults and 300 for Child. Rest of the days from 250-300.
7. Hot snacks you will get in the waterpark itself and at a reasonable rates.
8. For Launch good to go out near some dhabas, (Kinara Village was also good)
9. Don't waste hundred rupees for Wax museum not worth.

Overall exp was average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank HiteshSiroya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    111
    75
    15
    10
See reviews for
125
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The perfect place to relax and unwind.

We visited in March 2012. All we did was just relax sitting in the veranda and enjoy the cool breeze and listen to the birds chirping. At times we would spot a rare looking bird flying in the garden ahead or a squirrel coming close and playing.

The resort is huge and has pure greenery and trees all around. If you start to walk and explore the resort you would get tired but still not cover the whole resort. There are lot of small play area for the kids with swings and stuff.
They got a boating center where we did a ride at the perfect sunset time. That was a very romantic ride and you can see the sun setting in the river while you are enjoying the boat ride.

We booked Deluxe cottage and got Deluxe cottage 3 but there was problem with TV reception. When inquired with reception they told us that its problem with main supply for all rooms. But when we checked out other rooms the tv was all fine. They did it on purpose to make people occupy the room. If you are booking deluxe cottage better to check all the room facilities before checking in.

The ayurvedic massage center was also nice. The back and foot massage are the ones we did and felt relaxed.

The food at restaurant is OK. Not that great and we would go out mostly to the nearby dhabas for lunch and dinner.

Overall we felt connected with nature and enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Check the room facilities before checking in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Prawasi2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have visited Karla Mtdc resort in the month of March. If you want to relax at quiet place with no commercial activities. Before going there we have read many reviews that if you order for room service it doesnt come or if you need anything they say no... For us it never happened. The need little more things to do, like tea - coffee maker in the room, toiletories etc. The restaurant food was decent in taste. We enjoyed boating in the lake which was clean and beautiful. Overall experience was very good. Washrooms were clean and overall if you just want to relax and peacefully this is the best place. There water park is shut for maintenance for long time, i think they dont have enough manpower to operate that, as it requires lot of cleaneness and maintenance.

Room Tip: Please take A/C cottage, which have better living room with plasama tv and outside also it have enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank NehaSarougi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We decided to take a break during Christmas Holidays but did not want to go to a very commercial place. Karla was chosen as it was close to Mumbai and had good coonectivity by road.
This a typical MTDC Resort with all the postives and negatives which go with it. The postives are the location itself and the spacious rooms. The place never seemes crowded anytime although the rooms were 100% booked. The not so great things are room upkeep as they are 1960 vintage. The furniture is very basic and 'old type'. Luckily there is a TV which is functional and has multiple channels including Star Cricket !!!!.

There is generator back up so one does not have to worry about powercuts. As we went in winter even fans were not necessary.

Food is average and is typical of MTDC. Chinese and Punjabi food options are also available. Only braekfast options are few.

There is boating facility along the riverside so kids can enjoy themselves. There is waterpark which is under construction.

The garden rooms are good for small families, while cottages have 2 rooms and are spacious.

One can visit Karla Caves which is about 6 kms from the resort. The place overall is OK for a 2 days stay provided you are not too fussy about things and intend to just relax

Room Tip: Ask the resort manager for 2-3 options of he room, as some rooms are in better shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank hari-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It was the start of summer vacation and we wanted to spend the weekend at a place which was far from the hustle and bustle of Lonavala and still not very far.. MTDC Karla is an ideal place for this.You need to take the Lonavala exit of the expressway then take the old Mumbai Pune Highway toward Pune and take a right turn from Treasure Island Resort to reach MTDC resort. The best part was that we could beat the traffic which is encountered while entering lonavala from the Khandala exit of Expressway. Also if you want to go to the market place, you can take your car till Kailash Parbat and park it there and walk it up to the market.
The only flipside is that you need to cross the Toll Plaza every time you want to goto Lonavala. you can take a daily pass which works out best and you can go to and fro as many times as you want.

We had booked a Deluxe cottage which had 2 bedrooms and one small living area. The rooms where very average and there was a distinct odour in the air.. We shifted to the Garden room the next day since these were far better than the deluxe cottage. The garden rooms were small and had a sit out area. You can park the car right outside the rooms.
The mtdc restaurant are average and is best avoided. The manager was a thug and we did not have a good experience at the restaurant.
This a decent property, has a water park which is still under construction and has a small river passing next to it where you can have a boat ride or just sit on the banks and enjoy the view.
There is not much to do here but you can definetly stay in MTDC if you are in a group or if you want to be away from the hustle bustle of Lonavala and stay peacefully.

We travelled to Lonavala for eating and we preferred Shiv sagar since it is the best. We also went to the Kapol Sanatorium where you get a good Gujju Thali.

Narayani Dham which is a temple near Valvan dam is also a must visit.

Overall the trip was a good one and pretty relaxing.

Room Tip: Prefer Garden cottages (for couples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Jatin_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
4.1 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
798 reviews
9.6 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
854 reviews
1.4 km away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#17 of 67 in Lonavala
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Avion Holiday Resort
Avion Holiday Resort
#19 of 67 in Lonavala
209 reviews
0.6 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.7 km away
Kumar Resort & Water Park
Kumar Resort & Water Park
#60 of 67 in Lonavala
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Karla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Karla

Property: MTDC Karla
Address: Karla, Lonavala, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Lonavala
Also Known As:
Mtdc Karla Hotel Lonavala
MTDC Karla Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing