We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to watch the world go by”
Review of Kait's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kait's Home
Ranked #32 of 200 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just had a wonderful 3 night stay at Kaits Home. The setting is stunning, the food delicious and the room was spotlessly clean with its own veranda where we could while away our time watching the life on the river. Jossy gave us information on local attractions we could visit and arranged for us to go on an early morning boat trip through the canals but we had even more fun kayaking through the backwaters in Jossy's 2 man kayak which we could use whenever we wanted.
If you want a relaxing time in a stunning location, this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheBerrysLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Kait's Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights (2 couples) at Kaits Home in Champakulam Alappuzha District at New Year after taking the tourist boat from Kollam. (an 8 hour ferry trip - a fine, and cheaper, alternative for seeing the backwaters to the house boat cruises)
Kaits is located on the backwaters about a 30minute taxi ride from the ferry terminal and consists of the family's accommodation, four cottages - 2 separate, 2 adjoining and a rotunda to eat in located over the water.The cottages were slightly rustic , but just what we like (see pics and book at www.kaitshome.com ) with verandahs and were spotless and well appointed with nice linen etc. Jossy (the owner) was a great host, looking after us with food, drink and activities. It is a very peaceful spot and one of the nicest stays in India. We went kayaking in the kayaks provided and Jossy organised a river trip in a small boat (as well as the taxi to meet us from the ferry). The food was delicious, the setting beautiful and peaceful but with enought boat life to keep it interesting and it was a place we would love to return to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a great time at Kait's Home. The cottage was lovely, homely and clean. We spent most of our time in the pagoda watching the world go by. Jossy and his family are very welcoming and helpful. The variety of food at breakfast and dinner was outstanding and tasted amazing! :) However, we had cheese sandwiches for lunch (as there was a limited choice) and firstly, we were amazed at the difference in quality to breakfast and dinner. And secondly, the price was a little over the top! I would suggest they provide a list of prices to avoid a shock when you get the bill at the end of the stay. Still, it´s great value and we really recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We absolutely loved Kait's Home. We stayed 2 nights in the cottage that is right on the water and 1 night in the cottage with the outside bathroom (thanks Taf & Liesa!!). The location is beautiful and the river is just busy enough to enjoy. The food is delicious, some of the best homestay meals we had, all served on the jetty. Jossy and Ronny were wonderful hosts, and nothing was too much trouble, even when we asked to swap cottages so we could have an outside bathroom!! We met some great people and took some lovely walks, but generally just hung out at Kait's reading and watching the world go by. We felt totally relaxed and refreshed after our visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in Kait´s for a few nights in january. Absolutely loved it; it´s fantastic location on the waterfront, lovely and quiet ambiance, delicious homecooked food, friendly family. Couldn´t have wished for a better ending of our holidays in Kerala. Hospitality with a big smile and great care, a place with a soul. Watch the world go by on the river Pampa, with the singing of many exotic birds and a people who never seem to be in a hurry....

Room Tip: we stayed in the room at the far left, directly at the waterfront
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.0 km away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#10 of 200 in Alappuzha
109 reviews
1.7 km away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#24 of 200 in Alappuzha
56 reviews
2.1 km away
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
Adenz Backwater Home Stay
#53 of 160 in Alappuzha
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ayana's Homestay
Ayana's Homestay
#7 of 200 in Alappuzha
217 reviews
13.4 km away
Snehadhara Homestay
Snehadhara Homestay
#45 of 200 in Alappuzha
306 reviews
44.4 km away
Breeze Backwater Homes
Breeze Backwater Homes
#26 of 200 in Alappuzha
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kait's Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kait's Home

Address: | Champakulam P.O., Alappuzha 688505, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 2,695 - ₹ 4,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Farm stay is located 14kms away from Alleppey on the side of the river Pamba, in Champakulam Village. Kaits home is managed by one of the well known family in this region called Mappilacherry. Kaits home has five river facing A/c cottages. One cottages in the main block is a traditional heritage room with open bathroom. KAITS home is a part of a farm. Our highlighting features are fresh traditional home-made food,canoe,kayak,motorboat,houseboat rides, farm trekking,different types of fishing, night fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru and Booking.com so you can book your Kait's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kait's Home Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing