We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible Service - Completely unorganized” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raheem Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raheem Residency
Ranked #42 of 183 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Service - Completely unorganized”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I booked a reservation at Raheem Residency and they completely screwed up the process. We repeatedely called and emailed to receive some type of confirmation regarding the reserveration, and for 3 months heard nothing back. When I finally was able to talk to Satheesh and Parwathi, they gave us an attitude, said it was our fault. We stayed in India for three weeks and experience nothing but excellent service night after night, except for our experience at Raheem Residency. I never write reviews but felt really compelled in this instance.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    70
    28
    21
    5
See reviews for
26
130
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I'm sure a lot of people miss Alleppey and only arrive here to catch a boat. However, it's really worth an overnight stay and I'd highly recommend Raheem Residency as the place to do it. Ideal location over from the beach so you can go mingle with the locals. The cafe/bar they own next door is handy and serves great cheap food and kingfisher! The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and I am so glad I visited. The breakfast upstairs was great and our yoga teacher was a total cool dude! We also had a tuk tuk driver just take us round the sights, we stopped at all the temples and experienced the crazy driving system that is India! I wasn't sure about including Alleppey when I was planning this trip but was so pleased that I did. Be aware that if you book online on the Raheem website, they will charge you the tax when you get there. A rather annoying thing that happens all over Kerala and in other countries too so not their fault. There are tons of ATM's in town though and plenty of Tuk Tuk's waiting to take you there! A worthwhile stay which i felt was less touristy than Varkala and a little more off the tourist trail.

Room Tip: All of them are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Raheem Residency is a quaint heritage hotel, quite reasonably priced from an accomodation viewpoint. The food at the restaurant while adequate is boringly repetitive, with no changes being made to the evening menu during our stay. Breakfast is similarly limited. An omlette means just that and nothing else.
All transport from the Raheem seems to have been ramped up and costs of travel to the residency we notably less than those from the Residency where a monopoly overseen by the hotel seems to prevail.
It is a "getaway" hotel, with Alleppey, besides cruises on the inland waterway, having nothing much to offer. Residents tended to spend their time beside the pool.
The beach is a public one and residents (especially women) are asked to dress "appropriately" when going to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This lovely little hotel/homestay has a wonderfully colonial feel to it. We had the Raheem room which very spacious and furnished with attractive traditional furniture. The generous ensuite bathroom has a bath and shower. The hotel has a great little pool with loungers around it and excellent pool service, as well as a some shady comfortably furnished verandahs. Directly opposite the hotel is the beautiful long white sandy beach which was almost deserted during the day. At sunset the locals gathered on the beach as did some excellent street food stalls which gave everything a very colourful and interesting flair.
We felt very comfortable and well looked after at the Raheem Residency and staff were very helpful and courteous. NB There was no mosquito netting on the bed but a spray and spiral were provided on request and they were very necessary!
Raheem also organised our overnight private backwater cruise for us and although our rice barge was not as well appointed as the hotel, it was perfectly comfortable and the backwater cruise was a totally unforgettable and amazing experience.
Staying at Raheem is like staying in a friend's colonial home and everything is pretty perfect. My only reservation regards the restaurant which is adequate but quite mediocre, in terms of both food and service, and does not really match the high standard of the accommodation. All in all though, we very much enjoyed our two nights stay here.

Room Tip: The Raheem room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a great place to stay with lovely rooms and public areas. Our room was spacious and very well finished, with lovely traditional furnishings. The overall ambience of the place is very relaxing and the staff cant do enough to help you. There is a pool as well as lots of shady spots to sit and read or play board games. The location just across the road from the beach is ideal, a haven away from the noise and bustle of the main town.

The restaurant serves up tasty food but is perhaps a little on the pricey side.

Not the cheapest option in town but worth the money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.6 km away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#17 of 66 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
8.1 km away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#18 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 km away
Baywatch Beach Resort
Baywatch Beach Resort
#35 of 183 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#26 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 km away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#10 of 183 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 km away
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheem Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheem Residency

Property: Raheem Residency
Address: Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,349 - ₹ 7,169
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raheem Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raheem Residency at Alleppey Beach, one hour south of Cochin, is an 1868 colonial property which was passionately restored in a classic, Indian style in 2003 by a small Indo-European private limited company. It is now recognized by the Tourism Dept of India as a genuine Heritage Hotel of India. Originally built by an Englishman, it was the home of the Raheems, an eminent Alleppey family, for one hundred years. Expect an intimate personalized service that respects your privacy in a sophisticated Indian setting with echoes of the Raj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Raheem Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raheem Residency Hotel Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Kerala/Alappuzha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing