We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
33
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
4
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The homestay is spotless clean and the whole house is just beautiful!!

The host Matthew is very enthusiastic and friendly, he gave us a lot of guidance and support to the surrounding area! He also referred to money exchange and kayak company to us, which provided us great offers!!!!!

The homestay locates at the centre of Alleppey town, auto rickshaw stand and bus terminals are all within walking distance!!

And if you wash your own clothes, Matthew also provides hanging rails and a big garden to dry your wash. Every night before it started to rain, Mathew helped us to bring the wash into the living room, I'm very touched with his thoughtful gesture!!!

Strongly recommend Brown Residency!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MonaLinVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Spotless accommodation, great facilities and a wonderful host. Matthew made us very welcome and provided much local information in addition to sorting a backwater trip and changing money. Highly recommended! The location is excellent too.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expedition802825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay here! Matthew the owner is a kind and generous man who will welcome you warmly, explain everything about the town, and organise whatever you'd like to do during your stay, all before you've even checked in. We stayed in the a/c room and it was really comfortable - huge bathroom. You can use the well stocked kitchen to cook your own meals if you need, a great supermarket just 100m away. Close to town and beach. Stay here if you can!!! Well worth the money :)

Side note - we chose to do the canoe backwater trip, a cheaper option than the houseboat and really beautiful and relaxing :)

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

The property is a very beautiful bungalow. Rooms are spacious, clean. Good internet, clean common area for all guests. Highly recommend. The host Mr. Mathew is a very nice person and always ready to help you. Actually, before visiting we are in a dilemma how the host will be and whether we will be comfortable or not as we are traveling with girls. The host is very kind and humble and has very good knowledge of tourist location, restaurants and he also arranges a backwaters canoe trip for us which was very good. My friends enjoy stay here

Room tip: For better view get balcony room, and if you booking more than one rooms then call Mr. Mathew in advance for adjacent rooms
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Prathmesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed here around the our houseboat trip. The place is very plush for the price, with nice big rooms, good internet, and clean common area and kitchen. Although the place is nice, the best thing about our stay here was the owner. He was such a friendly guy, always happy to help, and he would bend over backwards to organise something for you. The only downside to the place is that it is hard to find initially, there is no sign telling you where to go, but it is the first house next to the "Brother" furniture shop, and you will have to go through the big black gate.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkoB1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews