We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to relax in chaotic Alleppey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place to relax in chaotic Alleppey”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

On a two-week trip throughout South India, this had to be our favourite place we stayed, and even caused us to cancel our trip to Munnar to grab a few extra days here!
Alleppey itself is a very loud stressful town and people mainly go there for backwater trips, but this is ideal as you're actually staying IN the backwaters and can really get a sense of the relaxed way of life - as well as doing the obligatory backwater canoe cruise (which they will happily organise for you!)
The staff here are very gracious and helpful, even bringing dinner to our room when I was so horribly mosquito bitten I couldn't eat in their (really pretty) outside dining area
The cottages are gorgeous (we stayed in the most basic fan one which was still totally stunning) with dark mahogany features and simple white scheme, showering in the outside shower with sun beating down was my favourite part of the day
There's hammocks to lie in and read a book against the sound of crickets, and a little peer where you can watch the fish swim by
It really was a world away from a lot of the bustle of inner-city India
They can organise massage, backwater trips, cycling and transport into town (only 10 minutes on a tuk tuk costing about 80p!) and we just loved it on sight
If you go, try the onion pakora and the banana milkshakes - we got hooked on them and ended up drinking about 3 a day each!

Really highly recommended.

Thanks! Chloe and Andy

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chlo_A_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    83
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
65
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We were ao impressed by the service here.

The staff were great and made us so welcome.

Despite booking ahead our a/c room was double booked but it was handled well and actually it didn't matter - the view from our fan room more than made up for it.

We booked a houseboat trip through the hotel - we enjoyed it very much but did feel that the standard of the boat was lower than the hotel which was a shame but the overall experience, the food and the hospitality on the boat was the same as the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai, india
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Cozy place close to the lake, right by the waterway, and dotted with trees, the Palm Grove is the ideal place to truly unwind. It isn't 5 star, but is quite comfortable, and the staff too takes good care of you. They arranged for a houseboat for a day trip (and a very good boat at that!), and took care of all our food needs. The place is a bit off route and difficult to find, but once you are in there, it is extremely peaceful and tranquil. There are hammocks to lie down on, and if you don't find one, then there is always the green grass.

They have an outdoor bathroom, which is super. Overall, non negatives with the place. Unless you are turned off by the access route, there is no reason why you shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sd1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe bungalow here, and had a very relaxing time... The location was wonderful, we could practically dip our toes into the river from our bungalow. The hotel can orgnanise boat trips/hire bikes/organise massages. We did a boat trip which was great. We enjoyed the food here, and thought the service was very professional. The only thing to be aware of is that it is very quiet. Whilst we enjoyed this and found it very relaxing as a consequence, if you want a bit more action, maybe this isn't the place for you. However, if you want to get away from everything, and enjoy a beautiful location, I would recommend it here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This is not a 5* resort, nor does it pretend to be. But it is clean, friendly, very good value for money, has a lovely location at the side of the lake (and close to the houseboat pick-up dock), and is ideal to chill out for a couple of days. The outdoor bathroom is great. Please do not take notice of some of the highly negative reviews. They do not describe the place we stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldindiahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
32.7 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
8.2 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
12.5 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.4 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
367 reviews
0.9 km away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Property: Palmgrove Lake Resort
Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,483 - ₹ 5,353
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing