We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome experience....Seventh heaven!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
248 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 248 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
trups121
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience....Seventh heaven!!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Pournami houseboat is completely worth for the money.
We 3 friends had visited in the month of January. Had the most awesomest time. After reading many bad reviews about other houseboats we were kind of worried before booking any houseboat.
But indeed we were amazed at the experience of Pournami Houseboat and are glad that we had our first houseboat experience with Pournami.
Parvathy Prakash had managed our trip very well. We were concerned about security and safety since we were two girls and a guy but she assured us that we wont face any problem.
Both the captain and cook were very helpful and polite. The houseboat was clean and neat. It was a smooth cruise with mesmerising views. A very relaxing ride.
After the lunch hour they arranged small kayak ride for us which costed us 600 extra but it was blissful to experience that ride. We were taken through a small canal surrounded by a village on one side and farm(called paddy fileds) on the other. We were very excited to see the village life. We also took a small walk in there. It was a nice experience.
Now back to the houseboat we had an relaxing cruise, even the atmosphere was pleasant at that time. I must say the cruise ride really takes you to another world, seventh heaven indeed. It was an amazingly beautiful experience.
Regarding food the cook ensured that we were served well and asked us what would we prefer to have. He was punctual to serve us everything on time.
The captain was like a well mannered guide for us, giving us info on all spots. He even let us pose on the captain's seat for photographs.
He parked the houseboat to the best spot to have the over night stay. He actually ensured that we had an amazing view from the houseboat. We even got down at the place and had some photo sessions at the farm field.To experience the sunset and sunrise from that spot was beautiful and memorable.
All the amenities mentioned were working fine. All facilities mentioned in the package were well provided to us.
I will mention that Parvathy Prakash was a very helpful agent.
I would recommend Pournami Houseboat to anyone who is looking for an unique experience with safety and facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are really blessed to have an awesome guest and yet another awesome review. Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidit K
1 review
“Excellent House Boat Experience with Pounami”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was my first experience to back waters and staying in houseboat. I heard so much bad about the boat conditions and staff behaviour. Pounami house boat has changed all the thoughts. I was worried about my daughter, but she enjoyed so much.
Pournami surpassed in all the aspects.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Best was the kerala meals provided.
Liked least: Bathroom clean , but little things can be worked out in toilitries.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are very happy to know that we have changed all your worries in our houseboat trip. We are happy to take care of kids :) Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanmoyPal
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lifetime experience, unmatched houseboat”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

While I was planning for Kerala trip, I thought of spending some hours cruising through the back water and spending the night at some hotel. Thank God, I did not do that. Our houseboat (4 Rooms) was very clean and luxurious as promised by Parvathy. The staffs were very courteous; you will feel like at home. The food they served was excellent. I never thought of getting such delicious food at houseboat. They were very punctual. Another issue which bothered me a lot was our security especially at night when the boat was parked at some village area. Believe me it was as safe as our home. Though Pournami charged little higher but it was worthy enough. Thank you Parvathy for making our holiday unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thankyou for writing an amazing review. We always suggest our guest to go for an overnight cruise than a day trip as you don't get the feel & freshness of staying in backwaters anywhere else in the world :) . Its indeed a life time experience .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankit B
Bhopal, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 ND VISIT BUT STILL IT MEANT LIKE 1ST”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

All my regards to parvathy prakash madam,
to all the people who wanna visit kerela Pournami is the best choice to go with,
the customer support is excellent.
first time is visited kerela in may 2013 with arrangements made by same crew and this time i visited for my honeymoon.
All the facilities provided by the pournami travels is the best.
me and my wife had a great time.
We were welcomed at Cochin airport by the sunish sir the manager he handeover us the taxi in which we travelled for the full trip.
even the taxi driver Mr. Sujish was very good at all support and all the hotels transfer.
We had flawless check in all hotels.

the hotels chosen by the Pournami are the best they make sure of the guests comfortable zones and all supports.

Stay at Cochin was fine.

but as the journey begins
1. Stay at Misty MOuntain resort was very beautiful it had a valley view room and the food and stay was very beautiful

2. Stay at houseboat was very comfortable,
the crew of houseboat made us welcome with nicely decorated rooms with floral arrangement and with the welcome cake of "HAPPY HONEYMOON",
THE staff at houseboat made sure of our north indian taste with spicy food and while checking in they took all the responsibilities of all our luggage and while check out too.

3. finally my dream come true spot, Poovar Island,
we had a booking organised at Estuary Island resort ,
what a place it was...
Beautiful
A perfect more than perfect to spend few days of your life with your loved ones while entering the resort will leave you speechless and while checking out it will make you feel nostalgic.
Thanks to Estuary Island Resort for making our stay so safe , happy and pleasurable.
Will surely visit again.
Lots of memories from Estuary.
And the staff efforts are remarkable.
Keep it up guys....
A home away from home.

Finally I would like to conclude by saying that if you are gonna visit kerela make sure your tour is organised by POURNAMI TRAVELS,
regards to parvathy mam,
thanks for making our stay so memorable..

ANKIT BAJAJ
BHOPAL MADHYA PRADESH

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
We are very happy to welcome you again to Pournami . Initially you visited with your family and then next you visited for honeymoon . Ankit Bajaj Sir is like our own family member :) . Do visit us again and again ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yatin U
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Professional HouseBoat service with Good boats.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for a night in there 3 bedroom houseboats. We got delayed because of traffic and hence had to start our hjourney late at 2.00 pm. Even with that the pournami team was constant in contact with us. As soon as we boarded the boat the lunch was almost ready and served hot. The food was delicious. Then there was afternoon tea and they took us around the lake and parked at a spot for the night. The Night dinner was good was well. Morning starts with good breakfast of south indian dishes.

We purchased some prawns on the way and the cook was happy to cook that for us.

Tips:

The rooms are Clean.
Remember there is no hot water in restroom.
They always served us bottled water.
The AC was started at 9.00 perfectly without us having to ask them.

The only compliant i had was on coming back we were going to tip the crew after they would have unloaded our bags from boat and everyone was out. But the crew taught that we were not tipping them and hence they didnt help us while putting the bags back on car. Then we tipped them and then they started helping us again. That as little wierd.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thankyou for your review. And we have noted all your points with high priority .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing