We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
64
26
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
26
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedicinal plantshis wifeheritage homesmall boatall mod conssuperb cookwonderful homeenjoy keralabeautiful homestayamazing hostsjosephdrkeralanindiabackwaterstaxiscuisine
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is the ideal place for those travelers who want to truly feel what it means to live on the famous canals of Kerala
Anicent house is situated on the bank of a canal in the shadow of a magical garden. This place is in 12 kilometers from the bustling Allappi. Sitting on the terrace adjacent to the guest house or on the swing-beds in the garden for hours watching life on the water and the hypnotic flow of river's water, you come into your internal spheres and feel real union with nature.

Whenever you want to change the view you can take a motor boat or canoe and explore other channels. The owner of a luxury motor-boat, Anthony, will be happy to show and tell all hidden places. Boat moors directly to the porch at home.

I took the boat for three hours and it cost me 1050 Rs., which is special price for guests. Do not even try to find a boat by yourself because this is the best deal on price and quality.

What else can you do here besides boating?
Walk on the narrow paths along the canals to see the real life that is not available for those who travel on well-advertised trips to houseboats. Try a massage in the Ayurveda-center which is located within walking distance, go to the beach (half an hour on a rickshaw).

But the house itself is the main attraction of channels and has so relaxing atmosphere that you can not even imagine what you need to go somewhere. Even at the beach do not want to.
You can try the delicious food of Kerala only here, because all restaurants offer something looks like fake comparing Pooppallys's cuisine. So it is strongly recommended to taste the culinary wonders from this house before visiting any local restaurants.

Guest rooms are located in the main house and two detached houses. Large guest house is situated in the garden, away from all buildings and it is the best choice for romantic couples. There is no river but there is a goldfish pond, always in shadow, and no one will disturb privacy.

Little house on the river is suited by two rooms and it is the perfect shelter for writers, artists and those who just need to be gathered with thoughts.
The hotel capacity is good for eight couples.
All rooms are equiped by private facilities, hot water, etc. The rooms have no TV but it is not needed at this beauty of nature. For those who can not live without flashing blue screen the TV set is in the common room which is also living room. The living room has extensive library.

The main treasure of this place is home owners. I enjoyed every minute with atmosphere is surrounded by real and exlellent educated companions. Our conversations gave my many interesting knowledge and much intellectual pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuslanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Truly amazing place... Run by Mr. Pooppally and his wife is of the finest examples of hospitality. I only stayed for the weekend, but was welcomed warmy by the host. Despite the fact that arrived late at night, Mrs. Pooppally was kind enough to prepare a quick dinner for me. The house is 115 years old, beautifully furnished with the old teak wood and spotlessly clean. It is located just at the shore at the river, with very nice view and peaceful surroundings. My room, facing the river, was simple but had everything I needed. Don't expect the modern resort-style ambience. This place has the history of its own. Very good local food prepared by Mrs. Pooppally, fantastic wine her husband makes of nutmeg, quiet atmosphere and historical elegance - I simply loved it.

One warning - the location of the hotel that you can see on tripadvisor page is incorrect. In reality the Heritage House is outside of Aleppey town, close to the Nedumundy boat stop.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Pooppally's Home Stay is a beautiful, quite and neat heritage house just along a wide canal in the marvellous Kerala Backwaters area.
The house is owned by the lovely Pooppally family who received us with warmth and took much care of us. Prof. Joseph is a nice, cultivated man that showed us the charming ayurvedic and spice garden of the property and told us about the history of his family and the region.
His wife and daughter have been very kind and helpful and we enjoyed their delicious kitchen! Their nice grandaughters have been also very friendly and played with our kids.
The house has different rooms. The ones directly on the canal are the best, very clean and well furnished. But the very best are the ones in the ancient teak house that Prof. Joseph took from the hills and rebuilt in it's exact shape in his garden. An ancient, classical teak wood house perfectly restored, with wide, beautiful bedrooms, large bathrooms completely new and a pleasant porch to relax on the river. We spent there only 1 day but would like to stay more! Mr. Pooppally's also arranges Ayurvedic treatments in the local clinic and taxi transfer on request. Moreover the boathouse we've booked came directly to pick us up in front of the house. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polli73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We elected to stay at Poopallys and to forgo the overnight boat ride . . .and are we glad we did! Compared to the overnight boats, which seem like these behometh boats that simply lumber down the center of the main canals, we experienced Keralan life up close and personal thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Joseph and Cicely. They are charming people to be around and really make you feel at home, especially with Cicely's great cooking. And Joseph arranged for a 3 hour day boat trip that was enough and allowed us to observe the daily life along the canals that are for sure too narrow for most of the boats. We wished we had planned to stay another night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Everything of importance, food,service, rooms and most importantly the people really couldn't have been better! We stayed a week and could have stayed longer. Joseph and Cicely are lovely, open and generous people with great knowledge and humour. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jogordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews