We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to do nothing, but don't look for entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coir Village Lake Resort
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Note: I was part of a tour group, so I didn't have to locate the place or drive around the area. I can tell you that the staff has a reputation for arrogance and indifference, though we were insulated from it by our tour leader and I didn't. During our stay, the only people I saw were our group and one Indian couple.

The location is simply beautiful Rooms - many of which are better described as "bungalows" - have verandahs with chairs and tables, and many are right on the water. If you enjoy sitting out with a good book, you can't beat this. The lobby and restaurant are across the river, and you get there by a canoe "ferry" that can feel a bit unsteady. The restaurant has an extensive menu. Service is slow, but there's a very good buffet for both dinner and breakfast so that's mitigated.

Rooms are adequate, nothing special, and have air conditioning and televisions.

Other than however you choose to entertain yourself, there is truly nothing to do. It's your choice if that's a plus or a minus.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Not for indians. everything available was too over priced. cottages were very old. a/c wasnt working properly. very arrogant staff. no basic amenities. no activities. no cable. tv was old. nv food was horrible. travle was exhausting. not recommened.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sushma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

1st of all its NOT in Alleppey but a good 30km away from the main town..after going through what seemed like a neverending drive, one needs to enter the narrow, bumpy, village road which takes you to the resort...the entrance is not marked by any board or gate making it frustating to find. Once there the only thing lighting up your stay will be the location by the backwaters and the experience of crossing the canals in boats to reach your rooms from the reception and restaurant area.( some may find it cumbersome though) Our experience of spending 2 days here revealed a lack of basic resort facilities and services. We could avail of only 1 meal through room service after which they refused it. Ala carte menu though present was not served and all guests were forced to eat from the buffet which had horrid college canteen/hostel standard chinese and tasteless indian dishes. the saving grace was the rare 1 keralite dish (eg: appam for breakfast, fishcurry for lunch/dinner) I think the guests would have rather preferred a good local meal over their failed attempt at serving north indian meals. All food items were COLD unless you were the lucky 1st few in the buffet queue. Shockingly no snacks were served at any time of the day(again option is present in the menu) I dread to think what families with young children might go through when hunger strikes since eating options outside the resort are almost non existent due to it being in a village. unless ofcourse you want to rush out and DRIVE to the market area to bring back some fruits, biscuits and wafers. We also found it ridiculous when they told other guests they will not serve tea/coffee after 6.15pm since they are preparing dinner!! Housekeeping is poor too, our room had cobwebs, wet towels were not changed, drinking water not refilled till we requested for it, no laundry service was available.No attempt was made by the management to do something special for the guests in terms of entertainment or food ( we were there during christmas). There is no scope for sightseeing or shopping, the only thing you can do is boating. The options were rowing, going for a canoe ride through the backwaters ( which was fantastic!! relaxing and beautiful- Rs.200 per head) or going on a motorized larger boat/ferry. I personally would recommend the canoe ride---it gives you a feeling of being closer to the water than the ferry. My suggestion to the resort is to seriously work on improving their services otherwise its a complete waste of a beautiful location. with a little vision it can be turned into a great holiday stay option.

Room Tip: All rooms face the canals so thats a positive so for choosing the best rooms you will simply have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Ok this 'resort' is a bit tired, but it's location on the backwaters is glorious. I wouldn't recommend it for more than 1 night, as there's not much to do except relax and soak up the scenery. Cottages are comfortable with a veranda overlooking the river and a good enough bathroom. Staff were friendly and the food was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the experience of being ferried across from one island to the other. There's no swimming pool, but it's perfectly possible to swim in the river and we had a lovely boat trip for bird spotting during the late afternoon. Don't go here expecting luxury - you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Pls dont go there ...Horrible experience ...very bad service...they dont know how to talk with customers ... totally un co-operative service staff and the lack of basic amenities. not for the families. food was horrible there is no Swimming pool .. they dont want Indian people to come there they only want Foreigners because they are getting tips in DOLLARS ..... general Manager of this resort is arrogant.pls stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.5 km away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
18.7 km away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#30 of 70 in Alappuzha
95 reviews
17.2 km away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#17 of 70 in Alappuzha
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#22 of 70 in Alappuzha
57 reviews
34.3 km away
Camelot Hotel
Camelot Hotel
#24 of 70 in Alappuzha
41 reviews
31.6 km away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coir Village Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coir Village Lake Resort

Address: Valiyaparambu PO, Alappuzha 690566, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: ₹ 4,642 - ₹ 4,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coir Village Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Coir Village Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coir Village Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Coir Village Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing